Frequently Asked Questions

Under certain circumstances Goethe-Institutes abroad can finance travel expenses of German film directors to festival in the respective host countries  For this purpose applications must be submitted through the local Goethe-Institut. Please contact them at an early stage.
On principle, only project-related support can be provided. The Goethe-Instituts abroad are free to plan their programmes as they wish. Projects are always carried out with a partner in the host country on a dialogue basis.
On principle, television or film projects are not viewed for their suitability for use overseas by the Goethe-Institut until they have been completed. Under certain conditions, however, the Goethe-Institut can also become involved as co-producer of films; in particular for television shows that refer to Goethe projects abroad or are generated by them, as well as for programming that deals with a topic of regional or cultural policy significance with an international dimension. For more information, please contact the Goethe-Institut in your country.
For films purchased by the Goethe-Institut, you'll find this information in our film catalogue.

For all other films, the first place to check is the Deutsche Filmportal, the central platform for free information on German cinema:
www.filmportal.de
All diplomatic missions of Germany, all Goethe-Institutes and German cultural institutes abroad, every lector of the DAAD  as well as expert advisers within the framework of their teaching activity in non-German-speaking countries, plus all cultural mediators and educational institutions (schools, universities) in non-German-speaking countries.

To borrow films (DVD) please contact the nearest Goethe-Institut film archive.

Unfortunately, private individuals can't borrow or buy films from the Goethe-Institut.
You can find some information on the website of German Films

Oft gestellte Fragen

In begrenztem Rahmen können die Goethe-Institute im Ausland Reisen von Filmschaffenden aus Deutschland zu Festivals in den jeweiligen Gastländern finanziell unterstützen. Die Entscheidung hierüber liegt bei den örtlichen Goethe-Instituten. Eine möglichst frühzeitige Kontaktaufnahme ist sinnvoll.
Grundsätzlich kann nur projektbezogene Unterstützung gewährt werden. Die Goethe-Institute im Ausland sind in ihrer Programmgestaltung autonom. Projekte werden stets dialogorientiert mit einem Gastlandpartner durchgeführt.
Grundsätzlich werden Fernseh- oder Filmprojekte erst nach ihrer Fertigstellung vom Goethe-Institut auf ihre Eignung für den Auslandseinsatz gesichtet. Unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen kann das Goethe-Institut aber auch als Koproduzent an der Realisierung von Filmen mitwirken: insbesondere bei Fernsehbeiträgen, die sich auf Goethe-Projekte im Ausland beziehen oder daraus hervorgehen sowie bei Beiträgen, die ein Thema von landeskundlicher oder kulturpolitischer Bedeutung mit internationaler Dimension behandeln. Für nähere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an das Goethe-Institut in Ihrem Land.
Für Filme, deren Lizenz das Goethe-Institut angekauft hat und deren Lizenzzeit aktiv ist, finden sich alle Informationen in unserem Filmkatalog.

Für alle weiteren Filme empfiehlt sich als erste Anlaufstelle das Deutsche Filmportal, die zentrale Plattform für kostenlose Informationen zum deutschen Film.
Filme ausleihen können alle diplomatischen Vertretungen Deutschlands (kostenfrei), alle Goethe-Institute und deutschen Kulturinstitute im Ausland (kostenfrei), alle Lektorinnen und Lektoren des DAAD ebenso wie Fachberaterinnen und Fachberater im Rahmen ihrer Lehrtätigkeit im nicht deutschsprachigen Ausland, sowie alle Kulturvermittler und Bildungseinrichtungen (Schulen, Universitäten, etc.) im nicht deutschsprachigen Ausland.

Zur Ausleihe (DVD) wenden Sie sich bitte an das nächstgelegene Filmarchiv des Goethe-Instituts.

Privatpersonen können leider keine Filme beim Goethe-Institut ausleihen oder käuflich erwerben.
Als Anlaufstelle für Informationen über die Weltvertriebe dient die Archivsuche von German Films.