Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

International Relief Fund
For Organisations in Culture and Education

The effects of the coronavirus pandemic on the cultural and educational sector are severe all over the world. Therefore, on the initiative of the Goethe-Institut and the Federal Foreign Office, the International Relief Fund for Organisations in Culture and Education was launched together with other partners in the summer of 2020.

In order to alleviate the acute emergency situation for cultural life, the funding is made available for structural maintenance, for investments in pandemic measures or for the expansion of digitalisation, to name some examples. This enables cultural and educational centres in Africa, the Middle East, Central and Southeast Asia, as well as Central and South America to continue their cultural and educational work, to resume contact with their audiences and thus to continue to make their contribution to artistic freedom, open discourse and social diversity.

Between September and December 2020, 141 organisations from 53 countries were provided support with up to 25,000 euros each. Due to the continuing urgency, it was decided to resume the International Relief Fund for 2021 in an expanded form. The Foreign Office doubled the budget to 6 million euros. Further funds were provided by the Robert Bosch Stiftung, the S. Fischer Foundation and as donations. This made it possible to increase the individual funding amount to 30,000 euros and to extend the funding period to six months.

At present, 217 organisations from 59 countries are receiving funding, so that they are able to make the necessary arrangements between September 2021 and February 2022 and implement their cultural projects and educational programmes.



The International Relief Fund for Organisations in Culture and Education is an initiative by the Goethe-Institut and the Federal Foreign Office. The S. Fischer Foundation and the Robert Bosch Stiftung are also partners. The German UNESCO Commission, the Berliner Künstlerprogramm of the DAAD and the Siemens Stiftung are involved with their own projects.

 
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Internationaler Hilfsfonds
Für Organisationen in Kultur und Bildung

Die Auswirkungen der Corona-Pandemie auf den Kultur- und Bildungsbereich sind überall auf der Welt gravierend. Auf Initiative des Goethe-Instituts und des Auswärtigen Amts wurde daher im Sommer 2020 gemeinsam mit weiteren Partnern der Internationale Hilfsfonds für Organisationen in Kultur und Bildung aufgelegt.

Um die akute Notsituation für das kulturelle Leben abzumildern, werden die Fördermittel für den Strukturerhalt, für Investitionen in Pandemiemaßnahmen oder etwa für den Ausbau der Digitalisierung zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie ermöglichen Kultur- und Bildungszentren in Afrika, dem Nahen und Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien, sowie Mittel- und Südamerika ihre Kultur- und Bildungsarbeit fortzusetzen, den Kontakt zum Publikum wieder aufzunehmen und somit weiterhin ihren Beitrag für künstlerische Freiheit, einen offenen Diskurs und gesellschaftliche Vielfalt zu leisten.

Zwischen September und Dezember 2020 konnten bereits 141 Organisationen aus 53 Ländern mit jeweils bis zu 25.000 Euro unterstützt werden. Wegen der anhaltenden Dringlichkeit wurde die Fortführung des Internationalen Hilfsfonds für 2021 in erweiterter Form entschieden. Das Auswärtige Amt verdoppelte das Budget auf 6 Millionen Euro. Weitere Mittel wurden durch die Robert Bosch Stiftung, die S. Fischer Stiftung und als Spenden zusätzlich zur Verfügung gestellt. Damit konnte die Einzelfördersumme auf 30.000 Euro erhöht und die Förderdauer auf sechs Monate ausgedehnt werden.

So sind es aktuell 217 geförderte Organisationen aus 59 Ländern, die nun zwischen September 2021 und Februar 2022 die notwendigen Vorkehrungen treffen können, um ihre kulturellen Vorhaben und Bildungsangebote umzusetzen.



Der Internationale Hilfsfonds für Organisationen in Kultur und Bildung ist eine Initiative des Goethe-Instituts und des Auswärtigen Amts. Weitere Partner sind die S. Fischer Stiftung und die Robert Bosch Stiftung. Die Deutsche UNESCO-Kommission, das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD und die Siemens Stiftung beteiligen sich mit eigenen Projekten.
 
Top