Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

South-East Asia and Germany: Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories

Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories © Goethe-Institut Indonesien The embodiment of history/ies in the diverse social contexts of South-East Asia and the West is at the heart of “Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories”.

For this project, four museums in Germany, Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia have formed a collaborative venture. The goal is to create a sustainable network for curatorial dialogue based on cooperative work processes. Collections – and therefore museum politics – are framed within a greater social and historical context.

Partners in the project initiated by the Goethe-Institut are the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, the MAIIAM Contemporary Art Museum (Chiang Mai, Thailand), the Singapore Art Museum as well as the Galeri Nasional Indonesia (Jakarta, Indonesia). A launch conference in the Hamburger Bahnhof in June 2019, at which the links between curatorial and artistic practice were interrogated, will be followed by a variety of exhibitions in 2021 hosted by the institutions involved within the scope of the research and investigation project.

At each location a different focus will be addressed, under the leadership of one of the four participating curators from the research and exhibition team – Anna Catharina Gebbers (Berlin), Grace Samboh (Jakarta), June Yap (Singapore), Gridthiya Gaweewong (Chiang Mai) – in an interactive display of works from the four participating collections, taking the social and institutional context into account in each case.

 
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Südostasien und Deutschland: Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories

Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories © Goethe-Institut Indonesien Die Verkörperung von Geschichte(n) in den diversen gesellschaftlichen Kontexten Südostasiens und des Westens steht im Zentrum von „Collecting Entanglements and Embodied Histories“.

Für das Projekt haben sich vier Museen in Deutschland, Singapur, Thailand und Indonesien zusammengeschlossen. Ziel ist es, basierend auf kooperativen Arbeitsprozessen ein nachhaltiges Netzwerk für den kuratorischen Austausch zu schaffen. Sammlungen – und damit Museumspolitiken – werden in einen größeren gesellschaftlichen und historischen Zusammenhang gestellt.

Beteiligt sind auf Initiative des Goethe-Instituts der Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart in Berlin, das MAIIAM Contemporary Art Museum (Chiang Mai, Thailand), das Singapore Art Museum sowie die Galeri Nasional (Jakarta, Indonesien). Nach einer Auftaktkonferenz im Hamburger Bahnhof im Juni 2019, auf der nach den Verbindungen von kuratorischer und künstlerischer Praxis gefragt wurde, entstehen im Rahmen des Forschungs- und Recherche-Projekts 2021 verschiedene Ausstellungen der beteiligten Institutionen.

An jedem Ort wird unter der Leitung einer der vier beteiligten Kuratorinnen des Forschungs- und Ausstellungsteams – Anna Catharina Gebbers (Berlin), Grace Samboh (Jakarta), June Yap (Singapur), Gridthiya Gaweewong (Chiang Mai) – ein anderer Schwerpunkt in einem Zusammenspiel von Werken aus den vier beteiligten Sammlungen unter Berücksichtigung des jeweiligen gesellschaftlichen wie institutionellen Kontextes erarbeitet.

 
Schlagworte:
Sammlungsgeschichte, Vernetzung, zeitgenössische Kunst

Weitere Informationen:
Projektseite

Partner:
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin
Singapore Art Museum
MAIIAM Contemporary Art Museum, Chiang Mai
Nationalgalerie Jakarta
Top