Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

International Museum Conference Rio de Janeiro

International Museum Conference Rio © Felipe Varanda The National Museum in Rio de Janeiro suffered a major fire on 2nd September 2018. Since then, the German Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut have been supporting them in their salvage work and the development of a concept for a new museum.

The National Museum was the most important museum of this kind in Latin America, with a collection of about 20 million objects – including artefacts of long extinct indigenous groups and the last surviving records of their languages.

The Goethe-Institut and the National Museum in Rio de Janeiro, in collaboration with numerous museums and cultural institutions and supported by the German Foreign Office, are organising an International Museum Conference in Rio de Janeiro. In particular, it aims to develop concepts that prepare museums of Natural History and Ethnology for the future in difficult times. The central themes of the conference are: "Museums in the field of tension of society", "Collections and Archives" and "Sustainability".

 
Key words:
Infrastructure, networking, natural history, future of museums

Further information:
Project page at Goethe-Institut Brasilien

Partners:
German Foreign Office
Museu Nacional Rio de Janeiro
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Internationale Museumskonferenz Rio de Janeiro

International Museum Conference Rio © Felipe Varanda Am 2. September 2018 fiel das Nationalmuseum in Rio de Janeiro einem Großbrand zum Opfer. Das Auswärtige Amt und das Goethe-Institut unterstützen seitdem bei den Rettungsarbeiten und der Entwicklung eines Konzepts für ein neues Museum.

Das Nationalmuseum war das bedeutendste Museum dieser Art in Lateinamerika, mit einer Sammlung von etwa 20 Millionen Objekten – darunter Artefakte längst ausgestorbener indigener Gruppen und den letzten noch existierenden Aufzeichnungen ihrer Sprachen.

Das Goethe-Institut und das Nationalmuseum in Rio de Janeiro richten gemeinsam mit zahlreichen Museen und Kultureinrichtungen und unterstützt vom Auswärtigen Amt eine Internationale Museumskonferenz in Rio de Janeiro aus. Sie soll insbesondere Konzepte entwickeln, die naturkundliche und ethnologische Museen in schwierigen Zeiten auf die Zukunft vorbereiten. Die zentralen Themen der Konferenz sind: „Museen im Spannungsfeld der Gesellschaft“, „Sammlungen und Archive“ sowie „Nachhaltigkeit“.

 
Schlagworte:
Infrastruktur, Vernetzung, Naturkunde, Zukunft von Museen

Weitere Informationen:
Projektseite Goethe-Institut Brasilien

Partner:
Auswärtiges Amt
Museu Nacional Rio de Janeiro
Top