Body Symphony

  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida
  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida
  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida
  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida
  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida

Sunlay Almeida Rodriguez, Humberto Díaz, Enmanuel Blanco, Laboratorio Nacional de Música Electroacústica (Cuba), Gregorio García Karman, Studio für Elektroakustische Musik - Akademie der Künste (Germany)

“Body Symphony” is a multimedia performance by two Cuban artists, the composer Sunlay Almeida Rodríguez and the visual artist Humberto Díaz, created with the support of the Laboratorio Nacional de Música Electroacústica in Havana and the Studio for Electroacoustic Music at the Akademie der Künste in Berlin. The project seeks to lay the foundation for a long-term collaboration and artistic exchange between both studios. The first movement of “Body Symphony” will be presented at the International Festival for Electroacoustic Music and Sound Art KONTAKTE ’17, which will take place at the Akademie der Künste in Berlin in September 2017. In 2018, a second movement of “Body Symphony” will be performed in Havana. In addition, within this collaboration, further composers and performing artists are invited to participate in a reciprocal exchange in both Berlin and Havana. The aim of this project is to intensify the exchange between visual artists, musicians and composers of both countries.
 
Concept and Projekt Directors: Enmanuel Blanco und Gregorio García Karman | Concept „Body Symphony“: Humberto Díaz | Composer, Choreographer:  Sunlay Almeida Rodríguez | Production Berlin: Michael Hauschke, Luise Wiesenmüller, Nadine Doberschütz | Production Havanna: Rafael Ruiz Cabrales, Teresa Fernández Rodríguez, Miguel Antonio Parera Rodríguez, Ennier Manuel Navea Castillo | Co-producers: Studio für Elektroakustische Musik der Akademie der Künste, Laboratorio Nacional de Música Electroacústica en La Habana, Goethe-Institut – International Coproduction Fund
 

Performance Schedule

September 30, 2017 Premiere (Part 1) at Festival KONTAKTE´17, Berlin
 
October 20, 2017 Premiere (Part 2) at Festival de música contemporánea, Havanna

Body Symphony

  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida
  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida
  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida
  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida
  • Body Symphony © Sunlay Almeida

Sunlay Almeida Rodriguez, Humberto Díaz, Enmanuel Blanco, Laboratorio Nacional de Música Electroacústica (Kuba), Gregorio García Karman, Studio für Elektroakustische Musik - Akademie der Künste (Deutschland)
 

„Body Symphony“ ist ein multimediales Werk der kubanischen Komponistin Sunlay Almeida Rodríguez und des kubanischen bildenden Künstlers Humberto Díaz, das 2017/18 als Koproduktion des Laboratorio Nacional de Música Electroacústica, Havanna und des Studio für Elektroakustische Musik der Akademie der Künste, Berlin entsteht. Mit der Produktion soll eine langfristige Zusammenarbeit der beiden Studios für elektroakustische Musik initiiert werden. „Body Symphony“ wird zunächst im Rahmen des Internationalen Festivals KONTAKTE ’17 an der Akademie der Künste in Berlin aufgeführt und anschließend in Havanna. Außerdem werden durch diese Initiative weitere KünstlerInnen aus Berlin und Havanna zum gegenseitigen Austausch eingeladen. Ziel des Projektes ist es, den deutsch-kubanischen Austausch zwischen KünstlerInnen, MusikerInnen und KomponistInnen zu intensivieren.

Idee und Projektleitung: Enmanuel Blanco und Gregorio García Karman | Konzept „Body Symphony“: Humberto Díaz | Komposition, Choreografie: Sunlay Almeida Rodríguez | Produktion Berlin: Nadine Doberschütz, Michael Hauschke, Luise Wiesenmüller | Produktion Havanna: Rafael Ruiz Cabrales, Teresa Fernández Rodríguez, Miguel Antonio Parera Rodríguez, Ennier Manuel Navea Castillo | Koproduzenten: Studio für Elektroakustische Musik der Akademie der Künste, Laboratorio Nacional de Música Electroacústica en La Habana, Goethe-Institut – Internationaler Koproduktionsfonds
 

Aufführungstermine

30.09.17 Premiere (Teil 1) im Rahmen des Festivals KONTAKTE´17, Berlin

20.10.18 Premiere (Teil 2) im Rahmen des Festival de música contemporánea, Havanna