Mr. Miller goes to Budapest

Mr. Miller goes to Budapest. Design: Thomas Szabo Thomas Szabo

Gábor Hollós (Ungarn) und Schaubühne Lindenfels (Deutschland)
 

Theater-series after Arthur Miller’s „The Archbishop’s Ceiling“

Emigration, silence, or withdrawal to private spaces? Today artists, journalists, filmmakers, and authors likewise are confronted with this question again all over the world. Also in Europe and in the EU. „Im Osten nichts Neues“ (Nothing new in the East) one could expect. But a western visitor realizes soon that he isn’t superior – neither ethically nor with arguments. Plus he as well is not immune against becoming himself a player in the „panopticum“ which Michael Foucault creates in his work „Discipline and Punish“. In his analysis Foucault has a very good reason not to divide between eastern and western hemisphere: McCarthyism, the Watergate scandal, NSA-monitoring, mind tests, and occupational bans within the federal republic of Germany show the same phenomena and susceptibilities within western democracies. At the end, even private resorts and relationships are contaminated by self-censorship, mistrust, anger and desperation. 
 
Somewhere between psychological thriller, intimate theater and film noir Arthur Miller’s piece „The Archbishop’s Ceiling“ from 1977 tells the story of a surprising meeting of three authors from the East – two men, one woman – and a befriended American writer takes place. The American is outfitted with Miller’s own personality, including his doubts about the American Way of Life. As a joker a seemingly aloof Danish girl as representative of the young generation of hedonists and travel-kids from the West appears. A dialogue about basic thoughts and feelings towards freedom of opinion, autonomy, and democracy.

Director: Gábor Hollós | Dramaturg: René Reinhardt | Stage/Costumedesginer: Elisabeth Schiller-Witzmann | Cameraman: István Hollós | Actors: Johannes Gabriel, David Jeker, Attila Király, Laila Nielsen, Kata Pálfi, Mario Rothe-Frese, Csaba Sorbán | Experts: Ágnes Heller, Christian Römer, Stefan Schönfelder  | A project by Schaubühne Lindenfels / Schau-Ensemble  | In cooperation with Stiftung weiterdenken / Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung Sachsen |  Funded by Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen and Goethe-Institut.
 

Performance Schedule

March 25, 2017, 8 p.m. Part I in Táskárádio Espzpresszó-Bár, Budapest (Papnövelde utca 8)

April 1, 2017, 8 p.m. Part II in Táskárádio Espzpresszó-Bár, Budapest

April 1, 2017, 7 p.m. Cultural policy in authoritarianism – discussion & broadcast to Budapest, Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung Sachsen, Dresden

April 6, 2017, 7 p.m. Cultural policy in authoritarianism – discussion & broadcast to Budapest in Chemnitz / Nichts, Altraa 

April 8, 2017, 8 p.m. Part III Táskárádio Espzpresszó-Bár, Budapest

April 8, 2017, 8 p.m. Cultural policy in authoritarianism – discussion & broadcast to Budapest, Schaubühne Lindenfels, Leipzig

May 12.-13, 2017, 8 p.m. Part I-III Schaubühne Lindenfels, Leipzig

Mr. Miller goes to Budapest

  • Mr. Miller goes to Budapest. Design: Thomas Szabo
  • Mr. Miller goes to Budapest Foto: István Hollós
  • Mr. Miller goes to Budapest Foto: István Hollós
  • Mr. Miller goes to Budapest Foto: István Hollós
  • Mr. Miller goes to Budapest Foto: István Hollós
  • Mr. Miller goes to Budapest Foto: István Hollós

Gábor Hollós (Ungarn) und Schaubühne Lindenfels (Deutschland)
 

Theater-Serie nach Arthur Millers „The Archbishop’s Ceiling“

Flucht, Schweigen oder Rückzug in den privaten Raum? Mit dieser Frage sehen sich heute erneut Künstler, Journalisten, Filmemacher und Schriftsteller weltweit konfrontiert. Auch und wieder in Europa und der EU. Im Osten nichts Neues könnte man meinen. Doch ein Besucher aus dem Westen merkt schnell, dass er weder moralisch noch argumentativ überlegen ist. Und er ist auch nicht dagegen gefeit, sehr schnell selbst zum Akteur in jenem „Panoptikum“ zu werden, das Michel Foucault in seinem Standardwerk „Überwachen und Strafen“ entworfen hat. Wobei Foucault bei seiner Analyse aus gutem Grund nicht nach östlicher und westlicher Hemisphäre trennt: Die McCarthy-Zeit, der Watergate-Skandal, die NSA-Abhörmethoden, die Gesinnungsprüfungs- und Berufsverbotspraxis in der Bundesrepublik zeigen die gleichen Phänomene und Anfälligkeiten auch in westlichen Demokratien. Am Ende werden selbst private Rückzugsorte und Beziehungsräume schleichend von der Misere aus Selbstzensur, Verdächtigungen, Wut und Verzweiflung kontaminiert. 

Im Gewand eines psychologischen Thrillers zwischen Kammerspiel und Film noir wird in Arthur Millers 1977 entstandenem Stück „The Archbishop’s Ceiling“ das überraschende Wiedersehen zweier Autoren und einer Autorin aus dem Osten mit einem befreundeten amerikanischen Autor geschildert. Diesem gibt Miller dabei einen Gutteil von sich selbst mit, einschließlich seiner eigenen Zweifel am American Way of Life. Als Jokerfigur bringt er noch eine scheinbar unbeteiligte Dänin als Vertreterin der jungen Generation von Lebenskünstlern und Travel-Kids aus dem Westen ins Spiel. Ein Dialog über eigene, grundlegendere Gedanken und Gefühlen zum Thema Meinungsfreiheit, Selbstbestimmtheit und Demokratie.

Regie: Gábor Hollós | Konzept/Dramaturgie: René Reinhardt | Bühne/Kostüm: Elisabeth Schiller-Witzmann  | Kamera: István Hollós  | Spiel: Johannes Gabriel, David Jeker, Attila Király, Laila Nielsen, Kata Pálfi, Mario Rothe-Frese, Csaba Sorbán | Experten im Gespräch: Ágnes Heller, Christian Römer, Stefan Schönfelder | Ein Projekt der Schaubühne Lindenfels / Schau-Ensemble. In Kooperation mit der Stiftung weiterdenken / Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung Sachsen. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen und den Internationalen Koproduktionsfonds des Goethe-Instituts.