Rehearsing Mwange/Becker

Rehearsing Mwange/Becker Courtesy of the National Theatre of Namibia

Sepiso Mwange (Namibia), Mathias Becker (Germany), National Theater of Namibia (Namibia), Schaubude Berlin (Germany)

How has theatre, storytelling, or any kind of live performance affected your personal experience? How do performance spaces and practices reflect the way we learn, share and value knowledge? Can theatre be a rehearsal for life?
 
Sepiso Mwange and Mathias Becker are rehearsing encounters with each other, themselves and the audience, with their histories, their differences and their common point: Theatre.

What can a Namibian-German collaboration look like, against the backdrop of our violent history? How can we create a future by acknowledging our past? Mwange/Becker investigate theatre as a space of knowledge. They reflect on their own experiences and the formation of knowledge in the theatre space, seeking to learn more about performative practices. The audience is invited to join this performative experience – a devised work combining performance, mixed media, puppetry and documentary theatre.
 
The project includes a theatre workshop with a focus on object animation and storytelling for children in collaboration with KAYEC (Katutura Youth Enterprise Center. Mwange/Becker attempt to rethink theatre practices and institutions, their colonial power structures and their effects on personal life, investigating the potential of theatre as a space for utopian communities.
 
Direction & Performance: Sepiso Mwange, Mathias Becker | Dramaturgy: Yasmine Salimi | Dramaturgical Support: Nelago Shilongoh | Sound: Karl Ehlers (aka LOFT) | Video: Martin Amushendje | Stage Management: Lavinia Kapewasha

A production by Mwange/Becker in co-production with the National Theater of Namibia (NTN), supported by the International Coproduction Fund of the Goethe-Institut, the Kulturamt Pankow and the Schaubude Berlin.

This project is part of round 6 of the International Coproduction Fund, year 2018-2019.

Rehearsing Mwange/Becker

Rehearsing Mwange/Becker Courtesy of the National Theatre of Namibia

Sepiso Mwange (Namibia), Mathias Becker (Deutschland), National Theater of Namibia (Namibia), Schaubude Berlin (Deutschland)

Was haben Theater, Geschichtenerzählen, Live-Performance in all ihren Facetten mit persönlicher Erfahrung zu tun? Was sagen performative Räume und Praktiken darüber aus, wie wir lernen, wie wir Wissen teilen und beurteilen? Kann Theater eine Probe für das Leben sein?
 
Sepiso Mwange und Mathias Becker proben Begegnungen miteinander, mit sich selbst und dem Publikum, mit ihren Geschichten, Unterschieden und ihrer Gemeinsamkeit: Theater. Wie ist eine namibisch-deutsche Zusammenarbeit vor dem Hintergrund unserer gewaltvollen Geschichte möglich? Wie lässt sich unsere Zukunft durch die Auseinandersetzung mit unserer Vergangenheit gestalten? Mwange/Becker untersuchen Theater als Raum des Wissens. Sie reflektieren ihre eigene Erfahrung wie auch die Formierung von Wissen im Theaterraum und fragen dabei nach verschiedenen performativen Praktiken. „Rehearsing Mwange/Becker“ ist eine Einladung an das Publikum, Teil dieser performativen Erfahrung zu werden – eine Stückentwicklung zwischen Performance, Mixed Media, Puppenspiel und dokumentarischem Theater.
 
Teil des Projekts ist auch ein Theaterworkshop zu Objektanimation und Storytelling für Kinder in Zusammenarbeit mit der Jugendorganisation KAYEC (Katutura Youth Enterprise Center). Mwange/Becker gehen dem Versuch nach, Theater-Praktiken und -Institutionen, deren koloniale Machtstrukturen und ihre Auswirkungen auf persönliche Lebenserfahrungen neu zu denken, indem sie das Potenzial von Theater als Raum für utopische Gemeinschaften ausloten.
 
Regie & Performance: Sepiso Mwange, Mathias Becker | Dramaturgie: Yasmine Salimi | Dramaturgische Beratung: Nelago Shilongoh | Sound Design: Karl Ehlers (aka LOFT) | Video Design: Martin Amushendje | Stage Management: Lavinia Kapewasha

Eine Produktion von Mwange/Becker in Koproduktion mit dem National Theater of Namibia (NTN), gefördert durch den Internationalen Koproduktionsfonds des Goethe-Instituts, das Kulturamt Pankow und die Schaubude Berlin.

Dieses Projekt ist Teil der Runde 6 des Internationalen Koproduktionsfonds, Jahr 2018-2019.