Residency Programmes

Icons Residency Programmes © Goethe-Institut

Goethe-Institut Residency Programmes enable cultural professionals from a variety of fields to have extended stays in a foreign country or culture.
They offer opportunities to overcome boundaries, to live and to work in different cultural contexts and thereby enter into close contact and dialogue with the host country and its art and cultural scenes. The Residency Programmes make a major contribution to lasting connections and creative (co-)production between diverse cultures.
By establishing long-term working contacts, they promote intercultural dialogue and enrich the domestic cultural scene as well as the respective local contexts.

The Residency Programmes are held around the world and address artists and cultural professionals in all genres as well as translators and academics. Residences last at least four weeks and facilitate reflection, the development of new projects as well as fundamental work on new works and projects for later completion, whether in Germany or the host country.

Every year, the Goethe-Institut and its cultural partners abroad organize approximately 130 artist residencies within about 50 programmes with durations between one month and one year as well as many other, shorter-term work stays around the world.

Here you can find more information and the latest calls for applications for the Goethe-Institut Residency Programmes.

Residenzprogramme

Icons Residenzen © Goethe-Institut

Die Residenzprogramme des Goethe-Instituts ermöglichen längere Aufenthalte von Kulturschaffenden unterschiedlicher Richtungen in einem anderen Land oder Kulturkreis.
Sie bieten die Möglichkeit, Grenzen zu überschreiten, in anderen kulturellen Kontexten zu leben und zu arbeiten und dadurch in engen Kontakt und Austausch mit dem Gastland und dessen Kunst- und Kulturszene zu kommen. Die Residenzprogramme tragen wesentlich zur nachhaltigen Begegnung und kreativen (Ko-)Produktion zwischen unterschiedlichen Kulturen bei.
Durch den Aufbau langfristiger Arbeitskontakte fördern sie den interkulturellen Dialog und bereichern die heimische kulturelle Szene ebenso wie die jeweiligen lokalen Kontexte.   

Die Residenzprogramme finden weltweit statt und richten sich an Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffende aller Sparten, ebenso wie an Übersetzer*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen. Residenzaufenthalte dauern mindestens vier Wochen und ermöglichen die Reflexion, die Entwicklung neuer Projekte, aber auch die Grundlagenarbeit für neue Arbeiten und Projekte, die erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt – sei es in Deutschland, sei es im Gastland – zum Abschluss gebracht werden.

Das Goethe-Institut organisiert gemeinsam mit seinen Kulturpartnern im Ausland jährlich rund 130 Künstleraufenthalte in rund 50 Programmen, die eine Dauer von einem Monat bis zu einem Jahr umfassen und zahlreiche weitere, kürzere Arbeitsaufenthalten weltweit.

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen und aktuelle Ausschreibungen der Residenzprogramme des Goethe-Instituts.