1989 - 1997

New institutes in the Eastern Europe

The fall of the Iron Curtain allows the Goethe-Institut to expand its activities into the countries of Eastern Europe. Founding the first institutes in former Eastern Bloc countries frequently demands a great deal of creativity and innovative spirt from those involved. The network of institutes is not only expanding abroad though, and the first institutes in the former GDR open their doors in Weimar and Dresden in 1996 and 1997.

Openings in Eastern Europe

  • 1988Budapest (Hungary)
  • 1989Sofia (Bulgaria)
  • 1990Prague (Czech Republic)
  • 1990Warsaw (Poland)
  • 1991Krakau (Poland)
  • 1992Moscow (Russia)
  • 1993Minsk (Belarus)
  • 1993St. Petersburg (Russia)
  • 1993Riga (Latvia)
  • 1993Bratislava (Slovakia)
  • 1994Kiev (Ukraine)
  • 1994Tbilisi (Georgia)
  • 1994Almaty (Kazakhstan)
  • Das Gebäude des Goethe-Instituts Prag in den frühen 1990ern.
  • 1992 Moskau Eröffnung
  • Bratislava Außenminister K. Kinkel (r), Generalsekretär H. Harnischfeger (l) und Institutsleiter P. Hubrich
  • Einladung zur Eröffnung Riga
Institute director Jochen Bloss saved the bugged plastic rose from the GDR embassy. Photo: Marie-Christin Gabriel, Goethe-Institut

1990

The Goethe-Institut Prague opens
“A recording device was present whenever the ambassador received his guests.”

Learn more

1990

The Goethe-Institut Prague opens
“A recording device was present whenever the ambassador received his guests.”

The fall of the Iron Curtain not only leads to new Goethe-Institut locations in Central and Eastern Europe; it also exposes curious goings-on from daily life during the Cold War. In Czech Prague, the Goethe-Institut takes over the empty GDR embassy and finds more than just abandoned furniture.

The locations proposed for the new institute are not all that appealing: they are either too far outside the city or too loud. So Carola Bloss, wife of soon-to-be institute director Jochen Bloss, suggests an alternative: “The GDR embassy was just standing there empty and the rent had been paid through December 31st by the GDR,” Jochen Bloss recalls. The caretaker gives him the keys, and the rooms are still completely furnished when they move in on October 4. Dishes, stationary, even the plastic rose on the ambassador’s desk are all still in place. A cleaner hands it to Carola Bloss with the words: “It was always with the ambassador, so I can give it to you.” The couple later spies a small, black dot among the petals, which turns out to be a bug. “That means,” Jochen Bloss says, “a recording device was always present whenever the ambassador received his guests at the round table.” He has saved the bugged plastic rose to this day.

Klaus von Bismarck, President of the Goethe-Institut from 1977 to 1989, endows the prize in 1991 Photo: Adolf Clemens

1991

President endows Klaus von Bismarck Prize
For the unseen heroes

Learn more

1991

President endows Klaus von Bismarck Prize
For the unseen heroes

The Goethe-Institut is active worldwide with many locations, so unpredictable situations arise from time to time. Then on-site staff need to step in, take responsibility and try creative approaches. The Klaus von Bismarck Prize has honoured such extraordinary efforts since 1991.

Narayan Muhuri, a guard at the Goethe-Institut in Kolkata, spends a total of 85 days, just under three months, alone in the institute building in spring 2020. Instead of isolating with his family during the coronavirus lockdown, he keeps the server room and air conditioning up and running. When cyclone Amphan sweeps through the city in May, he prevents damage to the building. Leela Chinoy assists him in maintaining the building’s safety. Head of Administration since 2020, she has worked at the institute since 1980 with a six-year break. Both receive the 2020 Klaus von Bismarck Prize for their outstanding dedication. Endowed in 1991 by the Goethe-Institut’s fifth president, the annual award goes to two staff members in recognition of “many years of notable service in promoting the Goethe-Insitut’s mission or extraordinary dedication in exceptional circumstances.”

Interview Dittrich van Weringh © Goethe-Institut Archiv

1992

The Goethe-Institut Moscow opens

Learn more

1992

The Goethe-Institut Moscow opens
“Ms Dittrich, you have to set up Moscow.”
The former director of the Goethe-Institut Moscow, Kathinka Dittrich van Weringh, remembers the time when a Goethe-Institut was to be founded in Moscow after the end of the Cold War. The new institute was opened in 1992 in the former GDR embassy in Moscow, which had a few surprises in store.
1995
750,000

1995

German Chancellor Helmut Kohl welcomes the 750,000th participant ready to start a language course at the Goethe-Institut Mannheim.

1995

Now also an online network
The www.goethe.de website goes online

Learn more

1996

The first Goethe-Institut in the former GDR opens in Weimar; the Goethe-Institut Dresden follows a year later.

1998­2007


Upheaval in the era of terrorism

Next period

1989 - 1997

Neue Institute im Osten

Mit dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs kann das Goethe-Institut seine Arbeit nun auch auf die osteuropäischen Staaten ausweiten. Die ersten Institutsgründungen in den Staaten des ehemaligen Ostblocks verlangen den Mitarbeiter*innen häufig viel Kreativität und Improvisationstalent ab. Doch nicht nur im Ausland erweitert sich das Institutsnetzwerk, 1996 und 1997 eröffnen in Weimar und Dresden die ersten Institute auf dem Gebiet der ehemaligen DDR.

Neugründungen in Osteuropa

  • 1988Budapest (Ungarn)
  • 1989Sofia (Bulgarien)
  • 1990Prag (Tschechien)
  • 1990Warschau (Polen)
  • 1991Krakau (Polen)
  • 1992Moskau (Russland)
  • 1993Minsk (Belarus)
  • 1993St. Petersburg (Russland)
  • 1993Riga (Lettland)
  • 1993Bratislava (Slowakei)
  • 1994Kiew (Ukraine)
  • 1994Tiflis (Georgien)
  • 1994Almaty (Kasachstan)
  • Das Gebäude des Goethe-Instituts Prag in den frühen 1990ern
  • 1992 Moskau Eröffnung
  • Bratislava Außenminister K. Kinkel (r), Generalsekretär H. Harnischfeger (l) und Institutsleiter P. Hubrich
  • Einladung zur Eröffnung Riga
Die verwanzte Plastikrose aus der DDR-Botschaft hat Institutsleiter Jochen Bloss aufbewahrt. Foto: Marie-Christin Gabriel, Goethe-Institut

1990

Eröffnung des Goethe-Instituts Prag
„Wenn der Botschafter seine Gäste empfing, war da ein Aufnahmegerät.“

Jetzt entdecken

1990

Eröffnung des Goethe-Instituts Prag
„Wenn der Botschafter seine Gäste empfing, war da ein Aufnahmegerät.“

Der Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs bringt nicht nur neue Standorte des Goethe-Instituts in Mittel- und Osteuropa mit sich, sondern fördert auch Kurioses aus dem Alltag des Kalten Krieges zutage: Im tschechischen Prag bezieht das Goethe-Institut das leerstehende DDR-Botschaftsgebäude und findet dort nicht nur zurückgelassenes Mobiliar.

​Die Gebäude, die man ihnen für das neue Institut anbietet, sagen ihnen alle nicht zu: zu weit außerhalb gelegen, zu laut die Umgebung. Da schlägt Carola Bloss, Ehefrau des angehenden Institutsleiters Jochen Bloss, eine Alternative vor: „Das Botschaftsgebäude der DDR war ja leer, die Miete war noch bezahlt bis zum 31. Dezember von der DDR“, berichtet Jochen Bloss. Der Hausmeister übergibt ihnen die Schlüssel und als sie am 4. Oktober einziehen, sind alle Möbel noch vorhanden. Geschirr, Schreibmaterial, sogar die Plastikrose auf dem Schreibtisch des Botschafters ist noch an Ort und Stelle. Eine Reinigungskraft übergibt sie Carola Bloss mit den Worten: „Die stand immer beim Botschafter, die kann ich Ihnen doch schenken.“ Später erspäht das Ehepaar zwischen den Blättern einen schwarzen Punkt – und entdeckt: eine Wanze. „Das heißt“, sagt Jochen Bloss, „wenn der Botschafter seine Gäste am runden Tisch empfing, war da ein Aufnahmegerät.“ Die verwanzte Plastikrose hat er bis heute aufbewahrt.

Klaus von Bismarck, Präsident des Goethe-Instituts von 1977 bis 1989, stiftet den Preis 1991 Foto: Adolf Clemens

1991

Präsident stiftet Klaus-von-Bismarck-Preis
Für die unsichtbaren Held*innen

Jetzt entdecken

1991

Präsident stiftet Klaus-von-Bismarck-Preis
Für die unsichtbaren Held*innen

Im Goethe-Institut mit seinen vielen Standorten in der Welt kommt es immer wieder zu unvorhersehbaren Situationen. Die Mitarbeiter*innen vor Ort müssen dann einspringen, kreativ sein und Verantwortung übernehmen. Der 1991 eingeführte Klaus-von-Bismarck-Preis ehrt das Engagement der lokalen Mitarbeiter*innen.

Ganze 85 Tage – knapp drei Monate – verbringt Narayan Muhuri, Wächter am Goethe-Institut in Kolkata, im Frühjahr 2020 allein im Institutsgebäude. Während des Corona-bedingten Lockdowns ist er nicht bei seiner Familie, sondern wartet den Serverraum und die Klimaanlage. Als im Mai auch noch Zyklon Amphan über die Stadt zieht, schützt er das Gebäude vor Schäden. Bei der Sicherung des Gebäudes unterstützt ihn Leela Chinoy, die seit 1980 – mit sechsjähriger Unterbrechung – am Goethe-Institut Kolkata tätig ist und seit 2020 die Verwaltung leitet. Beide Mitarbeiter*innen des Goethe-Instituts erhalten für ihren Einsatz den Klaus-von-Bismarck-Preis 2020: Gestiftet vom fünften Präsidenten des Instituts wird er seit 1991 alljährlich an zwei Mitarbeiter*innen vergeben, die durch „langjährige herausragende berufliche Leistungen die Zwecke des Goethe-Instituts gefördert oder sich in außergewöhnlichen Situationen besonders verdient gemacht haben“.

Interview Dittrich van Weringh © Goethe-Institut Archiv

1992

Gründung des Goethe-Instituts Moskau

Jetzt entdecken

1992

Gründung des Goethe-Instituts Moskau
„Frau Dittrich, Sie müssen Moskau gründen.“
Die ehemalige Institutsleiterin Kathinka Dittrich van Weringh erinnert sich zurück an die Zeit, als nach Ende des Kalten Krieges in Moskau ein Goethe-Institut gegründet werden soll. Eröffnet wird das neue Institut 1992 in der ehemaligen DDR-Botschaft in Moskau, welche einige Überraschungen parat hält.
© Goethe-Institut Archiv
1995
750.000

1995

Der 750.000. Teilnehmer beginnt am Goethe-Institut Mannheim seinen Sprachkurs und wird von Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl begrüßt.

1995

Jetzt auch online vernetzt
Die Website www.goethe.de geht online

Jetzt entdecken

1996

In Weimar eröffnet das erste Goethe-Institut auf dem Gebiet der ehemaligen DDR, ein Jahr später folgt das Goethe-Institut Dresden.

1998­2007


Umbruch in Zeiten des Terrors

Zur vierten Periode