Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Close up 2019

With Close-Up to the world: For three to four weeks each, cultural journalists from Germany and the United States of America swap their workplaces. They become familiar with professional routines in their host country and report on their impressions on site. This year's Close-Up takes place within the scope of "Wunderbar Together - The Year of German American Friendship". 

Here you can find information about the participants and soon read their articles in the host media.


Kassel – Kansas City

AnneMarie Hunter – Michaela Pflug © Goethe-Institut | Nancy Schneider

In September, the journalist AnneMarie Hunter will travel to Kassel for four weeks and will be the guest of HNA. In October, the journalist Michaela Pflug will travel to Kansas City for four weeks and will be the guest of Kansas City Business Journal


Munich – Atlanta

Malcolm Ohanwe – Martha Dalton© Goethe-Institut/Nancy Schneider

In October, the journalist Martha Dalton will travel to Munich for four weeks and will be the guest of Zündfunk (Bayern 2). In November, the journalist Malcolm Ohanwe will travel to Atlanta for four weeks and will be the guest of WABE (NPR).


Hamburg – San Francisco

Hamburg - Seattle© Goethe-Institut/Nancy Schneider

In October, the journalist Shara Tibken will travel to Hamburg for four weeks and will be the guest of Stern. In November, the journalist Fiona Weber-Steinhaus will travel to San Francisco for four weeks and will be the guest of CNET News.


#goethecloseup


Journalists

AnneMarie Hunter© private

AnneMarie Hunter

is an established writer and photographer who covers business, features and the arts including the Kansas City Star, the Kansas City Business Journal, KC Studio Arts Magazine and U.S. News and World Report. She creates written content and photography for corporate clients across a wide array of industries. She graduated from Northwestern University, with a B.S. in communications and minor in art history. She holds a M.A. in art education from Southern Oregon University.

Michaela Pflug© private

Michaela Pflug

studied Political Sciences and English in Hanover, Konstanz and Toronto. 2013 she returned to her home town and started working at Hessisch-Niedersächsische Allgemeine (HNA). She writes about everything happening in the communities to the east of Kassel with a strong focus on local politics and lifestyle.  

Martha Dalton© private

Martha Dalton

is the education reporter at WABE, the NPR affiliate in Atlanta, Georgia. She has worked at WABE for more than nine years, reporting, producing and filling in for local show hosts. Before WABE, she reported for CNN Radio and worked at other radio stations in the Southeastern U.S. She transitioned into broadcasting after working as a public school teacher for ten years. 

Malcolm Ohanwe© Bianca Traube

Malcolm Ohanwe

studied English, Romance and Middle East Studies at the LMU in Munich. He completed his journalistic traineeship at Bayerischer Rundfunk. He supported various regional correspondent studios in Bavaria, as well as the West Africa Studio of Deutsche Welle, where he was a video journalist reporting on economics and culture in Nigeria. He worked for ProSieben and SPIEGEL Online and runs the podcast "Kanackische Welle" on identity in Germany, a country of immigration. 

Fiona Weber-Steinhaus© Martin Jaeschke

Fiona Weber-Steinhaus

is a German-British reporter. She writes for Stern Magazin, Zeit, Spiegel Online, NZZ, Guardian et al. Her beat: features, portraits, in-depth reporting. Her topics: society, culture and politics. She is an alumni of the Henri Nannen Journalism School in Hamburg. Before that, she studied Politics, Theatre Studies, and Communication Science at Trinity College, Dublin, and at the Universities of Glasgow and Münster.

Shara Tibken© Sarah Tew/CNET

Shara Tibken

works for CNET, the world's largest tech news site, which is owned by CBS. She focuses on the mobile industry, covering giants such as Apple and Samsung, and she participated in a Burns Fellowship in 2017. Before working for CNET in San Francisco, Shara wrote for Dow Jones/Wall Street Journal in New York.


Within the scope of

Logo Wunderbar Together Logo Federal Foreign Office Logo Goethe-Institut Logo BDI


Partner Media 2019

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Journalistenaustausch #goethecloseup
Nahaufnahme 2019

Mit der Nahaufnahme in die Welt: Für jeweils drei bis vier Wochen tauschen Kulturjournalistinnen und -journalisten aus Deutschland und den USA ihre Arbeitsplätze. Sie lernen den Arbeitsalltag in ihrem Gastland kennen und berichten über ihre Eindrücke vor Ort. Dieses Jahr findet die Nahaufnahme im Rahmen des Deutschlandjahrs USA statt. 

Hier finden Sie Infos zu den Teilnehmenden sowie in Kürze ihre Beiträge in den Gastmedien.


Kassel – Kansas City

AnneMarie Hunter – Michaela Pflug © Goethe-Institut | Nancy Schneider

Im September reist die Journalistin AnneMarie Hunter für vier Wochen nach Kassel und ist zu Gast bei Hessische-Niedersächsische Allgemeine (HNA). Im Oktober reist die Journalistin Michaela Pflug für vier Wochen nach Kansas City und ist zu Gast beim Kansas City Business Journal


München – Atlanta

Malcolm Ohanwe – Martha Dalton© Goethe-Institut/Nancy Schneider

Im Oktober reist die Journalistin Martha Dalton für vier Wochen nach München und ist zu Gast bei Zündfunk (Bayern 2). Im November reist der Journalist Malcolm Ohanwe für vier Wochen nach Atlanta und ist zu Gast bei WABE (NPR). 


Hamburg – San Francisco

Hamburg - San Francisco© Goethe-Institut/Nancy Schneider

Im Oktober reist die Journalistin Shara Tibken für vier Wochen nach Hamburg und ist zu Gast bei Stern. Im November reist die Journalistin Fiona Weber-Steinhaus für vier Wochen nach San Francisco und ist zu Gast bei CNET News

 


#goethecloseup


Journalistinnen & Journalisten

AnneMarie Hunter© privat


AnneMarie Hunter

ist Autorin und Fotografin mit Fokus auf Wirtschaft, Reportagen und Kunst unter anderem für den Kansas City Star, das Kansas City Business Journal, das KC Studio Arts Magazine und U.S. News and World Report. Sie schreibt und fotografiert für Firmenkunden aus verschiedenen Branchen. Sie absolvierte die Northwestern University mit einem B.S. in Kommunikation und im Nebenfach Kunstgeschichte. Sie hat einen M.A. in Kunstpädagogik von der Southern Oregon University.

Michaela Pflug© privat


Michaela Pflug

studierte Politik und Gender Studies in Hannover, Konstanz und Toronto. 2013 kehrte sie in ihre nordhessische Heimat zurück und begann für die Hessisch-Niedersächsische Allgemeine (HNA) zu arbeiten. Sie konzentriert sich auf Themen im Kasseler Umland mit einem speziellen Fokus auf lokale Politik und einer Leidenschaft für kulturelle Veranstaltungen. 

Martha Dalton© privat


Martha Dalton

ist Bildungsreporterin bei WABE in Atlanta, einem Radionsender des NPR Netzwerks. Sie arbeitet seit neun Jahren bei WABE und berichtet und produziert für lokale Sendungen. Davor berichtete sie für CNN Radio und arbeitete bei weiteren Radiosendern im Südosten der USA. Sie wechselte zum Radio, nachdem sie zehn Jahre als Lehrerin an öffentlichen Schulen tätig war.

Malcolm Ohanwe© Bianca Traube


Malcolm Ohanwe

studierte Anglistik, Romanistik und Nahost-Studien an der LMU in München. Als Volontär beim Bayerischen Rundfunk unterstützte er regionale Korrespondentenstudios Bayerns, sowie das West-Afrika Studio der Deutschen Welle, für welches er als Video-Journalist über Wirtschaft und Kultur in Nigeria berichtete. Er war für ProSieben und SPIEGEL Online tätig und betreibt den Podcast „Kanackische Welle“ über Identität im Einwanderungsland Deutschland. 

Fiona Weber-Steinhaus© Martin Jaeschke


Fiona Weber-Steinhaus

ist eine deutsch-britische Reporterin. Sie schreibt für Stern Magazin, Zeit, Spiegel Online, NZZ, Guardian u.a. Ihr Revier: Features, Porträts, ausführliche Berichterstattung. Ihre Themen: Gesellschaft, Kultur und Politik. Sie ist Alumni der Henri-Nannen-Schule in Hamburg. Davor studierte sie Politik, Theaterwissenschaft und Kommunikationswissenschaft am Trinity College, Dublin, sowie an den Universitäten Glasgow und Münster.

Shara Tibken© Sarah Tew/CNET


Shara Tibken

arbeitet für CNET, die weltweit größte Tech-News-Website, die zu CBS gehört. Sie berichtet über die Mobilfunkindustrie und deckt Giganten wie Apple und Samsung ab. 2017 nahm sie an einem Burns Fellowship teil. Bevor sie für CNET in San Francisco arbeitete, schrieb sie für das Dow Jones/Wall Street Journal in New York.


Im Rahmen von

Logo Wunderbar Together Logo Auswärtiges Amt Logo Goethe-Institut Logo BDI


Partnermedien 2019

Top