Close-Up In Estonia, e-mail is all you need

The facts are clear: Germany is the world’s fourth-largest economy with a highly innovative background and immense developments in new technologies and innovations. Yet, we must admit that there is another country just as inspiring: Estonia, where I currently live. 

Estonians have a lot going for them, but they won’t admit it themselves as they are rather reserved and modest. They could proudly add an additional “e” in front of their country’s name in English, just like its name in Estonian – Eesti – because Estonia is a pioneer in the efficient “electronization” of its public administration.

The Baltic state does not possess the ideal conditions for this. Estonia regained its independence from the Soviet Union in 1991. Until then, Moscow virtually wiped out the upper and middle classes in the country and the Russian government only permitted Estonians to work in agriculture. Additionally, Estonia is a small state with as many residents as the Czech city of Prague. Despite all this, the nation has attained leadership in electronization faster than any other country and without overpriced public procurements.

Digitalization has been the norm in Estonia for a long time now. It held the first electronic election in the world in 2005. Furthermore, an Estonian ID card can be used in any number of ways. It helps users connect to Internet banking with an electronic ID reader as small as a USB drive. Estonian ID cards can be used as health insurance cards, as passports and even as driver licenses. Pharmacies record their loyalty points on it and libraries consider it a library card.

In general, Estonians don’t need paper at all. One e-mail and an electronic signature suffice to solve any problem. After requesting communication with an office, they receive the necessary document as a PDF file almost immediately in their inbox.

However, we must also take a  look at the other side of Eestonia. Estonians fear for the security of their data due to hacker attacks from Russia. One of its biggest cyber conflicts occurred in 2007 when hackers attacked the governmental and commercial servers and blocked bank accounts for days.
Although no data was lost during this event, Estonia had been backing up important data outside of its borders, especially after annexation of Crimea by Russia in 2014. For that reason, the government established its first data embassy in eastern Luxembourg this year, which is expected to begin operations by the end of this year or early 2018 at the latest.

After all this, Estonians still maintain their digital leadership. Incidentally, if you were wondering where Skype was created in 2003, you’d be correct to guess: in Estonia.

I am certain that this small country can be an inspirational example for Germany, which could follow its lead and join it as a digital forerunner.

Nahaufnahme Estland und E-Mails

Die Fakten sind eindeutig. Deutschland ist die viertgrößte Wirtschaftsmacht der Welt und liegt weit vorne, was Innovationen und Entwicklung in den BereichenTechnologien und Patente angeht. Andererseits sollte man auch wissen, dass es ein anderes Land gibt, das als Inspiration dienen kann – Estland, wo ich derzeit lebe. 

Die Esten haben so einiges, worauf sie stolz sein können, auch wenn sie das aus Schüchternheit und Bescheidenheit nie sagen würden. Allerdings fügen sie dem englischen Namen ihres Landes stolz ein zweites „e“ hinzu – wie in seinem estnischen Namen „Eesti“. Der Grund dafür: Estland ist besonders stolz auf die effiziente Digitalisierung seiner öffentlichen Verwaltung.

Das baltische Land hatte für Innovationen eigentlich nicht die besten Voraussetzungen. Estland erreichte 1991 die Unabhängigkeit von der Sowjetunion. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte Moskau die soziale Mittel- und Oberklasse unterdrückt; die russische Regierung erlaubte den Esten lediglich, Tätigkeiten in der Landwirtschaft nachzugehen. Hinzu kommt, dass Estland ein kleines Land ist, das gerade so viele Einwohner hat wie Prag. Und trotzdem konnte sich das Land schneller und ohne kostenintensive Anschaffungen seitens des Staates eine Führungsposition im Bereich Digitalisierung erarbeiten.

Software für Skype geschrieben

Die erste elektronische Wahl der Welt fand hier 2005 statt. Außerdem können estnische Personalausweise vielfältig verwendet werden. Nutzer können sich dank eines digitalen Kartenlesers, der die Größe eines USB-Sticks hat, zum Online-Banking einloggen. Estnische Personalausweise werden nicht nur als Krankenkarte genutzt, sondern ebenso als Reisepass und Führerschein. Apotheken nutzen sie für ihre Treueprogramme und Bibliotheken akzeptieren sie als Nutzerausweis. Normales Papier brauchen die Esten eigentlich nicht mehr. Die meisten Situationen können mit einer E-Mail und einer elektronischen Unterschrift gemeistert werden. Wenn sie mit einem Amt in Kontakt treten, erhalten sie die notwendigen Unterlagen in kürzester Zeit als PDF-Dokument per E-Mail.

Allerdings sollte man auch die andere Seite betrachten. Die Esten haben Angst um die Sicherheit ihrer persönlichen Daten. Angriffe russischer Hacker bringen diese immer wieder in Gefahr. Einer der größten Cyber-Konflikte fand 2007 statt, als Hacker Server der Regierung und von Unternehmen attackierten und für einige Tage Bankkonten sperrten.

Auch wenn während dieses Vorfalls keine Daten verloren gegangen sind, speichert Estland nun Sicherheitskopien seiner wichtigsten Daten im Ausland ab, vor allem seit der Annektierung der Krim durch Russland 2014. Aus diesem Grund hat die Regierung dieses Jahr die erste „Datenbotschaft“ in Luxemburg eröffnet, die spätestens Anfang 2018 einsatzbereit sein soll.

So behalten die Esten ihre digitale Führungsposition. Übrigens, raten Sie mal, wer am Anfang die Software für Skype geschrieben hat? Ja, natürlich Esten. Ich bin überzeugt davon, dass dieses kleine Land eine Inspiration für Deutschland sein kann, das im Bereich Digitalisierung dann ebenfalls eine Führungsposition einnehmen könnte.