Close-Up Escape from the sun

Copyright: Privat

It takes half an hour to travel by bus no. 42 southwest from Tallinn’s city centre to the Vaike-Oismäe district, which means roughly “little hill of blossoms.” The right side of the street is lined with lots of car dealerships, the giant Rocca al Mare shopping centre and a large concert hall announcing performances by David Garrett and the band Kraftwerk. The left is lined by solitary birch and spruce trees. 

Although the bus is full, hardly anyone speaks; just a woman behind me taking nonstop on her mobile in Russian while the others stare at their smartphones. Next to me are two pupils. When I smile at them, they quickly look away with stony faces. I am surprised that the people here approach one another so little. Perhaps it’s the season.
 
 Copyright: Privat Kullerkupu is the name of the station where I get off. There is a kiosk, a supermarket and a wide street. And that must be them, the two little ladies who come towards me with their arms linked: Jelena Gilts and Svetlana Kamenzeva, one from Tallinn, the other from St. Petersburg, the one – now – Estonian, the other Russian. They are cousins, and Svetlana came to visit from St. Petersburg the day before. They welcome me as if we were old friends, but we have never met.
 
In early October in Berlin, I received an email from a cousin asking whether I wanted to visit the Parochial Church in Berlin with him and a distant relative of his who lives in Australia. The two were planning to look at ancient graves in the crypt. Apparently ancestors of the Australian were said to be buried there. The Australian with the German name Eugen Schlusser also wrote a book called Escape from the Sun – Surviving the Tyrannies of Lenin, Hitler and Stalin. I didn’t have time.
 
But somehow the story would not let go of me. When I learned that Eugen also wanted to visit the Frankfurt Book Fair to find a German publisher for his book, I quickly arranged to meet him at the Australian publishers’ booth. I was greeted by a short, friendly man and soon we were engrossed in an intense conversation alternating between English and German.
 
 Copyright: Privat From Germany to Australia

Eugen Schlusser was born in Frankfurt am Main in 1939 as the fourth child of Russian parents. In 1950, his mother emigrated to Australia with the children, her father, who had arranged for the emigration, died shortly before the departure of a heart attack. Today, Eugen lives in Melbourne and is a documentary filmmaker. Why did the family leave Germany and go to Australia? And how, back then, did the parents live in Russia? Was there some secret that they wanted to hide from their children? he wondered. Escape from the Sun is the attempted answer, a search for traces that leads right across Europe and to Australia.
 
It also leads to Tallinn. Lena lives only a few metres from the Kullerkupu bus stop in a block of flats. It is a modest three-room flat with a small balcony and a loggia. Edward, Lena’s husband, suddenly appears out of nowhere and speaks to me in a few words of German, wants to help me out of my coat. But I have already taken it off myself. The corridor is crowded and it is incredibly warm in the rooms. In the lounge there is a piano, on it a violin and on the wall a portrait of Ludwig van Beethoven. The table is set with cake, sausage, cheese, butter. Lena brews coffee and tea. I hand over gifts and I am given potholders.
 
Lena and Svetlana, one in her late seventies, the other in her early eighties, are also second cousins of Eugen Schlusser. Svetlana tells of the elaborate research that Eugen undertook for his book about the turbulent family history, even in St. Petersburg. His parents as well as the families of Lena and Svetlana came from there. The Russian Revolution, the World Wars and their aftermath scattered the family in all directions.
 
Lena brings out a folder with photos. Her grandmother Marie Leontine Schillart, half Estonian, half German, was born in 1883 in Kuressaare, Estonia. At the age of 16, she went to Moscow to teach a young nobleman there German. The man was already engaged, but when he met the pretty Estonian, the two fell in love. They married. I forgot to ask how well he learned German.
 
In one photo, there are four girls clad in white lace dresses in a posh room. The youngest, sitting on a brocade chair, is Lena’s mother. Later shots show a beautiful woman with dark hair and well-proportioned features. Lena comes from a wealthy family.
 
 Copyright: Privat As did Eugen Schlusser’s parents and ancestors. Justus Schlusser (or Schlüsser in the original spelling), born in 1760 in the Prussian town of Bandenburg, came to St. Petersburg in 1824 and founded the Schlüsser&Co trading company there. His eight children, including seven sons, established branches of the business throughout Europe. Moscow, Odessa, Pisa, Florence, Paris, London, Warsaw, Berlin, Munich and even Tallinn – Eugen’s book contains a map showing how far the Schlüsser family branched out over the course of time.
 
But then the Russian Revolution sweeps it all away, trade empires disappear, families are torn apart, people starve to death. Eugen’s father, stricken with typhoid fever, would have starved to death in Petrograd, as St. Petersburg was called at that time before it was renamed Leningrad in 1924, had a relative not brought the 18-year-old out to the countryside and nursed him back to health. Eugene later found all these places for his book.
 
While his parents Paul and Natalia later go to Germany and survive the Second World War there as Russians with German names, Lena’s family only narrowly escapes death when the Wehrmacht besieges Leningrad for almost 900 days beginning in 1941. Her father is near death, her mother, Lena recalls, kills rats with the poker to feed the family, scrapes glue from the wallpaper and cooks it. By a stroke of luck, the family manages to leave the city in 1942 and to reach Moscow via Nizhny Novgorod.
 
“It was my grandmother who dreamed of returning to Estonia,” says Lena, and in retrospect it’s hard to say whether she thinks that was a good idea. The whole family moves to Tallinn in 1946. The father, a military engineer, works on a construction and architectural project. Lena initially learns Estonian at school. But after two years, the Estonian teacher is dismissed, the Russians keep to themselves. “Contacts with individual Estonians were polite and friendly,” recalls Lena, “but as soon as several Estonians were in the room, they totally ignored us.” It was the same even at the Polytechnic, where she later studied. But it was a good time, working in computer technology early on and earning very well. Two marriages go awry; she has been with her third husband, Edward, since 1980. Lena has no children. Tallinn is their life centre, Estonia is their home. She never questioned either.
 
Suddenly, everything changed
 
Until 1991. “The independence of the Baltic states was a shock to many Russians,” says Katja Koort, a lecturer in humanities at Tallinn University. Suddenly, they no longer knew where they belonged and felt foreign in the land in which they had always lived. Katja herself is a daughter of Russian parents, grew up in Kohtla-Jarva in northern Estonia, and wrote about the situation of Russians in Estonia following independence. In her report, she mentions a study from 2011 in which it is assumed that about half of the Russians living in Estonia emigrated in the meantime, the other half stayed. Five groups are presented: 1. the successfully integrated, 2. Russian-speaking patriots in Estonia, 3. Estonian-speaking Russians who are active and critical, 4. poorly integrated, and finally, 5. passive Russians who cannot be integrated.
 
As for many Russians in the Baltic countries, nothing was the same for Lena after independence. She hardly speaks Estonian, has almost no Estonian friends or family, and the Russian environment in which she once moved has disappeared. Who am I, where do I belong? she asks herself. 
 
She and her husband immediately acknowledged Estonian independence and were therefore given Estonian citizenship, so the Gilts have Estonian passports. Thanks to her grandmother from Kuressare, she received an Estonian passport. She had to give up the Russian one; dual citizenship is not allowed in Estonia. Now Lena is an Estonian Russian and also a citizen of the EU. Luckily, she bought the small flat on Oismäe Street at the right time. Like many retirees, she’s trying to live on 350 euros a month. It’s almost impossible in an expensive city like Tallinn, especially since she has to spend a lot of money on medicine. With thirty percent of the regular worker’s wage, the Baltic states are at the bottom of the European pension scale. 
 
“Lena is considering going back to Russia,” Eugen had told me in Frankfurt. Like his cousin, he is always questioning his own identity: Am I an Australian with a German name and Russian parents? Or am I a German, a Russian? What is my native language? Eugen hardly speaks Russian, he has largely forgotten German, but it comes back to him in conversations. He first learned English as a high school student. 
 
Svetlana, the cousin of the two, is the only one who has no identity problems. “Apart from the blockade, I always lived in St. Petersburg and not badly at all,” she says. She is single and worked for an American company. That’s where her good command of English comes from. When Lena rang her in the spring and told her she was looking for flats in St. Petersburg, Svetlana replied, “Are you mad? Don’t do it! Do you want to live under power-hungry Putin? Stay in Tallinn and, most of all, in the EU.” Even today, a good six months later, Svetlana is upset and hopes that Lena will listen to her advice. Lena in turn says Estonia is her home. But she doesn’t seem very convinced.

Nahaufnahme Escape from the sun

© Privat

Eine halbe Stunde dauert die Fahrt mit dem Bus Nr. 42 aus Tallinns Innenstadt in Richtung Südwesten zum Bezirk Väike-Õismäe, was so viel wie kleiner Blütenberg bedeutet. Zahlreiche Autohäuser, das Rieseneinkaufszentrum Rocca al Mare und eine große Konzerthalle, die Auftritte von David Garrett sowie der Band Kraftwerk ankündigt, säumen die rechte Straßenseite, links stehen vereinzelt Birken und Fichten. 

Obwohl der Bus voll ist, spricht kaum jemand. Nur hinter mir redet eine Frau auf Russisch nonstop in ihr Handy, die anderen starren auf ihre Smartphones. Neben mir zwei Schülerinnen. Als ich sie anlächele, schauen sie mit unbeweglichem Gesichtsausdruck schnell weg. Ich wundere mich, dass die Menschen hier so wenig aufeinander zugehen. Es liegt wohl an der Jahreszeit.
 
 © Privat Kullerkupu heißt die Station, an der ich aussteige. Ein Kiosk, ein Supermarkt, eine breite Straße. Und das müssen sie sein, die beiden kleinen Damen, die untergehakt auf mich zukommen: Jelena Gilts und Swetlana Kamenzewa, die eine aus Tallinn, die andere aus St. Petersburg, die eine – inzwischen – Estin, die andere Russin. Es sind Cousinen, und Swetlana ist am Vortag aus St. Petersburg zu Besuch gekommen. Sie begrüßen mich, als wären wir alte Bekannte. Aber wir haben uns noch nie gesehen.
 
Anfang Oktober erhielt ich in Berlin eine mail von einem Cousin. Ob ich mit  ihm und einem ganz entfernten Verwandten von ihm, der in Australien lebt, die Berliner Parochialkirche besuchen wollte. Die beiden planten, dort alte Grabstätten in der Krypta anzuschauen, und anscheinend gab es auch Vorfahren des Australiers, die dort bestattet sein sollen. Der Australier mit dem deutschen Namen Eugen Schlusser habe auch ein Buch geschrieben: „Escape from the Sun – Surviving the Tyrannies of Lenin, Hitler and Stalin“. Ich hatte keine Zeit.
 
Aber irgendwie ließ die Geschichte mich nicht los. Und als ich erfuhr, dass Eugen auch die Frankfurter Buchmesse besuchen wollte, um einen deutschen Verleger für sein Buch zu finden, verabredete ich mich kurzerhand mit ihm beim Stand der australischen Verlage. Ein kleiner, freundlicher Mann begrüßte mich, und nach kürzester Zeit waren wir in ein intensives Gespräch vertieft, das immer zwischen Englisch und Deutsch wechselte.

Von Deutschland nach Australien
 
 © Privat Eugen Schlusser wurde 1939 in Frankfurt am Main geboren, als viertes Kind russischer Eltern. 1950 emigrierte die Mutter mit den Kindern nach Australien, der Vater, der die Auswanderung eingefädelt hatte, starb kurz vor der Abreise an einem Herzinfarkt.  Eugen lebt heute in Melbourne und ist Dokumentarfilmer. Warum verließ die Familie Deutschland und ging nach Australien? Und wie hatten die Eltern seinerzeit in Russland gelebt? Gab es ein Geheimnis, das sie vor ihren Kindern verbergen wollten? fragte er sich. „Escape from the sun“ ist der Versuch einer Antwort, eine Spurensuche, die quer durch Europa bis nach Australien führt.
 
Und auch nach Tallinn. Lena wohnt nur wenige Meter von der Haltestelle Kullerkupu entfernt in einem Wohnblock. Eine bescheidene Dreizimmerwohnung mit einem kleinen Balkon und einer Loggia. Edward, Lenas Mann taucht plötzlich wie aus dem Nichts aus und richtet ein paar Brocken Deutsch an mich, möchte mir aus dem Mantel helfen. Aber den habe ich schon selbst ausgezogen. Der Flur ist vollgestellt, und es ist unglaublich warm in den Räumen. Im Wohnzimmer ein Klavier, darauf eine Geige, an der Wand ein Portrait von Ludwig van Beethoven. Der Tisch ist gedeckt, Kuchen, Wurst, Käse, Butter. Lena kocht Kaffee und Tee. Ich überreiche Geschenke, und auch mir werden Topflappen geschenkt.
 
Lena und Swetlana, die eine Ende siebzig, die andere Anfang achtzig, sind auch Cousinen zweiten Grades von Eugen Schlusser. Swetlana erzählt von den aufwendigen Recherchen, die Eugen für sein Buch über die bewegte Familiengeschichte auch in St. Petersburg unternahm. Von dort stammen seine Eltern wie auch die Familien von Lena und Swetlana. Die russische Revolution, die Weltkriege und deren Nachwirkungen haben die Familie in alle Himmelsrichtungen verstreut.
 
Lena holt einen Ordner mit Photos hervor. Ihre Großmutter Marie Leontine Schillart, halb Estin, halb Deutsche, wurde 1883 im estnischen Kuressaare geboren. Mit 16 Jahren ging sie nach Moskau, um dort einem jungen Adligen die deutsche Sprache beizubringen. Der Mann war bereits verlobt, aber als er die hübsche Estin traf, verliebten sich die beiden ineinander. Die beiden heirateten, und nach den Deutschkenntnissen vergaß ich zu fragen.
Auf einem Photo sind vier in weiße Spitzenkleidchen gewandete Mädchen in noblem Ambiente zu sehen. Das jüngste auf einem mit Brokatstoff bezogenen und mit Trotteln verzierten Sessel sitzende Kind ist Lenas Mutter. Spätere Aufnahmen zeigen eine schöne Frau mit dunklen Haaren und einem ebenmäßigen Gesicht. Lena entstammt einer wohlhabenden Familie.
 
 © Privat Wie auch Eugen Schlussers Eltern und Vorfahren. Justus Schlusser (oder Schlüsser, so die ursprüngliche Schreibweise), 1760 im preußischen Bandenburg geboren, kam 1824 nach St. Petersburg und gründete dort die Schlüsser&Co Handelsgesellschaft. Seine acht Kinder, darunter sieben Söhne, ließen sich überall in Europa mit Zweigstellen nieder. Moskau, Odessa, Pisa, Florenz, Paris, London, Warschau, Berlin, München und auch Tallinn - in Eugens Buch ist eine Karte abgebildet, die zeigt, wie weit sich die Schlüsser Familie im Lauf der Zeit verzweigte.
 
Aber dann fegt die russische Revolution alles hinweg, Handelsimperien verschwinden, Familien werden zerrissen, Menschen verhungern. Auch Eugens Vater, an Typhus erkrankt, wäre in Petrograd, wie St. Petersburg damals hieß, bevor es 1924 in Leningrad umbenannt wurde, verhungert, hätte nicht eine Verwandte den 18jährigen aufs Land gebracht und gesundgepflegt. Eugen hat später für sein Buch diese Orte alle wiedergefunden.

Während seine Eltern Paul und Natalia später nach Deutschland gehen und dort als Russen mit deutschem Namen auch den zweiten Weltkrieg überleben, entgeht Lenas Familie nur knapp dem Tod, als die Wehrmacht Leningrad ab 1941 fast 900 Tage belagert. Der Vater ist dem Tod nahe, die Mutter, so erinnert sich Lena, tötet Ratten mit dem Schürhaken, kratzt Leim von den Tapeten und kocht ihn. Durch Glück gelingt es der Familie 1942 die Stadt zu verlassen und über Nischni Nowgorod nach Moskau zu gelangen.
 
„Es war meine Großmutter, die davon träumte, nach Estland zurückzukehren,“ sagt Lena, und man weiß nicht so recht, ob sie das im Nachhinein eine gute Idee findet. Die ganze Familie zieht 1946 nach Tallinn. Der Vater arbeitet als Militäringenieur in einem Projekt für Bau und Architektur. Lena lernt anfangs in der Schule noch Estnisch. Aber nach zwei Jahren wird der Estnischlehrer entlassen, die Russen bleiben unter sich. „Die Kontakte zu einzelnen Esten waren zwar höflich und freundlich,“ erinnert sich Lena, „sobald aber mehrere Esten im Raum waren, wurden wir total ignoriert.“ Auch am Polytechnikum, an dem sie später studiert, sei es nicht anders gewesen. Aber sie habe eine gute Zeit gehabt, sich schon früh mit Computertechnik beschäftigt und sehr gut verdient. Zwei Ehen gehen schief, die dritte mit Edward besteht seit 1980. Kinder hat Lena nicht. Tallinn ist ihr Lebensmittelpunkt, Estland ihre Heimat. Beide stellt sie nie in Frage.

Plötzlich hat sich alles verändert
 
Bis 1991. „Die Unabhängigkeit der baltischen Staaten war für viele Russen ein Schock“, sagt Katja Koort, Dozentin für Geisteswissenschaften an der Tallinner Universität. Plötzlich wussten sie nicht mehr, wo sie hingehörten und fühlten sich fremd in dem Land, in dem sie bisher gelebt hatten. Katja ist selbst Tochter russischer Eltern, wuchs im nordestnischen Kohtla-Jarva auf und hat über die Situation der Russen in Estland nach der Unabhängigkeit geschrieben. In ihrem Bericht erwähnt sie eine Untersuchung aus dem Jahr 2011, die davon ausgeht, dass ungefähr die Hälfte der in Estland lebenden Russen inzwischen emigriert sind, die andere Hälfte nicht. Fünf Gruppen werden vorgestellt: 1. erfolgreich Integrierte, 2. russischsprachige Patrioten in Estland, 3. Estnisch sprechende Russen, die aktiv und kritisch sind, 4. wenig Integrierte und schließlich 5. passive Russen, die nicht integrierbar sind.
 
Wir für viele Russen in den baltischen Ländern war für Lena nach der Unabhängigkeit nichts mehr wie es einmal war. Estnisch spricht sie wenig, estnische Freunde und Familie gibt es in Estland so gut wie keine und das russische Umfeld, in dem sie sich beweg hatte, löste sich auf. Wer bin ich, wohin gehöre ich? fragt sie sich.
 
Weil ihr Mann und sie sofort die estnische Unabhängigkeit anerkannten und die estnische Staatsbürgerschaft  erhielten, hat das Ehepaar Gilts einen estnischen Pass. Den russischen musste sie abgeben: die doppelte Staatsbürgerschaft ist in Estland nicht möglich. Nun ist Lena eine estnische Russin und dazu eine Bürgerin der EU. Wie viele Rentner versucht sie, von monatlich 350 Euro zu leben. In einer teuren Stadt wie Tallinn ist das kaum zu schaffen, vor allem, weil sie viel Geld für Medikamente ausgeben muss. Mit dreißig Prozent Abstrich gegenüber dem normalen Arbeiter stehen die baltischen Staaten am unteren Ende der europäischen Rentenskala.
 
„Lena überlegt, nach Russland zurückzugehen,“ hatte Eugen mir in Frankfurt gesagt. Wie auch seine Cousine stellt er sich selbst immer wieder Fragen nach seiner Identität: bin ich nun ein Australier, der einen deutscher Namen und russische Eltern hat? Oder doch auch Deutscher, Russe?  Welches ist meine Muttersprache? Russisch spricht Eugen kaum, die deutsche Sprache hat er weitgehend vergessen, aber im Gespräch kommt sie zurück. Englisch lernte er erst als Gymnasiast.
 
Swetlana, die Cousine der beiden, ist die einzige, die keine Identitätsprobleme hat. „Ich habe – bis auf die Blockade – immer in St. Petersburg gelebt und zwar gar nicht schlecht.“ sagt sie. Sie ist ledig und hat bei einer amerikanischen Firma gearbeitet. Daher stammen ihre guten Englischkenntnisse. Als Lena sie im Frühling anrief und ihr sagte, sie würde nach Wohnungen in St. Petersburg Ausschau halten, antwortete Swetlana: „Bis Du verrückt? Mach das auf keinen Fall. Willst du unter dem machthungrigen Putin leben? Bleib in Tallinn und vor allem auch in der EU.“ Auch heute, ein gutes halbes Jahr später, regt Swetlana sich darüber auf und hofft, dass Lena auf ihren Rat hört. Die wiederum sagt, Estland sei ihre Heimat. Aber so richtig überzeugt scheint sie selbst nicht davon zu sein.