Close-Up Munich Film Museum – 11th Romanian Film Festival

The Romanian Film Festival is taking place at the Munich Film Museum until 19 November 2017. It is organised by the Society for the Promotion of Romanian Culture and Traditions. 

Cabbage, Potatoes and Other Demons – Varză, cartofi şi alți demoni

Szene aus „Kohl, Kartoffeln und andere Dämonen“ What can you do with 50 Romanian lei (about 11 euros)? You can, for example, buy half a tonne of white cabbage. When director Şerban Georgescu discovers this while shopping for his mother, he decides to spend a year in the village of Lunguleţu in the south of Romania and grow his own potatoes and cabbage. More than 100,000 tonnes of cabbage and potatoes are produced here every year and piled up to huge pyramids on the market square in the autumn, awaiting buyers. Business is far from profitable, bankruptcy threatens on a daily basis. The farmers from Lunguleţu lose money, confidence and hope, but not their sense of humour.

Tuesday, 14 Nov 2017, 9 pm

Silent River – Apele tac

Filmszene aus „Stille Wasser“ Romania, 1986: Gregor and Vali are fed up with life under Communism and dream of fleeing the country. The plan has been in place for months: they first want to use a dinghy to get across the Danube to Serbia and from there to Western Europe. But the plan changes when Vali brings his very pregnant wife Ana along. Between 1980 and 1989, over 16,000 Romanians tried to flee across the Danube. Most of them paid for this dream with imprisonment or with their lives.

Silent River is one of the most successful Romanian short films. It has been screened at more than 300 festivals and received 82 international awards.

On Sunday, 19 Nov 2017, 5:30 pm

That Trip We Took with Dad – La drum cu tata

Szene aus „Die Reise mit Vater“ The western Romanian small town of Arad in 1968: the brothers Mihai and Emil head off to East Germany with their ailing father. He is supposed to undergo surgery in Dresden. Due to a series of coincidences, the three end up instead in a radical leftist flat share in West Germany. The road movie was inspired by a true story. 

On Sunday, 19 Nov 2017, 5:30 pm

Nahaufnahme Filmmuseum München 11. Rumänisches Filmfestival

Das Rumänische Filmfestivals findet bis zum 19. November 2017 im Münchner Filmmuseum statt. Veranstalter ist die Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Rumänischen Kultur und Tradition e.V. 

„Kohl, Kartoffeln und andere Dämonen – Varză, cartofi şi alți demoni“

Szene aus „Kohl, Kartoffeln und andere Dämonen“ Was kann man mit 50 rumänischen Lei (etwa 11 Euro) machen? Zum Beispiel eine halbe Tonne Weißkohl kaufen. Als der Regisseur Şerban Georgescu das entdeckt, während er für seine Mutter Einkäufe erledigt, beschließt er als Test, ein Jahr in der Ortschaft Lunguleţu im Süden Rumäniens zu verbringen und selbst Kartoffeln und Kohl anzubauen. Über 100.000 Tonnen Kohl und Kartoffeln werden hier jährlich produziert und im Herbst auf dem Marktplatz zu riesigen Pyramiden aufgetürmt, in Erwartung der Käufer. Das Geschäft ist alles andere als profitabel, täglich droht der Bankrott. Die Bauern aus Lunguleţu verlieren Geld, Vertrauen und Hoffnung, nicht aber ihren Humor.

Am Dienstag, 14.11. 2017, 21:00 Uhr

„Stille Wasser - Apele tac“

Filmszene aus „Stille Wasser“ Rumänien, 1986: Gregor und Vali haben genug vom Leben im Kommunismus und träumen davon, aus dem Land zu fliehen. Der Plan steht seit Monaten fest: Mit einem Schlauchboot wollen sie zuerst über die Donau nach Serbien gelangen, von dort nach Westeuropa. Doch der Plan ändert sich, als Vali seine hochschwangere Frau Ana mitbringt. Zwischen 1980 und 1989 haben über 16.000 Rumänen versucht, über die Donau zu fliehen. Die meisten davon haben für diesen Traum mit Gefängnis bezahlt. Oder mit dem Tod.

„Stille Wasser“ ist einer der erfolgreichsten rumänischen Kurzfilme. Er wurde in über 300 Festivals gezeigt und erhielt 82 internationale Auszeichnungen.

Am Sonntag, 19.11.2017, 17:30 Uhr

„Die Reise mit Vater - La drum cu tata“

Szene aus „Die Reise mit Vater“ Die westrumänische Kleinstadt Arad im Jahr 1968. Die Brüder Mihai und Emil machen sich mit ihrem kranken Vater auf den Weg nach Deutschland. Er soll in Dresden operiert werden. Durch eine Reihe von Zufällen landen die drei aber in einer linksradikalen WG in der Bundesrepublik. Ein Roadmovie inspiriert von einer wahren Geschichte.

Am Sonntag, 19.11.2017, 17:30 Uhr