Close-Up Media in Romania: “I’ve experienced censorship.”

© pixabay/StockSnap

Elise Wilk is a Romanian journalist. In this interview she talks about how the government influences her work.

Let’s take the protests in Bucharest against the government as an example: it was quite obvious that reporting was not always objective. When a TV station that was pro-government reported, the numbers stated on TV were always very small – for example, if 10,000 people were on the streets, the TV report said it was 2,000 at the most – and then, when it was a TV station that was anti-government, the same numbers were even greater. Television is an important medium in Romania because it also reaches those people in villages that might not have access to the internet.

So is the media or television rather pro-government?

I would say, the major ones are rather pro.

Then, is it possible at all to report critically? And where does this happen?

Yes, it is still possible to report critically. In the newspaper that I work for, for example: the Allgemeine Deutsche Zeitung für Rumänien. This is a German-language newspaper and it is possible to publish critiques in it. However, we have a small readership because few people understand German. But in the meantime there are also blogs and other organisations such as “Casa Jurnalistului” or “Recorder”. There are several independent journalists there who are financed by their readers and they can report very well – that is, of excellent quality – and also very objectively. So reporters can be critical too.

How was it in your own experience? You were an investigative journalist even before working for the Allgemeine Deutsche Zeitung. Tell us what you experienced in your time.

Yes, I used to work for the Romanian press, mostly in the local press. And the fact of the matter is that the local press is mainly financed by politicians. It happened more than once that I was already off duty and got a phone call: “Come to the office. You have to write something. Your article has been taken out of the paper – it can’t be published because this one or that one called and didn’t want it in.”

So you were censored.

Yes, that’s right.

Now you are with the Allgemeine Deutsche Zeitung – but why is there a German-language newspaper in Romania at all?

There is an important German minority in Romania. It’s only around 12,000 people now but it used to be 300,000. There are German schools, German text books, place names and of course there is also a newspaper for this minority.

How important is a newspaper for such a minority, a German minority, any sort of minority? Do you also see yourself as a preserver of the German-language in Romania?

I would say that such a newspaper is absolutely vital since the duty of the paper is not only to provide accurate information but it is also a structure that holds our community together. And without this structure, the community would no longer exist. We had a celebration for the 60th anniversary of our weekly paper – and the publisher of the paper, from the Demokratisches Forum der Deutschen in Rumänien (Democratic Forum of Germans in Romania), said that as long as the German minority existed, our newspaper would also exist.

Nahaufnahme Medien in Rumänien: „Ich habe Zensur erlebt.“

© pixabay/StockSnap

Elise Wilk ist Journalistin in Rumänien – wie sie in ihrer Arbeit seitens der Regierung eingeschränkt wird, berichtet sie im Interview.

Nehmen wir als Beispiel die Proteste in Bukarest gegen die Regierung: da konnte man gut sehen, dass nicht immer objektiv berichtet wird. Wenn ein Fernsehsender, der pro Regierung war, berichtete, dann dann kamen immer ganz kleinen Zahlen im Fernsehen – also beispielsweise, wenn 10.000 Leute auf die Straße gegangen sind, dann stand da vielleicht höchstens 2.000 – und dann, wenn es Fernsehsender waren, die gegen die Regierung sind, waren diese Zahlen noch größer. Fernsehen ist ein wichtiges Medium in Rumänien, weil es auch die Leute auf dem Dorf erreicht, die vielleicht keinen Internetzugang haben.

Also sind die Medien oder auch das Fernsehen eher pro Regierung?

Ich würde sagen, die Wichtigsten sind eher pro.

Kann man denn überhaupt noch kritische berichten? Und wo findet das dann statt?

Ja, man kann noch kritisch berichten. Zum Beispiel bei der Zeitung, für die ich arbeite: die Allgemeine Deutsche Zeitung für Rumänien. Das ist eine deutschsprachige Zeitung und dort kann man kritisch berichten, es lesen uns allerdings nur wenige Leute, weil wenige Leute Deutsch verstehen. Aber es gibt inzwischen auch Blogs und andere Organisationen, zum Besipiel „Casa Jurnalistului“ oder „Recorder“. Dort gibt es mehrere unabhängige Journalisten, die sich von ihren Lesern finanzieren und die dann sehr gut, also qualitativ hochwertig berichten und auch sehr objektiv. Also man kann auch kritisch sein.

Wie war das bei Ihnen selbst? Sie haben ja auch investigativ gearbeitet vor der Allgemeinen Deutschen Zeitung. Erzählen Sie doch mal, was Sie erlebt haben in ihrer Zeit.

Ja, früher habe ich in der rumänischen Presse gearbeitet, und zwar hauptsächlich in der Lokalpresse. Und bei der Lokalpresse ist es so, dass sie meistens von Politikern finanziert wird. Es ist mehrmals geschehen, dass ich Feierabend hatte und angerufen wurde: „Komm in die Redaktion, Du musst irgendetwas schreiben, Dein Artikel ist raus aus der Zeitung, der kann nicht publiziert werden, weil der und der angerufen hat und das nicht wollte.“

Sie wurden also zensiert.

Ja, genau.

Jetzt sind Sie ja bei der Allgemeinen Deutsche Zeitung – aber warum gibt es überhaupt eine deutsche Zeitung in Rumänien?

In Rumänien gibt es eine wichtige deutsche Minderheit, inzwischen sind es nur noch etwa 12.000 Leute, früher waren es noch 300.000. Es gibt deutsche Schulen, deutsche Lehrbücher, Ortsnamen und natürlich gibt es auch eine Zeitung dieser Minderheit.

Wie wichtig ist es denn eine Zeitung für so eine Minderheit, eine deutsche Minderheit, überhaupt eine Minderheit. Sehen Sie sich da auch als Bewahrer der deutschen Sprache in Rumänien?

Ich würde sagen, so eine Zeitung ist lebenswichtig, denn die Aufgabe dieser Zeitung ist es nicht nur korrekt zu informieren, sondern sie ist eine Struktur, die unsere Gemeinschaft zusammenhält. Und ohne diese Struktur würde die Gemeinschaft nicht mehr existieren. Wir hatten eine Feier zum 60-jährigen Bestehen unseres Wochenblatts – und die Herausgeber der Zeitung, vom Demokratischen Forum der Deutschen in Rumänien meinten, solange die deutsche Minderheit existieren wird, wird auch unsere Zeitung existieren.