Bremen - Tallinn
Close up 2016

Bremen-Talinn Grafik: Goethe-Institut

The Goethe-Institut’s Close-Up programme enables cultural journalists from the print, online and radio media to swap workplaces with a colleague from abroad for three to four weeks. In 2016, one of those couplings was taz-editor Benno Schirrmeister from Bremen and the journalist Greete Palmiste from Tallinn. 

Participants

Bruno Schirrmeister

Benno Schirrmeister

Editor at taz.die tageszeitung, Northern Germany desk, Bremen 
Host mediumEstonian Public Broadcasting in Tallinn   
Time of stay: Autumn 2016   
Would like to report on: I would really like to report on the theatre group No99, but it will be touring through Belgium and France then. But where there’s one exciting performance group there is usually at least one more and I will find it. Then there are a few very unconventional comic artists, Triine Lille caught my eye, and Joonas Sildre. I’ll try to contact them. If all else fails, I’ll investigate the mystery of the Brotherhood of Blackheads of Reval: Hanseatic history.   
How I’ve perceived my host country until now: Conquered in the 12th century by a Catholic Bremen terrorist militia, how embarrassing, then Danes – Tal means Danish, linn means city –, Swedes, Russians, Soviets, freedom is sung, independent for exactly 25 years. The massive (and big sinister) neighbour is Russia. Digitalization must be extremely advanced in a state where people can vote via text messaging, public transport in Tallinn is ticketless, great! Whether that is so in Tartu – I’ve no idea. The university is there. Learning more Estonian than “tere” and “nägemist” – I'm afraid nothing will come of that. They even have different lengths in the consonants! Without being able to tell from the spelling. Cool. Lots of islands, lots of lakes, forests – and very, very few people.  
 
 
 

Greete Palmiste Greete Palmiste

Editor at Estonian Public Broadcasting (ERR), Online/Multimedia, Tallinn 
Host medium: taz Bremen   
Time of stay: Autumn 2016   
Would like to report on: In Estonia, Germany is mainly in the news when it’s about the European Union, NATO, the Brexit and, of course, the refugee issue. Since Estonia has also promised to accept refugees, it would certainly be interesting to find out what integration measures in Germany work well and how Estonia can learn from it.   
How I’ve perceived my host country until now: As a member of the Hanseatic League in the Middle Ages, as an economically and politically strong country. But also the country of meat dishes, sauerkraut and Christmas markets.

Bremen - Tallinn
Nahaufnahme 2016

Bremen-Talinn Grafik: Goethe-Institut

Mit der Nahaufnahme in die Welt: Für jeweils drei bis vier Wochen tauschen Kulturjournalistinnen ihre Arbeitsplätze. Sie lernen den Arbeitsalltag in ihrem Gastland kennen und berichten über ihre Eindrücke vor Ort. Im Jahr 2016 war eines dieser Paare der Bremer taz-Redakteur Benno Schirrmeister und die Journalistin Greete Palmiste aus Tallinn. 

Protagonisten

Bruno Schirrmeister

Benno Schirrmeister

Redakteur taz.die tageszeitung, Norddeutschlandredaktion, Bremen 
Gastmedium: Estonian Public Broadcasting in Tallinn   
Aufenthalt: Herbst 2016   
Worüber ich berichten möchte: Total gerne berichten würde ich über die Theatergruppe No99, aber die tourt dann durch Belgien und Frankreich. Aber wo eine spannende Performancegruppe ist, gibt es meistens mindestens noch eine. Die werde ich finden. Dann: Es gibt ein paar sehr eigenwillige Comic-KünstlerInnen, Triine Lille ist mir aufgefallen, und Joonas Sildre. Versuche ich zu kontaktieren. Und zur Not erkunde ich das Rätsel der Schwarzhäupter von Reval: Hansegeschichte.   
Wie ich mein Gastland bisher sehe: Im 12. Jahrhundert von einer katholischen-bremischen Terrormiliz erobert, peinlich, dann Dänen - Tal heißt dänisch, linn heißt Stadt -, Schweden, Russen, Sowjets, Freiheit ersungen, seit exakt 25 Jahren wieder unabhängig. Der unheimlich große (und große unheimliche) Nachbar ist Russland. Die Digitalisierung muss extrem weit fortgeschritten sein in einem Staat, in dem per SMS gewählt werden kann, in Tallinn ist der ÖPNV fahrscheinlos, tolle Sache! Ob das in Tartu auch so ist - keine Ahnung. Da gibt es die Universität. Jenseits von "tere" und "nägemist" Estnisch zu lernen - ich fürchte, das wird nix. Die haben sogar unterschiedliche Längen in den Konsonanten! Ohne dass man es an der Schreibweise sehen würde. Krass. Viele Inseln, viele Seen, Wald - und sehr, sehr wenig Leute.   
 
 

Greete Palmiste Greete Palmiste

Redakteurin bei Estonian Public Broadcasting (ERR), Online/Multimedia, Tallinn 
Gastmedium: taz Bremen   
Aufenthalt: Herbst 2016
Worüber ich berichten möchte: In Estland ist Deutschland vor allem dann in den Nachrichten, wenn es um die Europäische Union geht, die NATO, den Brexit und natürlich beim Thema Geflüchtete. Da sich auch Estland verpflichtet hat, Geflüchtete aufzunehmen, wäre es sicher spannend zu erfahren, welche Maßnahmen der Integration in Deutschland gut funktionieren und inwiefern Estland davon lernen kann.  
Wie ich mein Gastland bisher sehe: Als Teil der Hanse im Mittelalter, als ökonomisch und politisch starkes Land. Aber auch als Land der Fleischgerichte, des Sauerkrauts und der Weihnachtsmärkte.