Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

“Five Million Incidents”
Where Does Time Go?

Dharmendra Prasad: “Late Harvest”
Dharmendra Prasad: “Late Harvest” | Photo: Annette Jacob

“Five Million Incidents”: The Goethe-Instituts New Delhi and Kolkata are serious about the idea of the institute as a public space. Over a period of nine months, they are experimenting with the Raqs Media Collective with new forms of cultural programme work.

What happens when you rethink the idea of the public space? When, as a guest in a country, you become the host to grant space for a variety of other, unknown voices? Since August 2019, the Goethe-Instituts in New Delhi and Kolkata have been providing a stage for the “Five Million Incidents” project.

Amol Patil: „Gaze Under Your Skin“
© Amol Patil
Amol Patil: „Gaze Under Your Skin“ | © Amol Patil

Delicate sand sculptures and a chatbot of small means

The New Delhi-based artist collective Raqs Media Collective took on the role of “catalysts.” Together with a mentor group made up of Goethe staff and external experts, a jury was formed that decided on the more than 200 submissions. Over 51 projects were selected and implemented by the artists. The spectrum of projects ranged from minimally invasive actions (a vending machine where you pay with your time) to the complete packaging of all the books in the library; from curated public dinners to sound installations; from delicate sand sculptures and the installation of a chatbot of small means to a monumental straw pavilion in which presentations and discussions took place. And that’s just the first round. It will end in early January with a 15-hour drum performance, which will also initiate the second round. It will end on 14 April, the birthday of the social reformer and “father of the Indian constitution” Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar.

Amitesh Grover: “100 Velocity Pieces” Amitesh Grover: “100 Velocity Pieces” | Photo: Shweta Wahi

Naked lunch and gazing at the moon

As the title of the entire programme suggests, the aim was to provide a framework in which as many different forms of creating and observing time as possible can be accommodated and in which different artistic forms collide with one another. People sat opposite each other (only after registration) at a naked lunch or watched the moon and its slow journey through the night together in an observatory. New brief comments, advice or instructions in the form of five-line poems appeared daily on a display board on the fence of the institute. Various types of vegetables and fruit were subjected to a fermentation process over a period of one week and people debated the parallels between fermentation and the formation of a thought.

The daily routine of teaching and working at the institute was interrupted by raid-like interventions: performers rolled up the stairs, knocked imploringly against the library windows or laid themselves across the desk unannounced. Film presentations, readings and (often unplanned) public discussions produced condensations of time and turned the Goethe-Institut into a place of communication, of non-hierarchical discussion, into a public space in which the most varied forms of thinking about and working with the material of time can take place, and a safe space in which to think about what society one wishes to work towards.

Jyothidas KV: “Can You Feel the Bubble” Jyothidas KV: “Can You Feel the Bubble” | Photo: Annette Jacob

The transformation of a place

Five Million Incidents brought a large number of artists to the site who had previously been completely unknown to both the catalysts of the Raqs Media Collective and the mentors. With these new actors came a new audience. At the same time, there were numerous contacts with the language students, who are otherwise not involved in the cultural programme. Given the shrinking public space in New Delhi and Kolkata and the dwindling importance of public cultural institutions, the project has so far been extremely successful. After 14 April, we’ll know whether it can also set a lasting trend.
Vikram Iyengar & Anubha Fatehpuria: “Inter/Sections” Vikram Iyengar & Anubha Fatehpuria: “Inter/Sections” | Photo: Annette Jacob

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

„Five Million Incidents“
Wohin mit der Zeit?

Dharmendra Prasad: „Late Harvest“
Dharmendra Prasad: „Late Harvest“ | Foto: Annette Jacob

„Five Million Incidents“: Die Goethe-Institute New Delhi und Kolkata machen Ernst mit der Idee des Instituts als öffentlichem Raum. Über neun Monate hinweg experimentieren sie gemeinsam mit dem Raqs Media Collective mit neuen Formen der kulturellen Programmarbeit.

Was geschieht, wenn man die Idee des öffentlichen Raums neu denkt? Wenn man als Gast in einem Land zum Gastgeber wird und einer Vielzahl anderer, fremder Stimmen Raum gewährt? Seit August 2019 bieten die Goethe-Institute in New Delhi und Kolkata dem Projekt „Five Million Incidents“ eine Bühne.

Amol Patil: „Gaze Under Your Skin“
© Amol Patil
Amol Patil: „Gaze Under Your Skin“ | © Amol Patil

Zarte Skulpturen aus Sand und ein leicht minderbemittelter Chatbot

Das in New Delhi beheimatete Künstlerkollektiv Raqs Media Collective übernahm die Rolle der „Katalysator*innen“. Gemeinsam mit einer Mentor*innengruppe, die sich aus Goethe-Mitarbeiter*innen und externen Sachverständigen zusammensetzte, bildete man eine Jury, die über die mehr als 200 Einreichungen entschied. Über 51 Vorhaben wurden ausgewählt und von den Künstler*innen umgesetzt. Das Spektrum der Projekte reichte von minimal-invasiven Aktionen (ein Verkaufsautomat, bei dem man mit seiner Zeit bezahlt) bis zur vollständigen Verpackung aller Bücher in der Bibliothek; von kuratierten, öffentlichen Abendessen bis zu Sound-Installationen; von zarten Skulpturen aus Sand und der Installation eines leicht minderbemittelten Chatbots bis hin zu einem monumentalen Pavillon aus Stroh, in dem Präsentationen und Diskussionen stattfanden. Und das ist erst die erste Runde. Diese endet Anfang Januar mit einer 15-stündigen Schlagzeug-Performance, welche zugleich die zweite Runde einleiten wird. Am 14. April, dem Geburtstag des Sozialreformers und „Vaters der indischen Verfassung“, Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar, ist dann Schluss.

Amitesh Grover: „100 Velocity Pieces“ Amitesh Grover: „100 Velocity Pieces“ | Foto: Shweta Wahi

Nackt zu Mittag essen und den Mond betrachten

Wie schon der Titel des gesamten Programms nahelegt, ging es um die Bereitstellung eines Rahmens, in dem möglichst viele verschiedene Formen der Schaffung und Beobachtung von Zeit Platz finden und in dem unterschiedliche künstlerische Formen auf Kollisionskurs zueinander gehen. Man saß sich (nur nach Anmeldung) beim „Naked Lunch“ gegenüber oder beobachtete gemeinsam in einem Observatorium den Mond und seine langsame Reise durch die Nacht; täglich erschienen auf einer Anzeigetafel am Zaun des Instituts neue kurze Kommentare, Ratschläge oder Anweisungen in Form fünfzeiliger Gedichte; über den Zeitraum einer Woche wurden verschiedene Gemüse- und Obstsorten einem Fermentationsprozess unterzogen, und man räsonierte über die Parallele zwischen Gärung und der Formung eines Gedankens.

Die tägliche Routine des Unterrichtens und Arbeitens am Institut wurde durch überfallartige Interventionen unterbrochen: Performer*innen rollten die Treppe hinauf, klopften flehend gegen die Bibliotheksscheiben oder legten sich unangekündigt quer über den Schreibtisch. Filmpräsentationen, Lesungen und (oft ungeplante) öffentliche Diskussionen produzierten Verdichtungen von Zeit und verwandelten das Goethe-Institut in einen Ort der Kommunikation, der nicht-hierarchischen Auseinandersetzung; in einen öffentlichen Raum, in dem die unterschiedlichsten Formen des Nachdenkens über und des Arbeitens mit dem Material Zeit stattfinden können; und in einen sicheren Freiraum, in dem darüber nachgedacht wird, auf welche Gesellschaft man hinarbeiten will.

Jyothidas KV: „Can You Feel The Bubble“ Jyothidas KV: „Can You Feel The Bubble“ | Foto: Annette Jacob

Die Verwandlung eines Ortes

„Five Million Incidents“ brachte eine Vielzahl von Künstler*innen auf das Gelände, die sowohl den Katalysator*innen des Raqs Media Collectives als auch den Mentor*innen zuvor völlig unbekannt gewesen waren. Mit diesen neuen Akteur*innen kam ein neues Publikum. Zugleich kam es zu zahlreichen Kontakten mit den Sprachschüler*innen, die ansonsten dem Kulturprogramm fernstehen. Angesichts des schrumpfenden öffentlichen Raums in New Delhi und Kolkata und der schwindenden Bedeutung öffentlicher Kulturinstitutionen erwies sich das Projekt bislang als außerordentlich erfolgreich. Ob es auch einen nachhaltigen Akzent zu setzen vermag, wird man nach dem 14. April wissen.

Vikram Iyengar & Anubha Fatehpuria: „Inter/Sections“ Vikram Iyengar & Anubha Fatehpuria: „Inter/Sections“ | Foto: Annette Jacob

Top