Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Activism on the Net
A Democratic Space

The “La Pulla” team
The “La Pulla” team | Photo (detail) CROMOS Magazine/Daniel Alvarez

Colombian journalist Juan Carlos Rincón’s video column “La Pulla” is a big hit. He doesn’t see himself as an activist, but as a champion of digital literacy.

By Ana Luisa González

Inundated with requests from journalists and students – and fans! –, Juan Carlos Rincón decided to delete his WhatsApp account. "Of ten people who write to him, eleven want to talk to him," explains his assistant. For four years now, Rincón has been the editor of the opinion section of Colombia's oldest newspaper, El Espectador, which has been around for over 130 years.
 
Rincón also co-founded several digital projects, including the YouTube channel La Pulla, a political opinion show he runs together with four fellow journalists. La Pulla (Spanish for “The Taunt”) has a huge following, with over 830,000 subscribers and over 80 million views to date. And this El Espectador production has benefited the newspaper itself, too, drawing plenty of new readers. La Pulla fills a gap in the country's mediascape – to tremendous popular acclaim.
 
As Rincón sees it, La Pulla’s success coincides with a political reawakening of the country’s young generation. After eight years under ex-President Álvaro Uribe Vélez (2002–2010), who kept the opposition down and clamped down on free speech, a new collective spirit has emerged, a sense that Colombians no longer need to keep their heads and voices down. And La Pulla is blazing the way for this newfound freedom.
 
In 2016, the La Pulla team received the Simón Bolivar National Prize, the country’s most prestigious journalism award, for a video championing the right of same-sex couples to adopt children. But the video column's reputation extends far beyond Colombia’s borders, and its creators talk about their experiences at symposia all over the world.
 
Those who know him say the 28-year-old is a shy guy. Rincón himself claims to have no "social skills". But you wouldn’t know it from hearing him talk about La Pulla on stage and on camera. At El Espectador he is in charge of the opinion pieces by the newspaper’s editors and over a hundred columnists. He also teaches journalism at the Pontificia Universidad Javeriana in Bogotá – and meets with financial backers to raise funds for the show.
 
"He works at a different pace from the rest of us," says his assistant. "He’s got a thousand projects on his mind at any given time." He owes his success to a knack for presenting complex issues in simple terms. "He reaches the public because they can rely on him for solid, painstaking journalism, for thorough research and checking his facts against various sources," explains his colleague Juan David Torres. "What’s more, Rincón has a keen sense of what interests the public."
 
Rincón learned the tools of the trade whilst studying law at the Universidad de los Andes – especially how to put complex subject-matter across in readily comprehensible terms. His role models were American (and British) comedians and satirical political commentators like Jon Stewart of The Daily Show, Stephen Colbert, Jimmy Fallon, John Oliver, Samantha Bee and Jimmy Kimmel. So Rincón studied the techniques of stand-up comedians – as well as Barack Obama’s rhetorical style.

After his graduation he advocated for LGBTQ rights and eventually opted for a career in journalism. He doesn’t want to be an activist. "I’m an editor and journalist who has an ethical responsibility," he says. "In order to judge something, I have to keep a certain distance." Rincón seeks to accelerate the pace of "digital literacy" through La Pulla and other digital formats. But it’s not only about pedagogy, for he is striving to "restore the Internet” as a “democratic space".
 
Given Colombia’s stark political polarization, Rincón feels his mission is to nurture dialogue rather than to reconcile differences of opinion: the point of La Pulla is not to “bring together opposing views, but to stir up a debate about ideas". He and his team are continually asking themselves how to restore the media’s credibility. Rincon is convinced that "if the object is to rebuild shattered trust, freedom of speech must come first".
 

La Pulla is a YouTube video channel that principally targets a millennial audience. The moderator, María Paulina Baena, takes a critical, even satirical, view on current political issues. La Pulla has become one of the most highly respected and reliable sources of political opinion and analysis in Colombia, for which it has been awarded the prestigious Simón Bolivar National Prize. Its politics are avowedly left-leaning: "We always take sides – though not because we want people to think like us," says Baena, "but because we want to stir up debate.”

 

Kultursymposium Weimar 2019 (Logo) | © Goethe-Institut Kultursymposium Weimar

Juan Carlos Rincón was one of the speakers at the Kultursymposium Weimar in 2019, which, under the title “Recalculating the Route”, brought together guests from all over the world to discuss the great upheavals of our era.

Recalculating the Route – Kultursymposium Weimar 2019

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Aktivismus im Netz
Ein demokratischer Raum

Das Team von „La Pulla“
Das Team von „La Pulla“ | Foto (Detail) CROMOS Magazine/Daniel Alvarez

Mit seiner Videokolumne „La Pulla“ feiert der kolumbianische Journalist Juan Carlos Rincón große Erfolge. Er sieht sich nicht als Aktivist, sondern als Verfechter der digitalen Alphabetisierung.

Von Ana Luisa González

Juan Carlos Rincón löschte seinen WhatsApp-Account, als er sich vor den Anfragen zahlreicher Journalist*innen und Student*innen – und Fans! – nicht mehr retten konnte. „Von zehn Menschen, die ihm schreiben, wollen elf mit ihm sprechen“, erzählt seine Assistentin. Seit vier Jahren ist Rincón Leiter der Rubrik Opinión bei der ältesten Zeitung Kolumbiens – den El Espectador gibt es seit über 130 Jahren.
 
Rincón war überdies Mitbegründer mehrerer digitaler Projekte, unter anderem des YouTube-Kanals La Pulla, eines politischen Meinungsformats, das er mit vier anderen Journalist*innen betreibt. Das Interesse an „Der Stichelei“, so die deutsche Übersetzung, war riesig: Mittlerweile haben über 830.000 Menschen den Kanal abonniert, die Downloads liegen bei mehr als 80 Millionen. Das Projekt ist ein journalistischer Erfolg, von dem auch der El Espectador profitierte. Es bescherte der Zeitung zahlreiche neue Leser*innen. La Pulla füllt in der Medienlandschaft des Landes eine Lücke – und wird vom Publikum gefeiert.
 
Für Rincón fiel der Erfolg von La Pulla mit einem politischen Aufbruch der neuen Generation zusammen. Nach acht Jahren unter dem ehemaligen Präsidenten Álvaro Uribe Vélez (2002–2010), der die Opposition kleinhielt und die freie Meinungsäußerung einschränkte, entstand das neue kollektive Gefühl, dass man in Kolumbien nunmehr nicht mehr mit leiser Stimme sprechen müsse. Auf La Pulla bricht sich diese neue Freiheit Bahn.
 
2016 erhielt das Team von La Pulla den Simón-Bolívar-Nationalpreis – den renommiertesten Journalistenpreis des Landes. Ausgezeichnet wurde ein Video, das sich für das Recht auf Adoption durch gleichgeschlechtliche Paare einsetzt. Der Ruf der Kolumne geht weit über die Grenzen des Landes hinaus, und die Macher von La Pulla berichten über ihre Erfahrungen auf Fachtagungen in aller Welt.
 
Diejenigen, die ihn kennen, sagen, der 28-Jährige sei ein schüchterner Typ. Rincón selbst behauptet, keine „Sozialkompetenzen“ zu besitzen. Doch wenn er auf der Bühne und vor der Kamera über La Pulla spricht, merkt man ihm das nicht an. Beim El Espectador ist er verantwortlich für die Meinungsstücke der Redakteur*innen und mehr als 100 Kolumnist*innen. Er unterrichtet Journalismus an der Pontificia Universidad Javeriana in Bogotá – und trifft sich mit Menschen, die ihm bei der Finanzierung von La Pulla helfen.
 
„Er arbeitet in einem anderen Tempo als wir alle“, erzählt seine Assistentin. „Er hat Tausend Projekte gleichzeitig im Kopf.“ Seinen Erfolg verdankt er seiner Fähigkeit, komplexe Themen auf einfache Weise darzustellen. „Er erreicht die Öffentlichkeit, weil sie sich auf einen soliden und peniblen Journalismus verlassen kann: die gründliche Recherche und den Abgleich verschiedener Quellen“, sagt sein Kollege Juan David Torres. „Darüber hinaus hat Rincón ein feines Gespür für die Interessen des Publikums.“
 
Die Grundlagen des Handwerks lernte er während des Jurastudiums an der Universidad de los Andes – vor allem die Übersetzung komplexer Sachverhalte in eine allgemein verständliche Sprache.Vorbilder waren ihm zudem amerikanische Komiker*innen und Kommentator*innen wie Jon Stewart von „The Daily Show“, Stephen Colbert,  Jimmy Fallon, John Oliver, Samantha Bee oder Jimmy Kimmel. Er analysierte die Redekunst von Barack Obama und beschäftigte sich mit den Methoden von Stand-up-Künstler*innen.

Nach seinem Abschluss engagierte er sich für die Rechte der LGBTQ-Gemeinde und entschied sich schließlich für den Journalismus. Ein Aktivist möchte er nicht sein. „Ich bin Herausgeber und Journalist, der eine ethische Verantwortung trägt“, sagt er von sich selbst. „Und um etwas zu beurteilen, muss ich eine gewisse Distanz haben.“ Mit Projekten wie La Pulla und anderen digitalen Formaten will Rincón die „digitale Alphabetisierung“ beschleunigen. Das hat für ihn nicht nur eine pädagogische Dimension, vielmehr strebt er danach, „das Internet als demokratischen Raum wiederherzustellen“.
 
Vor dem Hintergrund einer tiefen politischen Polarisierung in Kolumbien sieht sich Rincón eher dazu berufen, den Dialog zu fördern, als unterschiedliche Meinungen in Einklang zu bringen. Er selbst behauptet, dass die Beiträge von La Pulla „nicht darauf abzielen, gegensätzliche Positionen zusammenzubringen, sondern eine Debatte über Ideen anzustoßen“. Dabei stellen er und sein Team immer wieder die Frage, wie sich die Glaubwürdigkeit der Medien wiederherstellen lässt. Rincon ist überzeugt: „Wenn es darum geht, zerstörtes Vertrauen wieder herzustellen, muss die freie Meinungsäußerung an erster Stelle stehen.“
 

Der Videokanal La Pulla findet sich auf YouTube und richtet sich vor allem an junge Leute. In kritischer, auch satirischer Art und Weise nimmt sich die Moderatorin María Paulina Baena aktueller politischer Themen an. La Pulla gehört mittlerweile zu den angesehensten, weil verlässlichsten Quellen politischer Meinung und Analyse des Landes und wurde mit dem Simón-Bolívar-Nationalpreis ausgezeichnet. La Pulla verortet sich politisch links: „Wir stehen immer auf einer Seite – aber nicht, weil wir wollen, dass die Leute so denken wie wir“, sagt Baena, „sondern weil wir Debatten anregen wollen.“

 

Kultursymposium Weimar 2019 (Logo) | © Goethe-Institut Kultursymposium Weimar 2019

Juan Carlos Rincón war Teilnehmer des Kultursymposiums Weimar im Jahr 2019. Unter dem Titel „Die Route wird neu berechnet“ versammelte das Symposium Gäste aus aller Welt, um sich über die großen Umbrüche unserer Epoche auszutauschen.

Die Route wird neu berechnet – Kultursymposium Weimar 2019

Top