Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Russia
Independent online reporting is on the line in Russia

Demonstrator in Moscow
In March 2019, thousands of people took to the streets of Moscow again to protest against the clampdown on free speech (this picture was taken in 2017) | Photo (detail): Mladen Antonov/AFP/Getty Images

Russia is increasingly clamping down on free speech. And yet, despite a raft of new gag laws, a diverse independent media scene is persevering – mainly online.

By Tamina Kutscher

Independent media in Russia investigate and report on highly sensitive stories such as who poisoned former Russian-UK double agent Sergei Skripal or corruption at the highest levels of government. Instead of spoon-feeding state propaganda to the masses, they supply worthwhile information and high-calibre journalism to a critically-minded public. Although this sector pales beside the huge sway of state television, which reaches 98 per cent of all Russian households, the independent media scene is nonetheless very diverse.
 
Russia’s non-governmental media can be roughly broken down into three groups: On the one hand, there are news outlets whose content hardly differs from that of their state-run counterparts. Then there are outlets like the Echo of Moscow, a radio station that provides by and large independent reporting even though it is majority-owned by Gazprom-Media, which has close ties to the government.
 
And last but not least, there is the independent media scene, which is diverse, critical, and predominantly online. Some of the established independent media, such as Novaya Gazeta, a critical and investigative newspaper founded in 1993, have both print and online editions. Many others, e.g. Batenka, went straight to the web. Colta.ru, a sort of feuilleton written chiefly by people in culture and the arts, got started through crowdfunding and has likewise been available only on the web since day one. Some online regional media also have nationwide appeal, such as 7 x 7, which is based in the Komi Republic, or Znak in Yekaterinburg. And then there are NGO portals, on whose painstaking investigative work many journalists rely: a case in point is the online civil rights blog OWD-Info’s coverage of the arrests at the 2019 mass protests in Moscow.
 
These independent media have a relatively small reach, however. According to a survey by the Levada polling institute, a mere six percent of the Russian population regularly access media that include critical contributions. “Unfortunately, the new online channels are nowhere near as influential as television,” concedes human rights lawyer Damir Gainutdinov. “On other hand, that’s why they have a relatively large amount of freedom.”
 
Gainutdinov is one of about 50 lawyers who have joined forces in Agora, a human rights NGO that provides legal assistance when websites are blocked, for example, or when activists, bloggers or journalists are physically attacked. Agora also brings cases before the European Court of Human Rights. “These online media get censored all the time,” says Gainutdinov. “They’re always being ordered to delete or rewrite articles and receiving threats that the site will be blocked.” Last summer, for instance, Batenka was ordered by Roskomnadzor, the Russian federal media regulator, to reword several articles on drug abuse and suicide.

Vague legislation

So it comes as little surprise that the Russian Internet is anything but a haven of free speech: Roskomnadzor has plenty of different ways to put the screws on the media. Last spring, for example, the Russian legislature extended the scope of two existing media laws to include the Internet: one against so-called “fake news” and the other against so-called “hate speech”. These statutes are so vaguely worded that “infringements” are easy to find, whereupon Roskomnadzor can block “infringing” sites without further ado.
 
Since 2017, moreover, media can be stigmatized as “foreign agents”. In theory, they need only have received some money from abroad. To be sure, only foreign media have been affected so far, including Radio Svoboda (Radio Liberty) and Golos Ameriki (Voice of America). But this law puts a formidable obstacle in the way of independent media, which, after all, get most of their funding from foreign organizations. So now they have to forego that funding so as not to jeopardize their very existence.
 
In late November 2019 the Duma (lower house of Russian parliament) passed a bill, after the third reading and without a single dissenting vote, stipulating that individuals, too, may be classified as “foreign agents”. Putin signed it into law in December. The new legislation is so broadly worded that, in principle, anyone who publicly reposts content from “foreign agent media” and also receives money from abroad – even from relatives – may be deemed a “foreign agent”. The Duma deputies say the new law is a response to corresponding US legislation. Employees of blacklisted “foreign agent media” now have serious cause for concern.
 
Leonid Levin, one of the drafters of the law, declared that people who write about sports or music have nothing to fear – and that Russian bloggers certainly don’t either. But such ostensibly reassuring statements are not legally binding, and this wouldn’t be the first vaguely phrased media law to be applied selectively and arbitrarily, and to cause widespread anxiety and self-censorship as a result.
 
To escape from the crackdown, some independent Russian media are going abroad. In 2014, Galina Timchenko, editor-in-chief of the successful independent website Lenta.ru, was cautioned against “spreading extremist content” after an interview with one of the leaders of the Right Sector, a Ukrainian far-right nationalist party and paramilitary movement. The Russian authorities can shut down a site after two warnings. So Timchenko fled to Riga, Latvia, along with a number of the editorial staff, and went back online as Meduza, which is now one of the most successful online media in the Russian language. Meduza has an investigative department in Moscow, but no office of its own there. “The fact that Meduza is based in Riga protects us against having our editorial offices potentially raided and trashed,” explains investigative department chief Alexei Kovalev.
 
For a long time, international social media and platforms like Telegram and YouTube seemed safe, far enough away from the clutches of the Russian state. They rapidly gained popularity and served as a mouthpiece for a critical Russian public. Blogger Yury Dud gained fame for his cheeky interviews of Russian public figures. And millions have seen his video-reportages on officially taboo or restricted subjects such as Stalin’s Gulag labour camps in Siberian Kolyma (over 17.6 million views on YouTube as per October 2019).
 
Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny, described by some as “Russia’s best investigative journalist who is not a journalist at all”, posts videos about Russian corruption on YouTube. In 2017, he and his Anti-Corruption Foundation revealed the sources of ex-president Dmitry Medvedev’s ill-gotten riches, sparking nationwide protests against corruption. 

Punishing online criticism of state and church

But the Russian state is increasingly clamping down on these platforms, e.g. by intimidating viewers: in 2017, 411 viewers were prosecuted, in many cases for “liking” or sharing content critical of Russian policies on Ukraine or Syria or of the Russian Orthodox Church.
 
In November 2019, the Duma passed a law to fine Internet companies like Facebook or Twitter up to 18 million roubles (roughly €255,000) if they refuse to store users’ information on Russian servers. “The next step will be to impose heavy fines for other ‘violations’,” forecasts Damir Gainutdinov, “such as failing to remove prohibited content or divulge user information.”
 
Such penalties, he adds, are always a signal hat the existing mechanisms are not sufficient to compel international platforms to cooperate fully with the government. “That’s why there’s a new law to isolate the Runet,” says Gainutdinov. Despite nationwide protests that drew thousands to the streets again last spring, the law took effect on 1 November 2019. The official spin is that it’s necessary, in view of US sanctions, to prevent a blockade of the Russian Internet. Actually, it gives the authorities a number of new tools with which to control and block Internet access: among other things, it forces providers to cooperate with the state.
 
The human rights organization Reporters Without Borders, which recently published a report on Internet Censorship and Surveillance in Russia, is concerned about these new efforts to isolate Russia: “These are clearly scare tactics in the making,” warns press officer Ulrike Gruska, “even if it’s not yet clear whether the government’s plans are technically feasible at all.” And yet, despite this whole barrage of threats and fetters on free speech, independent media and journalists in Russia are still making the most of what freedoms remain – at least for the time being.
 
The Goethe-Institut joined forces with the independent portal Colta.ru in the project “The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media”. Designed mainly for young people, this information and education project is also for media professionals, teachers and anyone who wants to gain a better understanding of the media.
 www.howtoreadmedia.ru
 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Russland
Digitaler Druck

Demonstrantin in Moskau
Auch im März 2019 demonstrierten in Moskau wieder Tausende Menschen gegen die Einschränkung der Meinungsfreiheit (dieses Bild stammt aus 2017) | Foto (Detail): Mladen Antonov/AFP/Getty Images

Die Meinungsfreiheit wird in Russland immer mehr eingeschränkt. Zugleich gibt es vor allem online eine vielfältige Szene unabhängiger Medien – aber auch neue, restriktive Gesetze.

Von Tamina Kutscher

Sie recherchieren und berichten über die Identität der Attentäter auf den Ex-Agenten Sergej Skripal oder über Korruption auf höchster Staatsebene – unabhängige Medien in Russland. Sie bieten einer kritischen Öffentlichkeit wertvolle Informationen und hochwertigen Journalismus anstelle staatlicher Propaganda. Auch wenn diese Szene gerade im Verhältnis zum Staatsfernsehen, das 98 Prozent aller Haushalte erreicht, klein ist, ist sie doch sehr vielfältig.
 
Grob kann man die nicht-staatlichen Medien des Landes in drei Gruppen gliedern: Einmal sind es jene, die sich inhaltlich kaum von denen in Staatshand unterscheiden. Dann gibt es solche wie den Radiosender Echo Moskwy, der weitgehend unabhängig berichtet – obwohl der Mehrheitseigentümer die staatsnahe Gazprom-Media Holding ist. Nicht zuletzt ist da eine Szene unabhängiger Medien. Sie ist bunt, kritisch – und vor allem online vertreten.
 
Etablierte Medien haben neben der Print- auch eine Onlineausgabe, etwa die 1993 gegründete kritische und investigative Novaya Gazeta. Viele unabhängige Medien jedoch entstanden gleich online, zum Beispiel Batenka. Auch das feuilletonistische Colta.ru, für das vor allem Kulturschaffende schreiben und das sich zunächst über Crowdfunding finanzierte, gibt es von Beginn an nur im Netz. Dort finden sich außerdem auch regionale Medien mit überregionaler Ausstrahlung: wie 7 x 7 in der Republik Komi oder Znak aus Jekaterinburg. Hinzu kommen Portale von Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NGOs), auf deren akribische Recherche sich viele Journalist*innen stützen – etwa die der OWD-Info nach den Verhaftungen bei den Moskauer Massenprotesten in diesem Jahr.
 
Die Reichweite dieser unabhängigen Medien ist jedoch relativ klein. Einer Umfrage des Meinungsforschungsinstituts Lewada zufolge informieren sich gerade mal sechs Prozent der Bevölkerung regelmäßig in mehreren Medien, die auch kritische Beiträge bringen. „Leider sind die neuen Onlinekanäle längst nicht so einflussreich wie das Fernsehen“, berichtet Damir Gainutdinow. „Deswegen haben sie allerdings auch vergleichsweise viele Freiheiten.“
 
Gainutdinow ist einer von rund 50 Jurist*innen, die sich bei „Agora“ zusammengeschlossen haben. Die Menschenrechtsorganisation leistet juristischen Beistand, etwa wenn Seiten blockiert wurden, aber auch bei physischen Angriffen auf Aktivist*innen, Blogger*innen oder Journalist*innen. Einzelne Fälle bringt die NGO auch vor den Europäischen Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte. „Auch diese Onlinemedien haben ständig mit Zensur zu tun, sollen Beiträge löschen oder umschreiben“, betont Gainutdinow. „Dabei wird immer wieder damit gedroht, die Seite zu blockieren.“ So habe etwa Batenka im Sommer auf Geheiß der Medienaufsichtsbehörde Roskomnadsor Artikel über Drogenmissbrauch und Suizid mehrfach umformulieren müssen.

Schwammig formulierte Paragrafen

Wer sich das russische Internet als Hort der Meinungsfreiheit vorstellt, wird also enttäuscht: Tatsächlich verfügt Roskomnadsor über zahlreiche Instrumente, um Medien unter Druck zu setzen. So hat der Gesetzgeber zwei bestehende Mediengesetze im Frühjahr 2019 auch auf das Internet ausgeweitet: eines gegen sogenannte Fake News und eines, das sich gegen Hate Speech richtet. Solche Paragrafen sind äußerst schwammig formuliert, entsprechend einfach kann ein „Verstoß“ gefunden werden. Dann kann Roskomnadsor das Sperren von Seiten anordnen.
 
Seit 2017 können Medien außerdem als „ausländische Agenten“ stigmatisiert werden. Theoretisch reicht dafür, Geld aus dem Ausland erhalten zu haben. Bislang sind zwar ausschließlich Auslandsmedien betroffen, darunter Radio Svoboda (Radio Liberty) und Golos Ameriki (Voice of America). Für unabhängige Medien bedeutet das Gesetz aber eine große Hürde – gerade, wenn es um die Finanzierung geht. Schließlich kommen viele Fördermittel von ausländischen Organisationen. Gelder, auf die russische Medien verzichten müssen, wenn sie ihre Existenz nicht gefährden wollen.
 
Die Aufregung war groß, als die Duma, die russische Volkskammer, Ende November 2019 beschloss, dass künftig auch einzelne Personen als „ausländische Agenten“ eingestuft werden können. Das Gesetz ist so breit formuliert, dass im Prinzip jeder, der Inhalte von „ausländischen Agenten“-Medien öffentlich repostet und außerdem Geld aus dem Ausland erhält – und sei es von Verwandten –, entsprechend eingestuft werden kann. Duma-Abgeordnete erklärten, dass das Gesetz als Antwort auf US-amerikanische Gesetze zu verstehen sei. Nun müssen sich Mitarbeiter*innen derjenigen Auslandsmedien sorgen, die bereits als „ausländische Agenten“ gelistet sind.
 
Leonid Lewin, einer der Autoren des Gesetzes, erklärte zudem, wer über Sport oder Musik schreibe, habe nichts zu befürchten – und russische Blogger*innen schon gar nicht. Solche Aussagen sind rechtlich nicht bindend und sorgen vielmehr für Unruhe: Es wäre nicht das erste Mediengesetz, das, unklar formuliert, selektiv und willkürlich angewandt wird und gerade so Angst und Selbstzensur steigert. Ende November hat die Duma das Gesetz in dritter Lesung angenommen. Ohne Gegenstimme. Mit der Unterschrift Putins trat es Anfang Dezember in Kraft.
 
Um dem Druck zu entgehen, wandern manche unabhängige Medien auch ins Ausland ab. Galina Timtschenko war Chefredakteurin der erfolgreichen, unabhängigen Website Lenta.ru, als sie 2014 wegen „Verbreitung extremistischer Inhalte“ verwarnt wurde. Hintergrund war ein Interview mit einem Anführer des ukrainischen Rechten Sektors. Nach zwei Verwarnungen kann die Medienaufsichtsbehörde ein Medium schließen. Timtschenko ging ins lettische Riga und mit ihr ein großer Teil der Redaktion, um online wieder neu aufzuerstehen: Meduza ist inzwischen eines der erfolgreichsten russischsprachigen Onlinemedien und leistet sich auch ein Investigativressort – in Moskau, allerdings ohne eigenes Büro dort. „Dass Meduza in Riga sitzt, schützt uns vor potenziellen Durchsuchungen und Verwüstungen der Redaktionsräume“, erklärte Alexej Kowaljow, Leiter des Investigativressorts kürzlich.
 
Internationale soziale Medien und Plattformen wie Telegram und YouTube schienen lange Zeit entfernt genug vom Arm des russischen Gesetzgebers. Sie gewannen schnell an Popularität und dienen als Sprachrohr für eine kritische russische Öffentlichkeit. Der Blogger Juri Dud etwa wurde mit Videos berühmt, in denen er frisch und frech prominente russische Persönlichkeiten interviewt. Millionenfach abgerufen sind auf YouTube aber auch seine kritischen Videoreportagen zu offiziell tabuisierten oder reglementierten Themen wie dem stalinschen Terror in Kolyma (mehr als 17,6 Millionen Aufrufe, Stand Oktober 2019).
 
Oppositionspolitiker Alexej Nawalny, von manchen als „Russlands bester Investigativjournalist, der gar kein Journalist ist“, bezeichnet, veröffentlicht auf YouTube Recherchen seines Fonds für Korruptionsbekämpfung. 2017 deckte er unter anderem illegale Reichtümer von Ex-Präsident Dmitri Medwedew auf, was landesweite Massenproteste gegen Korruption auslöste.

Kritik an Staat und Kirche werden bestraft

Doch auch gegen diese Plattformen geht der russische Staat vermehrt vor – etwa, indem er ihre User*innen einschüchtert: 2017 wurden 411 Nutzer*innen strafrechtlich verfolgt – oft, weil sie Inhalte geteilt oder mit einem Like versehen hatten, die entweder die russische Ukraine- oder Syrienpolitik oder aber die orthodoxe Kirche kritisierten.
 
Unterdessen beschloss die Duma Ende November 2019 ein Gesetz, das für Internetkonzerne wie Facebook oder Twitter Strafen von bis zu 18 Millionen Rubel (rund 255 000 Euro) vorsieht, sollten sie sich weigern, die Daten ihrer User*innen auf russischen Servern zu speichern. „Der nächste Schritt wird die Einführung hoher Bußgelder für andere „Verstöße“ sein, etwa, wenn verbotene Informationen nicht entfernt oder Benutzerdaten nicht herausgegeben werden“, befürchtet Damir Gainutdinow.
 
Solche Strafen seien außerdem immer auch ein Signal an die Staatsführung, dass die bestehenden Mechanismen nicht ausreichten, um internationale Plattformen zu einer engen Zusammenarbeit zu verpflichten. „Deswegen gibt es jetzt das Gesetz über die Isolierung des RuNet“, so Gainutdinow. Dieses Gesetz trat am 1. November 2019 in Kraft. Im Frühjahr noch gingen Tausende landesweit dagegen auf die Straße. Offiziell heißt es, ein solches Gesetz sei nötig, um vor dem Hintergrund der US-Sanktionen eine Blockade des russischen Internets zu verhindern. Faktisch bringt es den Behörden zahlreiche neue Kontrollund Sperrmöglichkeiten, etwa weil es Provider zur Kooperation mit dem Staat verpflichtet.
 
Die Menschenrechtsorganisation „Reporter ohne Grenzen“, die jüngst einen Bericht zur Internetzensur veröffentlichte, beobachtet das Vorhaben entsprechend mit Sorge: „Da wird ganz klar eine Drohkulisse aufgebaut“, betont die Pressereferentin Ulrike Gruska, „auch wenn noch nicht klar ist, ob sich die Pläne der Regierung technisch überhaupt umsetzen lassen.“ Unabhängige Medien und Journalist*innen in Russland sehen sich mit diesen Bedrohungsszenarien und Einschränkungen konfrontiert – und loten die Freiräume aus, die es gibt. Noch.
 
Gemeinsam mit dem Portal Colta.ru realisierte das Goethe-Institut das Projekt „The Earth Is Flat – How to Read Media?“. Das Informations- und Bildungsprojekt richtet sich vor allem an Jugendliche, aber auch an Medienfachleute, Lehrkräfte und alle, die Medien besser verstehen wollen:
 www.howtoreadmedia.ru

Top