Nowosibirsk
Art Games

Art Games - Nowosibirsk © Academpark

Open Call
Art Games in Nowosibirsk

Submission of applications is open until September 15, 2017
 

​Become a part of a worldwide game jam network! Explore the intersection of games, art, and society! Go to Germany and connect with the game jammers from all over the world!
 
The Goethe-Institut Novosibirsk invites game developers, designers, artists, and other representatives of the creative class to take part in the 48-hour game jam ART GAMES in Novosibirsk on October 6–8, reflect on society and art, and develop their play-expression. Everyone is guaranteed the fun of teamwork and joint creativity, and two participants of the winning team will go on a trip to Germany!
 
Today, the digital world is an integral part of everyday life and an independent social force. Novosibirsk is the birthplace of world-famous mathematicians, and today, it also has a well-developed information technology sphere.
 
The game jam will be held in Technopark of Novosibirsk Akademgorodok on October 6–8, 2017. It is a part of the worldwide series of jams ART GAMES, which take place in eight cities (including Mexico City, Seoul, Boston, and Sao Paulo) and accompany the exhibition “Games and Politics”. In Novosibirsk, the exhibition will take place in the Pobeda Center of Culture and Recreation from October 12 to November 5, 2017. The moderator of the game jam will be Johannes Christmann, a representative of the award-winning development company Maschinen-Mensch. Participants will come together and have 48 hours to develop games with a theme to be announced that day. At the end of the allotted time, the results will be presented and discussed at the plenum, the local jury will select the top three teams, and the international jury of game experts from Germany will determine the winner. They will choose one of the teams for further mentoring and will allow two representatives of the winning team to go to Germany to an exhibition of interactive games and entertainment (most likely GamesCom 2018) to present their game to a group of international experts and activists from the local game scene, and also meet representatives from all the other winning teams around the world. Note that every game, no matter who wins, will be presented on the website of the game jam ART GAMES: www.goethe.de/artgames.
 
Applications are accepted from everyone interested in game development. Participation in the game jam is free. The Project Committee will select participants from among all who apply by September 15, 2017. To fill out the registration form, please go here.
 
A game jam is a meeting of game developers in order to plan, design, and create one or more games in a short time. Most often, programmers and game designers play the role of developers. In our case, we also invite creative people and artists to try to go beyond traditional game design.
 
What: a game jam, in which participants will develop their own serious game in the field of art, politics and digital games. The secret theme will be announced at the start.
 
Where: Novosibirsk, Academpark, „Boiling Point“ (Nikolaeva 11, 13 floor)
 
When: 48 hours, from October 6 to October 8, 2017.
 
Who: Programmers, game designers, artists, musicians, screenwriters, film directors, and everyone else who is interested in game development / experience will be useful / basic knowledge of English will be useful, but not required / the project committee will select participants from among all applications.
 
Price: Participation in the game jam is free! The organizers will provide meals (on Friday evening: dinner / Saturday: breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinner / Sunday: breakfast, lunch, snacks). There will be a place to rest and sleep.
 
What to bring: a laptop, power cords or a charger, the necessary software and tools, and in addition, if you like, your favorite cup, a pillow, and a sleeping bag!
 
Prize: The jury will announce the top three teams on October 8. The winning game will be selected by the international jury. The team will receive professional mentoring to develop the final product; two representatives of the winning team will be invited to Germany in 2018.
 
Submission of applications: Please fill in the application form. Submission of applications is open until September 15, 2017. Participants who have passed the selection will be notified by September 20, 2017. Applications can be submitted after the deadline, but priority will be given to applications submitted on time.
 
The game jam ART GAMES is organized by the Goethe-Institut, the Maschinen-Mensch bureau, the Academpark and GameDev Events Nsk and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Germany.

Nowosibirsk
Art Games

Art Games - Nowosibirsk © Academpark

Open Call
Art Games in Nowosibirsk

Bewerbungsfrist: bis zum 15. September 2017 
 

​Wie wird man Teil des weltweit vernetzten Game Jam? Wie entdeckt man das Zusammenspiel von Games, Kunst und Politik? Wie gewinnt man, gemeinsam mit Game Jammern aus aller Welt, eine Reise nach Deutschland?

Das Goethe-Institut Nowosibirsk lädt Game-Entwickler, Designer, Künstler und andere kreative Köpfe zu den 48-stündigen Game Jam ART GAMES ein, die vom 6. bis 8. Oktober in Nowosibirsk stattfinden. Dabei werden künstlerische und politische Implikationen des Game Jam reflektiert und in Teamarbeit ein eigenes Spiel entwickelt. Auf zwei Mitglieder der Gewinnermannschaft wartet eine Reise nach Deutschland.
 
Die digitale Welt ist heute ein selbstverständlicher Bestandteil unseres Alltags und eine ganz eigenständige gesellschaftliche Kraft. Das gilt für Nowosibirsk in besonderem Maße. Die Stadt ist schon lange die Heimat weltberühmter Mathematiker und beherbergt heute eine überaus elaborierte IT-Szene.
 
Der Game Jam, der vom 6. bis 8. Oktober 2017 im Technopark von Akademgorodok Nowosibirsk stattfindet, ist Teil der weltweit ausgerichteten Veranstaltungsreihe Game Jams ART GAMES. Sie führt, begleitend zur Ausstellung „Games and Politics“ in acht Städte, darunter Mexico City, Seoul, Boston und Sao Paolo. Die Ausstellung wird vom 12. Oktober bis 5. November 2017 im Nowosibirsker Kultur- und Leisurezentrum „Pobeda“ zu sehen. Moderiert wird der Game Jam von Johannes Kristmann von „Maschinen-Mensch“, einem preisgekrönten Indie-Game-Entwickler Studio aus Berlin. Die Teilnehmer des Game Jams werden vor Ort in mehrere Teams aufgeteilt, mit denen sie innerhalb von 48 Stunden Spiele zu einem Thema entwickeln, das zu Beginn des Game Jams bekannt gegeben wird. Nach Ablauf dieser Zeit werden die Ergebnisse im Plenum präsentiert und besprochen. Dann trifft eine lokale Jury eine Vorauswahl von drei Gewinnerteams. Eine international zusammengesetzte Jury für Art Games wählt dann das endgültige Gewinnerteam aus, welches eingeladen ist, mit einem deutschen Mentor an der Weiterentwicklung seines Games zu arbeiten. Zwei Repräsentanten des Gewinnerteams erhalten die Möglichkeit, ihr fertiges Game einer Gruppe von internationalen Experten und Machern aus der Gamingszene vorzustellen und es auch auf einer internationalen Game Convention (voraussichtlich GamesCon 2018) zu präsentieren. Dabei stehen auch Treffen mit Gewinnerteams aus anderen Ländern auf dem Programm.  Unabhängig davon, wer das Game Jam schließlich gewonnen hat, werden alle dort entwickelten Spiele auf der ART-GAMES-Website des Goethe-Instituts (goethe.de/artgames) vorgestellt.

Alle Interessierten sind herzlich eingeladen sich bis zum 15. September zu bewerben. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos. Das Projektteam wählt aus allen Anmeldungen die Teilnehmer. Bitte füllen Sie dazu das Bewerbungsformular unter dem folgenden Link aus.
 
Ein Game Jam ist ein Treffen von Game Entwicklern, das der Planung und Umsetzung von einem oder mehreren Games in einer kurzen und festgesetzten Frist dient. Unter Game Entwicklern werden in der Regel Programmierer und Game Designer verstanden. In unserem Fall laden wir auch andere kreative Köpfe und Künstler dazu ein, den Rahmen des traditionellen Game Design zu erweitern.
 
Was: Ein Game Jam, bei dem die Teilnehmer ein komplettes Game innerhalb des Themenbereichs Kunst und Politik entwickeln. Das genaue Thema ist noch geheim und wird erst am ersten Abend bekannt gegeben.
 
Wo: Nowosibirsk, Akadempark, „Siedepunkt“ (Nikolaewa str., 11, Etage 13)
 
Wann: 48 Stunden vom 6. bis 8. Oktober 2017

Wer: Programmierer, Game Designer, Künstler, Musiker, Drehbuchautoren, Regisseure und alle anderen, die in der Szene tätig sind oder sich dafür interessieren. Erfahrung ist hilfreich, auch grundlegende Englischkenntnisse von Nutzen aber nicht unbedingt nötig. Das Projektteam wählt die Teilnehmer der Veranstaltung aus.
 
Kosten: Die Teilnahme am Game Jam ist kostenlos. Die Verkostung ebenfalls (Freitagabend: Abendessen / Samstag: Frühstück, Mittagessen, Snacks, Abendessen / Sonntag: Frühstück, Mittagessen, Snacks). Außerdem wird es Platz zum Ausruhen und Schlafen geben.
 
Mitzubringen: das komplette Equipment wie PC/Laptop, Ladekabel, notwendige Programmsoftware und Instrumente; ansonsten je nach Wunsch Lieblingstasse, Schlafkissen und Schlafsack.
 
Preis: Eine Jury wird eine Vorauswahl von drei Gewinnerteams am 8. Oktober bekannt geben. Die Gewinner des Wettbewerbs werden von einer internationalen Art Games Jury bestimmt. Sie bekommen ein professionelles Mentoring von Experten für die Entwicklung ihres finalen Gaming-Produktes. Zwei Vertreter des Gewinnerteams werden Mitte 2018 nach Deutschland eingeladen.

Bewerbung: Bitte füllen Sie das Formular aus. Die Bewerbungsfrist läuft bis zum 15. September 2017. Die ausgewählten Teilnehmer werden bis zum 20. September 2017 benachrichtigt. Auch verspätete Bewerbungen werden aufgenommen. Vorrang haben aber die rechzeitig eingegangen Bewerbungen.

Der Game Jam ART GAMES ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts in Kooperation mit Maschinen-Mensch, Akadempark und GameDev Events Nsk, gefördert vom Auswärtigen Amt.