São Paulo High FIVE: the fifth Game Jam in São Paulo

The fifth Game Jam of the ART GAMES series took place in São Paulo. From 23 to 25 June, 2017, 47 game developers, artists, musicians and games enthusiasts from other areas foregathered at the Goethe-Institut São Paulo to develop games together.

Some of the participants brought with them a lot of experience; others were at a Game Jam for the first time. “I’ve always wanted to participate in a Game Jam, but didn’t dare before, since I study humanities and don’t come from the area. So I thought it was great that this Game Jam expressly sought people without proven previous knowledge”, said one of the participants at the kickoff to the Jam. Others thought it great that the Jam focused on games with a social-critical potential: “This is exactly what I’ve been waiting for”, said the journalist and writer Ian Quint Leisner. “Computer games could change the world – I’m convinced of that. When I saw the announcement for the Jam, I absolutely wanted to be there. To entertain people and at the same time stimulate them to thought is for me the perfect combination.”

Prof. Gilson Schwartz, a media scientist at the Universidade de São Paulo, gave an introductory lecture on the emancipatory potential of play in the tradition of Schiller: play as an experience of wholeness and freedom. From this he even derived the theme of the Game Jams: emancipation. After the first brainstorming, the participants quickly got together into eleven groups and the actual Game Jam could begin. The ideas for the games were as diverse and exciting as the concentration of the participants was intense, ranging from impressive VR simulations and complex political games in which the players voted by lifting up their mobile phones to a moving virtual museum about coming-out experiences.

In the following 48 hours the jammers spread themselves out over the entire institute and could be found in the library, cafeteria, auditorium, garden, hammocks hung in the reading garden and in the corridors. On Sunday afternoon, the proud groups presented their results amid cheers before all the games were played together. Late into the evening, the participants discussed and celebrated the shared art of games. Not without pride, a game developer announced that, for the first time, one of her games moved a player to tears.

Finally, a jury consisting of Sérgio Nesteriuk, Professor of Game Design at the Universidade Anhembi Morumbi and curator of the BIG Festival for Independent Games in São Paulo; Claudio Gusmão, Professor of Animation at the Universidade Anhembi Morumbi; Eduardo Cachucho, a visual artist from South Africa; and Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Regional Director of the Goethe-Institute in South America, chose four games: The Fire Inside, Link, A.M.E. and Freeman. The jury in Germany, to which the games of all Jams are submitted for final selection, plumped for Link. The game will be presented in Germany in 2018. Independently of the jury’s choice, one thing is certain: the acquaintances made and networks established during ART GAMES will continue long after the Game Jam itself.

São Paulo High FIVE: der fünfte Game Jam in São Paulo

Der fünfte Game Jam der ART GAMES-Reihe fand in Sao Paulo statt. Vom 23. bis 25. Juni 2017 kamen 47 Spieleentwickler*innen, Künstler*innen, Musiker*innen und Spielebegeisterte aus anderen Bereichen im Goethe-Institut São Paulo zusammen, um gemeinsam Spiele zu entwickeln.

Einige der Teilnehmenden brachten viel Erfahrung mit, andere waren zum ersten Mal bei einem Game Jam dabei. „Ich wollte schon immer mal bei einem Game Jam mitmachen, habe mich bisher aber nicht getraut, da ich als Geisteswissenschaftler nicht aus dem Bereich komme. Daher fand ich es toll, dass für diesen Game Jam auch explizit nach Personen ohne ausgewiesene Vorkenntnisse gesucht wurde“, sagte ein Teilnehmer zum Auftakt des Jams. Andere fanden es toll, dass sich der Jam auf Spiele mit gesellschaftskritischem Potenzial fokussiert: „Das ist genau das, worauf ich immer gewartet habe“, sagt der Journalist und Autor Ian Quint Leisner. „Computerspiele können die Welt verändern, davon bin ich überzeugt. Als ich die Ausschreibung für den Jam gesehen habe, wollte ich unbedingt dabei sein. Menschen zu unterhalten und gleichzeitig zum Denken anzuregen, das ist für mich die perfekte Kombination.“

Prof. Gilson Schwartz, Medienwissenschaftler an der Universidade de São Paulo, hielt den Einführungsvortrag über das emanzipatorische Potenzial des Spielens in der Tradition Schillers – Spielen als Erfahrung der Ganzheitlichkeit und Freiheit. Daraus leitete sich auch das Thema des Game Jams ab: Emanzipation. Nach dem ersten Brainstorming fanden sich die Teilnehmenden schnell zu elf Gruppen zusammen und der eigentliche Game Jam konnte beginnen. Die Ideen der Spiele waren dabei so vielfältig und spannend wie die Teilnehmenden: von eindrucksvollen VR-Simulationen, über komplexe Politikspiele bei denen die Mitspielenden durch das Emporstrecken ihres Mobiltelefons abstimmten, bis hin zu einem berührenden virtuellen Museum über coming-out-Erfahrungen arbeiteten die Gruppen hochkonzentriert an ihren Ideen.

In den folgenden 48 Stunden verteilten sich die Jamer*innen über das gesamte Institut und waren in der Bibliothek, in der Cafeteria, im Auditorium, im Garten, in den Hängematten des Lesegartens und in den Fluren anzutreffen. Am Sonntagnachmittag präsentierten die stolzen Gruppen unter Jubel ihre Ergebnisse, bevor alle Spiele gemeinsam gespielt wurden. Noch bis in die späten Abendstunden wurde die gemeinsame Spielekunst besprochen und zelebriert. Nicht ohne Stolz verkündete eine Spieleentwicklerin, dass zum ersten Mal eines ihrer Spiel einen Spieler zu Tränen gerührt hatte.

Schließlich entschieden sich Sérgio Nesteriuk, Professor für Gamedesign an der Universidade Anhembi Morumbi und Kurator des BIG Festivals für Independent Games in São Paulo; Claudio Gusmão, Professor für Animation an der Universidade Anhembi Morumbi; Eduardo Cachucho, bildender Künstler aus Südafrika, und Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte, Regionalleiterin der Goethe-Institute in Südamerika, für vier Spiele: „The Fire Inside“, „Link“, „A.M.E.“ und „Freeman“. Die Jury in Deutschland wiederum, der die Spiele aller Jams zur finalen Auswahl vorgelegt werden, entschieden sich für: „Link“. Das Spiel wird nun 2018 in Deutschland präsentiert. Unabhängig von der Jurywahl steht fest: Die während ART GAMES geschlossenen Bekanntschaften und Netzwerke bleiben noch lange nach dem Game Jam bestehen.