A MAZE. / Berlin Festival
an international game jam network meets in Berlin

Mexico City, Seoul, Boston, Jakarta, São Paulo, Novosibirsk, Athens, and Bangkok: for eight game jams all over the world, ART GAMES united programmers and game developers as well as artists and creatives. Drawing from their diversity, they developed (digital) games which renegotiate the boundaries between art, politics, and games. How can artistic strategies expand the scope of games or transcend the limits of game designs? What are the underlying politics of the gaming industry? And how can game practices be used to challenge and advance political processes?

A selection of games from each location, chosen by a jury, will be exhibited at the international A MAZE. / Berlin Festival from April 25 to 29, 2018. Participants and partners from eight countries will travel to Germany to metamorphose the global virtual network of ART GAMES into an analogue one.

Additionally, a documentary film about the project, “Art, Games, Politics,” will premiere at the festival featuring highlights of the game jams at each location and exploring the mind-sets of the game creators.

SAVE THE DATES

April 25, 2018
ART GAMES - Panel at Quo Vadis
Station Berlin / Luckenwalder Str. 4-6 / 10963 Berlin

Opening A MAZE. / Berlin Festival 
Urban Spree / Revaler Strasse 99 / 10245 Berlin

April 26, 2018
ART GAMES – Panel at A MAZE. / Berlin Festival 
Urban Spree / Revaler Strasse 99 / 10245 Berlin

ART GAMES is a project of the Goethe-Institut in cooperation with Maschinen-Mensch and is sponsored by the Federal Foreign Office of Germany.

A MAZE. / Berlin Festival is an international festival focusing on the art and culture of games and playful media. A MAZE. / Berlin Festival invites the general public to experience inspiring talks and workshops, four nights of music, and a life changing exhibition.

A MAZE. Festival
 

Games

circled. © Pablo Francisco Montes Romero

circled.

circled. is an experimental abstract game which criticizes how we approach interpersonal relationships and explores social issues, such as rejection, social adaptation, social pressure, personality shifts, identity loss, and destructive behaviours. How much are you willing to compromise to be part of a group? Is it fair to sacrifice our identity for the sake of social adaptation?

Sunshine © TEAM SS

Sunshine

In SunShine, players will encounter an extremely incomplete utopia, a virtual reality space. Unlike mainstream game designs, the graphics in this game are not cute but cool and violent. It presents a platform on which every unit is closely interconnected to form an utopia on a virtual planet. Build your own utopia, let it flourish and protect it!

2984 Little Brother © Myung-jin Yang , Youngjoo Yoo, Ga-young An, Jaemin Park, Deokwon Kim

2984 Little Brother

2984 Little Brother is set a thousand years after George Orwell's 1984. After humans have destroyed the Earth, some escaped to a planet called Utopia. The Utopia Union comprises many tribes who named themselves ‘Little Brothers'. A direct democracy is at work and citizens participate in politics through nine interactive ‘telescreens’. You are one of the Little Brothers. What does your utopia look like?

Struggling Dreams © Jeff Campbell, Aslanta Chen, Joe Marchuk, Dan Williams

Struggling Dreams

Every choice entails a hidden cost in the consequences that we have to bear for making it. However, we are uncapable of ever predicting the outcome and foreseeing our destiny, as everything we have and everything we know is always tied to the present. We are forced to make these choices blindly. Some would say that’s unfair, but we would say: That's the joy of the ride.

Babel-o-Rama © timbell

Babel-o-Rama

Babel-o-Rama experiments with the format of multiplayer games on a mobile platform. Three or more players can join to solve word puzzles together. Their shared dictionary will continuously expand by cooperation and teamwork.

Choo-Choose © Team Choo-Choose

Choo-Choose

Every choice entails a hidden cost in the consequences that we have to bear for making it. However, we are uncapable of ever predicting the outcome and foreseeing our destiny, as everything we have and everything we know is always tied to the present. We are forced to make these choices blindly. Some would say that’s unfair, but we would say: That's the joy of the ride.

Make it rain © Saranpat Sereewiwattana

Make It Rain

Make It Rain criticises corruptive systems by provoking its players to corrupt their opponents. Inspired by true events, players are prompted to rain money on police officers and the military in order to get away with the crimes committed. In this way, it sheds light on the fragility of legal systems in the face of financial fortunes.

Status © Tasos Protopapas, Michalis Lygiaris, Kiprianos Skafidas, Haralabos Andrianidis

Status

Status is an analogue game that explores the relations between politics and people. The basic idea is derived from the limited nature of resources as well as the notion of ‘status’ as a measuring unit within society. As a player, you have to overtake others in order to secure your own place in the social system. In doing so, this game questions hierarchical structures, economical positions and ethics in a position of power.

Cacophony © Christina Chrysanthopoulou

Cacophony

Cacophony is a virtual reality experience that explores the importance of forming opinions independently and the complexity of freedom of speech. As a conductor of a choir of disparate voices, the responsibility to navigate and guide the flow of information becomes evident as well as the state of perversion of truth that results from living within one's secluded, personal bubble of information.

Chain Reaction © André Mariano

Chain Reaction

Four individuals are imprisoned for their different selfish crimes against their tribe. Mislead to think they found an escape route, they trail through a dungeon that turns out to be their tribe’s concept of judgement and trial. Chained to each other, they have to co-ordinate their movements to escape and learn anew how to socialize.

A MAZE. / Berlin Festival
ART GAMES – ein globales Game Jam - Netzwerk trifft sich in Berlin

Mexiko-Stadt, Seoul, Boston, Jakarta, São Paulo, Nowosibirsk, Athen und Bangkok: auf acht Game Jams weltweit vereinte ART GAMES Programmierer*innen und Spielentwickler*innen mit Künstler*innen und Kreativen. Bei dieser interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit sind (digitale) Spiele entstanden, die die Grenzen zwischen Kunst, Politik und Spiel neu verhandeln. Inwiefern können künstlerische Strategien den Gestaltungsraum oder das Regelwerk von Spielen erweitern? Was sind die unsichtbaren Gesetze der Games-Industrie? Welche Freiräume eröffnen sich, wenn man diese unterwandert? Und wie können Spiele dazu genutzt werden, politische Entwicklungen zu hinterfragen oder gar voranzubringen?

Eine Jury von Expert*innen hat zehn Spiele, die bei den Game Jams entstanden sind, ausgewählt. Diese werden nun auf dem internationalen A MAZE. / Berlin Festival präsentiert vom 25. bis 29. April 2018. Teilnehmende und Partner*innen der acht Länder werden nach Deutschland reisen, um das globale virtuelle Netzwerk von ART GAMES in ein analoges zu verwandeln.

Der Dokumentarfilm „Art, Games, Politics“ feiert auf dem Festival Premiere. Er versammelt Höhepunkte aller Game Jams und gibt Einblicke in die Gedanken der Menschen hinter den Spielen.

Termine

25. April 2018
ART GAMES – Panel auf der Quo Vadis
Station Berlin / Luckenwalder Str. 4-6 / 10963 Berlin

Eröffnung A MAZE. / Berlin Festival 
Urban Spree / Revaler Strasse 99 / 10245 Berlin

26. April 2018
ART GAMES – Panel auf dem A MAZE. / Berlin Festival 
Urban Spree / Revaler Strasse 99 / 10245 Berlin

ART GAMES ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts in Kooperation mit Maschinen-Mensch und wird gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

A MAZE. / Berlin Festival ist eine internationale Plattform für Games und Playful Media für Expert*innen und Kreative aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. Sie können ihr Wissen und ihre Visionen austauschen, ihre Projekte vorstellen, spielen, Kontakte für zukünftige Kooperationen knüpfen. A MAZE. / Berlin Festival setzt sich für Games jenseits des Mainstreams ein und feiert die Kunstform des Gamings, nicht das Produkt.


A MAZE. / Berlin Festival

Spiele

circled. © Pablo Francisco Montes Romero

circled.

circled. ist ein experimentelles Multiplayer Game, das kritisch hinterfragt, wie wir uns zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen nähern. Basierend auf abstrakten Netzwerken werden soziale Konflikte untersucht, wie zum Beispiel Zurückweisung, soziale Anpassung, Gesellschaftsdruck, Persönlichkeitsveränderungen, Identitätsverlust und destruktive Verhaltensweisen. Wie viel bist Du bereit zu opfern, um Teil einer Gemeinschaft zu sein? Wie weit müssen wir unsere eigene Identität zurückstellen, um uns in eine Gesellschaft zu integrieren?

Sunshine © TEAM SS

Sunshine

SunShine konfrontiert Spieler*innen mit einer unvollkommenen Utopie, einer virtuellen Realität. Anders als viele Mainstream Spiele ist dieses Singleplayer Game nicht niedlich gestaltet, sondern cool und brutal. Jede Einheit auf dieser virtuellen Erde ist eng miteinander verknüpft, um eine Utopie zu formen. Gestalte Deine eigene Utopie, bring sie zur Blüte und beschütze sie!

2984 Little Brother © Myung-jin Yang , Youngjoo Yoo, Ga-young An, Jaemin Park, Deokwon Kim

2984 Little Brothers

2984 Little Brother spielt 1000 Jahre nach George Orwells 1984. Nachdem Menschen die Erde zerstört haben, sind einige von ihnen auf den Planeten Utopia geflohen. Die Utopia Union umfasst viele verschiedene Stämme, die sich selbst als 'Little Brothers' bezeichnen. Die Union basiert auf dem Prinzip direkter Demokratie und ihre Bürger*innen beteiligen sich politisch anhand von neun interaktiven Tele-Bildschirmen. Als Spieler*in gehörst Du zu den Little Brothers. Wie sieht Deine Utopie aus?

Struggling Dreams © Jeff Campbell, Aslanta Chen, Joe Marchuk, Dan Williams

Struggling Dreams

Unterstütze Geflüchtete dabei, sich bessere und sicherere Zeiten zu vergegenwärtigen, um gemeinsam genug Kraft für die Flucht und gegen lauernde Gefahren zu sammeln. Als Spieler*in gilt es, das Spielfeld genau zu beobachten, um den Geflüchteten den Weg zu einer sichereren Zukunft entgegen zu zeigen.

Babel-o-Rama © timbell

Babel-o-Rama

Babel-o-Rama erprobt die Möglichkeiten eines Multiplayer Games auf mobilen Geräten. Drei oder mehr Spieler*innen sind dazu aufgefordert, Worträtsel auf verschiedenen Sprachen kooperativ zu lösen. Durch Zusammenarbeit und Teamwork wird das gemeinsame Vokabular beständig erweitert.

Choo-Choose © Team Choo-Choose

Choo-Choose

Jede Entscheidung, die wir treffen, birgt unabsehbare Konsequenzen in sich. Es ist unmöglich, unser Schicksal vorherzusagen, da jede Prognose ausschließlich auf unserem Wissen in der Gegenwart beruht. Wir sind dazu gezwungen, diese Entscheidungen blind zu treffen. Manche würden das als unfair bezeichnen, wir aber denken, das verleiht dem Leben Würze.

Make it rain © Saranpat Sereewiwattana

Make It Rain

Make It Rain klagt korrupte Strukturen an, indem es seine Spieler*innen dazu auffordert, selbst korrupt zu handeln. Inspiriert von wahren Ereignissen ist es das Ziel des Spiels, Polizist*innen und Offizier*innen mit Geld zu bestechen, um mit den eigenen Verbrechen ungeschoren davon zu kommen. Auf diese Weise wird das zerbrechliche Gerüst juristischer Systeme angesichts großen Vermögens sichtbar.

Status © Tasos Protopapas, Michalis Lygiaris, Kiprianos Skafidas, Haralabos Andrianidis

Status

Status ist ein analoges Spiel, das Machtgefüge in der Gesellschaft vor dem Hintergrund begrenzter Ressourcen und sozialem Status untersucht. Als Spieler*in musst Du andere Spieler*innen überholen, um Deinen Platz zu sichern. Dadurch werden hierarchische Strukturen, wirtschaftliche Positionen und die Moral von Menschen in Machtpositionen hinterfragt.

Cacophony © Christina Chrysanthopoulou

Cacophony

Cacophony ist ein Virtual Reality Game, das die Bedeutung von unabhängiger Urteilskraft und das komplexe Konzept von Meinungsfreiheit veranschaulicht. Diese virtuelle Erfahrung betont die Verantwortung jedes*r Einzelne*n dafür, Informationsflüsse zu steuern und zu selektieren, und führt gleichzeitig die Gefahren dieser persönlichen Informationsblasen vor Augen.

Chain Reaction © André Mariano

Chain Reaction

Vier Personen sind wegen verschiedener Verbrechen gegen ihren eigenen Stamm gefangen. Auf der Suche nach einem Fluchtweg, bahnen sie sich gemeinsam einen Weg durch das Verlies, in das ihr Stamm sie zur Strafe verbannt hat. Aneinander gekettet müssen sie jede Bewegung koordinieren, um zu entkommen und zu lernen, was es Zusammenarbeit bedeutet.