ARTISTS IN EXILE

Saturday, 22nd October 2016
 
ARTISTS IN EXILE – INTIATIVES THAT HELP
 
Panel discussion with Lanna Idriss, Joachim von Zepelin and Aref Hamza | Chaired by: Sandra Hetzl
 

Amongst the millions of people who are forced to leave their homes there are also numerous artists who have to find themselves a new livelihood. Even if they survive the hazardous journey to Europe, not only must they deal with everyday challenges, but they also need to find ways to continue using their creative potential.
 
Initiatives are needed here that provide precisely these opportunities and create scope for artists in exile. This support is particularly important in the field of literature because it requires a special agency service. Also the experiences that authors in exile address through their works are an important piece in the mosaic to improve understanding of their difficult situation.
What initiatives are conceivable? What structures do artists need in exile? Which social institutions can be recruited as partners?
 
Speaking on this subject are: Lanna Idriss (Frankfurt), co-initiator of the action group “we’re doing it”, director of the BHF Bank, Joachim von Zepelin (Berlin), publisher (secession Verlag) and Aref Hamza (Buchholz in der Nordheide), author and lawyer; chaired by: Sandra Hetzl (Lebanon), translator.
 
Languages: German/Arabic (simultaneous interpreting)
Cooperation: Goethe-Institut
Saturday, 22.10., 1.30 – 2.30 pm
Stage Weltempfang,  Hall 3.1, Stand L25

Künstler im Exil

Samstag, 22. Oktober 2016

KÜNSTLER IM EXIL – INITIATIVEN, DIE HELFEN
Podiumsdiskussion mit Lanna Idriss, Joachim von Zepelin und Aref Hamza | Moderation: Sandra Hetzl


Unter den Millionen Menschen, die aus ihrer Heimat vertrieben werden, befinden sich auch zahlreiche Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die sich eine neue Lebensgrundlage suchen müssen. Selbst wenn sie die gefährliche Reise nach Europa überstanden haben, müssen sie neben der Bewältigung des Alltags Möglichkeiten finden, ihr kreatives Potenzial weiterhin zu nutzen.
 
Hier sind Initiativen gefragt, die genau diese Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung stellen und im Exil Freiräume für Künstler schaffen. Gerade im Bereich der Literatur ist diese Unterstützung wichtig, da es einer besonderen Vermittlungsleistung bedarf. Außerdem sind die Erfahrungen, die Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftsteller im Exil in ihren Werken verarbeiten, ein wichtiger Mosaikstein zum besseren Verständnis ihrer schwierigen Situation.
Was für Initiativen sind denkbar? Welche Strukturen benötigen die Künstler im Exil? Welche gesellschaftlichen Institutionen können als Partner gewonnen werden?
 
Darüber sprechen: Lanna Idriss (Frankfurt), Mitinitiatorin des Aktionsbündnisses „Wir machen das.jetzt“, Direktorin BHF Bank, Joachim von Zepelin (Berlin), Verleger (secession Verlag) und Aref Hamza (Buchholz in der Nordheide), Autor und Anwalt; Moderation: Sandra Hetzl (Libanon) Übersetzerin.
 
Sprachen: Deutsch/Arabisch (Simultanübersetzung)
Veranstalter: Goethe-Institut
Samstag, 22.10., 13:30-14:30 Uhr
Bühne Weltempfang, Halle 3.1/ Stand L 25