Faites vos jeux
My Faites vos jEUx Adventure

My Faites vos jEUx Adventure © Team Faites vos jEUx

Report by Valerie Quade, "That’s not how economics work?!"

"My ‘Faites vos jEUx’ adventure began with a FB posting on the platform #medialepfade.  I applied with a covering letter in which I described why I was interested in this unconventional Gamelab and shortly thereafter got the good news that I was in."

"The first preparatory meeting, where the German participants met up and checked things out, was held in Munich. Who are we? What skills do we have? What games do we play? What are we in the mood for? 

It quickly turned out that we all have different skills and that the one-week project would be a real adventure. Active gamers were included, creatives from the media and educational worlds, and also a specialist in the area of games for the handicapped. Our pros from the project direction brought practical know-how and game-specific knowledge from the business world. In this way, seminal game ideas emerged already in the first meeting, and work priorities crystallized out.

Things got exciting towards the end of March; we met the Portuguese participants for the first time. We went out to dinner in a Thai restaurant with them, and we connected gradually, but with great sincerity and warmth with the group. We discovered many things we had in common and talked past our respective languages in a mix of English, German and Portuguese, ‘that sounds so weird,’ about our work, studies and school, and after a couple of hours started singing Portuguese songs together. The day ended with a joint light painting on the backdrop of Munich’s starry night sky.

Next morning we went refreshed and filled with anticipation to the Goethe-Institut. There, our Portuguese coaches directed an intensive warm-up and introductory program, and the game developers gave us a crash course in game design. That evening, out team-internal city guides took us on a tour of Munich, after which we relaxed to karaoke in an Irish pub. During the next work phase, we began to dissect the topic of the EU, and brainstormed about interesting areas until all flip chart sheets were used up (there were a lot of sheets!).

Game ideas gradually resulted that were then rejected until four ideas were left over, which now could be worked on by four teams. Our game was an economics simulation "That’s not how economics work?!" whose main focus was avoiding food wastage and life as a greengrocer between large corporations. The other teams had very diverse game concepts, in addition to the EU travel game "The Journey," there was the crime-story board game "Who killed Europe?" and the group-dynamic multi-player game "Going Up – Climbing Together".  

Through inputs, for instance on the topics of  Gamelab Linz 2013, accessibility in games, effective brainstorming and serious games, the work phases were loosened up and often the contents took us a step further. There was a lot of experimentation, solutions were found and rejected, the game design was continually improved, and ultimately we could test the games on each other. The Number One Rule was: Keep it simple!

When we had the sense that the game contents had matured, the teams set to work designing the game optically – with a refinement of the game mechanics at the same time. 

Shortly before the final spurt, we paid a visit to the developer studio Reality Twist in Munich, which gave us exciting and really excellent insights into the practical work of a game designer, and which also eliminated the illusions some of us had about game designing as a profession. 

After the teams, following a round of street games, completed the final steps in the (still-) board games, our free day in Munich began. One team visited Dachau and the Olympia Park (which was constructed for the 1972 Olympic Games). 

We were all a bit jumpy before the final presentation at the Goethe-Institut, and worked on our lecture right up to the last minute; fortunately all four ideas were very well received by the audience. 

Relieved and filled with enthusiasm, we left the Gamelab to continue working on the games. The teams have planned various steps, in our case we intend to create a freely accessible PDF version to print out for use at home, in the best-case scenario an app will be developed later on."

Faites vos jeux
Mein Faites vos jEUx Abenteuer

My Faites vos jEUx Adventure © Team Faites vos jEUx

Erfahrungsbericht von Valerie Quade aus der Gruppe “That’s not how economics work?!”

"In München fand das erste Vorbereitungstreffen statt, bei dem sich die deutschen Teilnehmenden trafen und die Lage sondierten. Wer sind wir? Was können wir? Welche Spiele spielen wir? Worauf haben wir Bock?

Es stellte sich schnell heraus, dass wir alle unterschiedliche Skills besitzen und das einwöchige Projekt ein wahres Abenteuer werden würde. Mit dabei waren aktive Gamer, Schaffende aus der medien- und pädagogischen Welt und auch ein Spezialist auf dem Gebiet des behindertengerechten Spielens. Unsere Profis aus der Projektleitung brachten praktisches Know-How und gamesspezifisches Wissen aus der Wirtschaft mit. So entstanden beim ersten Treffen bereits grundlegende Spielideen und es kristallisierten sich Arbeitsschwerpunkte heraus.

Ende März wurde es dann spannend; wir trafen zum ersten Mal die portugiesischen Teilnehmenden. Mit ihnen ging es zum Dinner in ein thailändisches Restaurant und wir fanden langsamen aber sehr herzlichen Anschluss an die Gruppe. Wir entdeckten viele Gemeinsamkeiten und unterhielten uns über die jeweiligen Sprachen in einem Mix aus Englisch, Deutsch und Portugiesisch, ‘das klingt ja so komisch’, über unsere Arbeit, das Studium und die Schule und fingen nach ein paar Stunden an zusammen portugiesische Lieder zu singen. Der Tag endete mit einem gemeinsamen Lightpainting vor Münchens sternenklarer Nachtkulisse.

Am nächsten Morgen ging es erfrischt und voller Vorfreude ins Goethe-Institut. Dort leiteten unsere portugiesischen Coaches ein intensives Aufwärm- und Kennenlernprogramm, von den Spieleentwicklern gab es einen Schnellkurs im Game Design. Abends wurde uns von unseren teaminternen Stadtführern die Stadt München gezeigt und entspannt wurde bei Karaoke im irischen Pub.

Während der nächsten Arbeitsphase begannen wir das Thema EU auseinanderzunehmen und brainstormten über interessante Bereiche bis alle Flipchart Blätter vollgeschrieben waren. (Es waren viele Blätter.)

Nach und nach ergaben sich Spielideen, die so lange gepitcht wurden bis schließlich vier Ideen übrig blieben, die fortan von vier Teams bearbeitet werden konnten. Unser Spiel war eine Wirtschaftssimulation “That’s not how economics work?!” bei der es vorrangig um das Vermeiden von Lebensmittelverschwendung und das Leben als Gemüsehändler zwischen großen Konzernen geht. Die anderen Teams hatten sehr unterschiedliche Spielkonzepte, neben dem EU Reisespiel “The Journey” entstanden das Krimibrettspiel “Who killed Europe?” und das gruppendynamische Gemeinschaftsspiel “Going Up – Climbing Together”.

Durch Inputs zB. zu den Themen Gamelab Linz 2013, Barrierefreiheit in Games, effektives Brainstorming und Serious Games, wurden die Arbeitsphasen gelockert und oft brachten uns die Inhalte einen Schritt weiter. Es wurde viel experimentiert, Lösungen wurden gefunden und wieder verworfen, das Game Design wurde immer besser und schließlich konnten wir die Spiele gegenseitig testen. Dabei galt immer als oberste Regel: Keep it simple!

Nachdem der Spieleinhalt als ausgereift empfunden wurde, machten sich die Teams - gleichzeitig mit einer Verfeinerung der Spielmechanik - daran, das Spiel optisch zu gestalten.

Kurz vor dem Endspurt besuchten wir das Entwicklerstudio Reality Twist in München, welches uns spannenderweise sehr gute Einblicke in die praktische Arbeit als Game Designer gewährte und bei einigen auch einige Illusionen über den Beruf als Game Designer löste.

Nachdem die Teams nach einer Runde Street Games die letzten Schritte an den (noch) Brettspielen fertigstellten ging es in den freien Tag in München. Ein Team besuchte Dachau und den olympischen Olympia Park.

Vor der finalen Präsentation im Goethe-Institut waren wir alle etwas aufgeregt und arbeiteten bis zur letzten Minute am Vortrag und zum Glück kamen alle vier Ideen beim Publikum sehr gut an.

Erleichtert und voller Enthusiasmus verließen wir das Gamelab um die Spiele weiterzuentwickeln. Die Teams haben unterschiedliche Schritte geplant, in unserem Fall möchten wir eine frei zugängliche PDF Version zum Ausdrucken für zu Hause erstellen, später soll im Optimalfall eine APP entwickelt werden”.