GOETHE MEDALS CONFERRED IN WEIMAR

On 28 August, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, awarded the Goethe Medal to the Nigerian photographer Akinbode Akinbiyi, the writer Yurii Andrukhovych from Ukraine and the Georgian museum director David Lordkipanidze. The Goethe-Institut confers the official decoration of the Federal Republic of Germany to honour figures who have performed outstanding service to convey the German language and promote international cultural relations. This was the 62nd conferment of the Goethe Medal.

Awardees 2016: Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch and David Lordkipanidze (Photo: Maik Schuck) Awardees 2016: Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch and David Lordkipanidze (Photo: Maik Schuck) “This year’s awardees are three tireless intercultural mediators, three outstanding personalities who deal in their work with the highly topical focus of today’s conferment, ‘Migration of Cultures – Cultures of Migration’ in photography, in science and in literature,” stated Klaus-Dieter Lehmann on the awarding of Akinbode Akinbiyi, Yurii Andrukhovych and David Lordkipanidze with the 2016 Goethe Medal. “Without cultural understanding, without the capability to engage in dialogue, our world will become less and less recognizable. That precisely is why it needs people with the ability to deal with cultural disparities, with knowledge of other models of coexistence, with multilingualism and with empathy that they employ again and again to balance out conflicting cultural patterns,” he continued. “All three awardees openly and firmly advocate encounters and dialogues with Germany and are crucial voices in the cultural and intellectual discourse in their home countries. All three know the challenges of migration from personal experience and grapple with it. For us, they are loyal friends, astute interlocutors, critical advisors, important companions and, not infrequently, pioneers in the work of the Goethe-Instituts abroad.”
 
The Goethe Medal award ceremony at Schloss Weimar was attended by the vice minister-president of the state of Thuringia and finance minister Heike Taubert, by Andreas Görgen, the head of the department of Culture and Communications at Germany’s Foreign Office and by the mayor of the City of Weimar, Stefan Wolf.
 
Akinbode Akinbiyi is one of the most prominent African photographers worldwide. In the mid-1970s he began to photograph as an autodidact and, after stays in Heidelberg and Munich, finally moved to West Berlin where he has lived ever since. Akinbode Akinbiyi’s focuses are reportage, architectural and cultural photography. The main focus of his work is on rapidly growing and changing African megacities. His pictures have been shown at exhibitions and biennials in Tokyo, Paris, Philadelphia, Johannesburg and Havana, and have been published in various magazines. “Far from clichés and exoticism, the photographer moves elegantly between different cultural contexts, conveys to us an impression of the most varied of urban lifestyles, opens horizons without judging what he’s seen or exaggerating his own views,” emphasized the artist and photographer Eva Leitolf in her laudatory speech for Akinbode Akinbiyi. “His pictures are both a gift and a challenge; an invitation to take the time to look, not only to consume images,” she said. “Reduced to the essential, his black and white photography,” in Leitolf’s interpretation, “becomes a quiet act of resistance, a reduction of the world around us, to the reserved tones of the grey scale, to symbols and structures.” In addition to his work as a photographer, Akinbode Akinbiyi works internationally as a curator and author. He usually writes the texts that accompany his exhibitions himself. The project “Centers of learning for photography in Africa” initiated by Akinbode Akinbiyi and the Goethe-Institut Nigeria has also made him an important mentor of young photographers from Africa. Next year he will take part in documenta 14 in Athens and Kassel with new works.
 
Yurii Andrukhovych is considered one of the most important intellectual voices of Ukraine. As a writer, poet, essayist and translator, he is part of the critical, creative scene that reflects and advances civil society processes after the Maidan revolution. Andrukhovych is a staunch supporter of Ukraine on its way to Europe and makes efforts to bring about convergence between Western and Eastern Europe. Yurii Andrukhovych is closely linked to Germany due to several scholarship residencies. He held a visiting professorship at the Institute of Slavic Studies at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in 2014. He translates German poets such as Rainer Maria Rilke into Ukrainian, thus giving Ukrainian readers new access to the German classics. With his own writing, he introduced the German audience to the literary territory of his homeland. In her laudatory speech for Yurii Andrukhovych, the translator Sabine Stöhr described him and his fictional characters as “wanderers between worlds.” His work, according to Stöhr, who translated most of his work from Ukrainian into German, “is distinguished precisely by the fact that it celebrates diversity and questions cherished beliefs, both his own and that of others.” Three of his novels that were written and published during the 1990s have gained the greatest public responses: Rekreaciji (1992), Moscoviada (1993, German edition 2006) and Perverzion (1996, German edition 2011). His work has been translated and published around the world.
 
The director general of the Georgian National Museum, David Lordkipanidze, is one of the most prestigious paleoanthropologists and archaeologists worldwide. For more than 20 years he has led the excavations of Dmanisi in Georgia. David Lordkipanidze became famous mainly by the finds there of 1.8 million-year-old skeletal remains of early hominids. This discovery and its scientific evaluation revolutionized existing knowledge about early human development and migration. Under his influence, Georgian museology, which pursues a special social mission in multi-ethnic, post-Soviet Georgia, has lastingly internationalized and modernized. In her laudatory speech, the president of the German Archaeological Institute, Friederike Fless, emphasized, “As director general of the National Museum of Georgia, David Lordkipanidze strongly and successfully ensures that scientific findings are related in a way that is universally understandable.  For him, science is not only for scientists. It belongs in the public space of museums, exhibitions and education at the excavation sites.” David Lordkipanidze is networked worldwide and has been working closely alongside the Goethe-Institut with renowned German partners in culture and education such as the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation and the Senckenberg Museum in Frankfurt. His initiative for the Berlin exhibition of prehistoric Georgian gold discoveries Medea’s Gold in 2007 at the Altes Museum made a decisive contribution to German-Georgian cultural relations.
 
The Goethe Medal was established by the executive committee of the Goethe-Institut in 1954 and acknowledged as an official decoration by the Federal Republic of Germany in 1975. The Goethe Medal is awarded on Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s birthday, 28 August.
 
Since it was first awarded in 1955, a total of 341 figures from 63 countries have been honoured. The awardees have included Adonis, Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Bourdieu, David Cornwell AKA John le Carré, Sir Ernst Gombrich, Lars Gustafsson, Ágnes Heller, Ariane Mnouchkine, Sir Karl Raimund Popper, Jorge Semprún, Robert Wilson, Neil MacGregor and Helen Wolff. 

The award ceremony is organized in close partnership with the Klassik Stiftung Weimar and the City of Weimar. The conversation with the three awardees is being held in cooperation with Kunstfest Weimar. The photography exhibition by Akinbode Akinbiyi is being held in cooperation with the Kunstfest Weimar and the Galerie Eigenheim.

Goethe-Medaille in Weimar verliehen

Der nigerianische Fotograf Akinbode Akinbiyi, der Schriftsteller Juri Andruchowytsch aus der Ukraine und der georgische Museumsdirektor David Lordkipanidze wurden am 28. August vom Präsident des Goethe-Instituts Klaus-Dieter Lehmann mit der Goethe-Medaille ausgezeichnet. Mit dem offiziellen Ehrenzeichen der Bundesrepublik ehrt das Goethe-Institut Personen, die sich mit besonderem Engagement um die Vermittlung der deutschen Sprache und den internationalen Kulturaustausch verdient gemacht haben. Die Goethe-Medaille wurde zum 62. Mal verliehen.

Preisträger 2016: Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch und David Lordkipanidze (Foto: Maik Schuck) Preisträger 2016: Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch und David Lordkipanidze (Foto: Maik Schuck) „Die drei diesjährigen Preisträger sind unermüdliche interkulturelle Mittler, drei herausragende Persönlichkeiten, die sich in ihrer Arbeit mit dem hochaktuellen Schwerpunktthema der heutigen Verleihung ‚Migration der Kulturen – Kulturen der Migration‘ auseinandersetzen – fotografisch, wissenschaftlich und literarisch“, begründete Klaus-Dieter Lehmann die Auszeichnung von Akinbode Akinbiyi, Juri Andruchowytsch und David Lordkipanidze mit der Goethe-Medaille 2016. Ohne ein kulturelles Verständnis, ohne Dialogfähigkeit werde unsere Welt immer weniger lesbar. Genau deshalb brauche es Menschen mit der Fähigkeit des Umgangs mit kulturellen Unterschieden, mit der Kenntnis anderer Modelle des Zusammenlebens, mit Mehrsprachigkeit und mit Empathie, die sie immer wieder einsetzen, um oft gegensätzliche kulturelle Muster auszutarieren. „Alle drei Preisträger treten offen und bestimmt für die Begegnung und den Austausch mit Deutschland ein und sind zentrale Stimmen des kulturellen und intellektuellen Diskurses in ihren Heimatländern. Alle drei kennen die Herausforderungen von Migration aus persönlicher Erfahrung und setzen sich mit dieser auseinander. Für uns sind sie treue Freunde, kluge Gesprächspartner, kritische Berater, wichtige Wegbegleiter – und nicht selten auch Wegbereiter – der Arbeit der Goethe-Institute im Ausland“, so Lehmann weiter.
 
Die Verleihung der Goethe-Medaillen fand in Anwesenheit der Stellvertretenden Ministerpräsidentin des Freistaates Thüringen und Ministerin für Finanzen Heike Taubert sowie Andreas Görgen, dem Leiter der Abteilung Kultur und Kommunikation im Auswärtigen Amt, und dem Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Weimar Stefan Wolf im Residenzschloss Weimar statt.
 
Akinbode Akinbiyi gehört zu den profiliertesten afrikanischen Fotografen weltweit. Mitte der 1970er-Jahre begann er als Autodidakt zu fotografieren und zog nach Aufenthalten in Heidelberg und München schließlich nach West-Berlin, wo er seitdem lebt. Akinbode Akinbiyis Schwerpunkte sind Reportage-, Architektur- und Kulturfotografie. Das Hauptaugenmerk seiner Arbeiten gilt vor allem den rapide wachsenden und sich verändernden afrikanischen Megastädten. Seine Bilder wurden auf Ausstellungen und Biennalen in Tokio, Paris, Philadelphia, Johannesburg oder Havanna gezeigt sowie in diversen Magazinen abgedruckt. „Fern von Klischees und Exotismen bewegt sich der Fotograf elegant zwischen verschiedenen kulturellen Zusammenhängen, vermittelt uns Eindrücke unterschiedlichster urbaner Lebensweisen, öffnet Horizonte ohne das Gesehene zu bewerten oder den eigenen Blick zu überhöhen“, betonte die Künstlerin und Fotografin Eva Leitolf in ihrer Laudatio auf Akinbode Akinbiyi. Seine Bilder seien Geschenk und Herausforderung zugleich: eine Einladung sich Zeit zu nehmen, hin zu sehen und Bilder nicht nur zu konsumieren. Leitolf deutete „seine auf Wesentliches reduzierte Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie als einen leisen Akt des Widerstandes, eine Reduktion der Welt, die uns umgibt, auf die zurückgenommenen Töne der Grau-Skala, auf Zeichen und Strukturen“. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Fotograf ist Akinbode Akiniyi international als Kurator und Autor tätig. Die Begleittexte seiner Ausstellungen verfasst er meist selbst. Über das von Akinbode Akinbiyi und dem Goethe-Institut Nigeria initiierte Projekt „Centers of learning for photography in Africa“ ist er zudem zu einem wichtigen Mentor für Nachwuchsfotografen aus dem afrikanischen Raum geworden. Im kommenden Jahr ist er an der documenta 14, die in Athen und Kassel stattfindet, mit neuen Arbeiten beteiligt.

Juri Andruchowytsch gilt als eine der wichtigsten intellektuellen Stimmen der Ukraine. Als Schriftsteller, Dichter, Essayist und Übersetzer ist er Teil der kritischen, kreativen Szene, die die zivilgesellschaftlichen Prozesse nach der Revolution auf dem Maidan reflektiert und vorantreibt. Andruchowytsch ist ein entschiedener Unterstützer der Ukraine auf dem Weg nach Europa und bemüht sich um eine Annäherung von West- und Osteuropa. Mit Deutschland ist Juri Andruchowytsch unter anderem durch mehrere Stipendienaufenthalte eng verbunden. Am Institut für Slawistik der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin hatte er 2014 eine Gastprofessur inne. Er übersetzt deutsche Dichter wie Rainer Maria Rilke ins Ukrainische und verschafft der dortigen Leserschaft damit einen neuen Zugang zu den deutschen Klassikern. Mit seiner eigenen schriftstellerischen Arbeit machte er das literarische Territorium seines Heimatlandes einem deutschen Publikum bekannt. In ihrer Laudatio auf Juri Andruchowytsch bezeichnete die Übersetzerin Sabine Stöhr ihn – und ebenso seine Romanfiguren – als „Wanderer zwischen den Welten“. „Sein Werk zeichnet sich gerade dadurch aus, dass es die Vielfalt feiert und lieb gewonnene Überzeugungen in Frage stellt, und zwar eigene wie fremde“, so Stöhr, die die meisten seiner Texte selbst aus dem Ukrainischen ins Deutsche übersetzt hat. Den größten öffentlichen Widerhall fanden drei seiner Romane, die während der neunziger Jahre entstanden und veröffentlicht wurden: „Rekreaciji“ (1992), „Moscoviada“ (1993, deutsche Ausgabe 2006) und „Perversion“ (1996, deutsche Ausgabe 2011). Seine Texte sind international übersetzt und verlegt worden. 
 
Der Generaldirektor des Georgischen Nationalmuseums David Lordkipanidze ist einer der renommiertesten Paläoanthropologen und Archäologen weltweit. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren leitet er die Ausgrabungen von Dmanisi in Georgien. Berühmt geworden ist David Lordkipanidze vor allem durch die dortigen Funde 1,8 Millionen Jahre alter Skelettreste früher Hominiden - diese Entdeckung und ihre wissenschaftliche Auswertung revolutionierten das bisherige Wissen über die frühe menschliche Entwicklung und Expansion. Unter seinem Einfluss internationalisierte und modernisierte sich das georgische Museumswesen nachhaltig, das im multiethnischen und postsowjetischen Georgien einen besonderen gesellschaftlichen Auftrag verfolgt. Die Präsidentin des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Friederike Fless betonte in ihrer Laudatio: „Als Generaldirektor des Nationalmuseums von Georgien setzt David Lordkipanidze sich nachdrücklich und erfolgreich dafür ein, dass die Ergebnisse der Wissenschaft allgemein verständlich erzählt werden. Für ihn gehört Wissenschaft nicht nur den Wissenschaftlern. Sie gehört in den öffentlichen Raum der Museen, Ausstellungen und der Vermittlung auf den Grabungsplätzen“. David Lordkipanidze ist weltweit vernetzt und arbeitet seit Jahren neben dem Goethe-Institut eng mit namenhaften deutschen Partnern aus Kultur und Bildung zusammen, wie etwa der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz oder dem Senckenberg-Museum Frankfurt. Ein entscheidender Beitrag zu den deutsch-georgischen Kulturbeziehungen war seine Initiative zur Berliner Ausstellung der prähistorischen georgischen Goldfunde „Medeas Gold” 2007 im Alten Museum.
 
Die Goethe-Medaille wurde 1954 vom Vorstand des Goethe-Instituts gestiftet und 1975 von der Bundesrepublik Deutschland als offizielles Ehrenzeichen anerkannt. Die Goethe-Medaille wird zum Geburtstag von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, am 28. August, verliehen.
 
Seit der ersten Verleihung 1955 sind insgesamt 341 Persönlichkeiten aus 63 Ländern geehrt worden. Zu den Preisträgern gehören unter anderen Adonis, Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Bourdieu, David Cornwell alias John le Carré, Sir Ernst Gombrich, Lars Gustafsson, Ágnes Heller, Ariane Mnouchkine, Sir Karl Raimund Popper, Jorge Semprún, Robert Wilson, Neil MacGregor oder Helen Wolff.
 
Die Verleihung wird in enger Partnerschaft mit der Klassik Stiftung Weimar und der Stadt Weimar veranstaltet. Das Gespräch mit den drei Preisträgern ist eine Kooperation mit dem Kunstfest Weimar. Die Fotoausstellung von Akinbode Akinbiyi ist eine Kooperation mit dem Kunstfest Weimar und der Galerie Eigenheim.

Hier finden Sie die Pressemappe zum Download:
www.goethe.de/pressemappe/goethe-medaille