GOETHE MEDALS AWARDED IN WEIMAR

Publisher Urvashi Butalia of India, writer Emily Nasrallah of Lebanon and civil rights activist Irina Shcherbakova of Russia were awarded the Goethe Medal on 28 August. Every year, the Goethe-Institut confers the official decoration of the Federal Republic of Germany to honour figures who have performed outstanding service for international cultural dialogue. Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, the president of the Goethe-Institut, paid tribute to the great commitment of the three awardees who courageously and decisively campaign against unequal treatment.

Awardees Goethe-Medal 2017  left to right: Christina von Braun, Emily Dische-Becker, Christa Wichterich, Marianne Birthler, Urvashi Butalia, Irina Scherbakowa, Emily Nasrallah, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Stefan Wolf © Maik Schuck | “This year, our three awardees rely on the word and on freedom and use their literary force on their behalf. Language is their weapon! They give the silenced and forgotten people a voice,” said Klaus-Dieter Lehmann at the award ceremony for Urvashi Butalia, Emily Nasrallah and Irina Shcherbakova. Their literary work contains a message: “Remember, do not forget us, become supporters.” Lehmann further stressed, “All three awardees have their very own biographies and cultural influences; all three come from very different world regions and yet they are united by a common basic conviction: to fight against unequal treatment and for human rights, against violence and for equality and free personal development, against repression and for emancipation. It is the core of humanity to which these three women are courageously and determinedly devoted, to which they dedicate their lives.”
 
In her laudatory speech for Urvashi Butalia, sociologist Christa Wichterich emphasised Butalia’s pioneering work in publishing, saying, “She does not speak for others, she does not want to represent others, but above all to give a voice to those who stand on the margins of society, the injured and vulnerable who have no say, who have been silenced and who are consciously silent.” Wichterich continued, “Urvashi often hears comments from people in the West saying that it must very difficult for a woman to be a publisher in India. She replies that it’s no piece of cake to run a small feminist publishing house anywhere. She does not need pity. She is unflinching; she is obsessed, in the positive sense, emphatically and full of curiosity, with making the private a political issue using the spoken and written language.”
 
The journalist Emily Dische-Becker pointed out the actuality of Emily Nasrallah´s writing, “The uprooting, through voluntary or involuntary departure, is a consistent theme throughout Nasrallah’s work. The anguish of those left behind, the alienation of the departed in their new surroundings and the ultimate impossibility of return. Displacement is an essential part of the Lebanese collective experience and it is relevant as ever, in light of the mass displacement from neighboring Syria today.” Dische-Becker continued, “It takes courage to write about home, as Emily Nasrallah does, with both affection and honesty, to weave the intimate particularities of customs, the disappointments and sacrifices of its women into stories that may fail to pass state censors but resonate with generations of readers.”
 
Marianne Birthler, former Federal Commissioner for the Stasi Records, praised Irina Shcherbakova’s dedication in her laudatory speech, stating, “She has chosen the perhaps most difficult and most important task that needs to be accomplished on a society’s pathway to freedom. She puts into words what was concealed and is still kept hidden. She helps us to distinguish between experience and myth, truthfulness and lies, facts and legends. She stands by those who are looking for words to express their buried memories and their suffering; is close to them as they re-live it once again and acts respectfully and gratefully towards what she hears.”
 
The awarding of the Goethe Medals at the Weimar Residenzschloss was attended by Benjamin-Immanuel Hoff, the Minister of Culture, Federal and European Affairs and Head of the Thuringian State Chancellery, Andreas Görgen, the Head of the Culture and Communications Department at the Foreign Office, and by Stefan Wolf, the Mayor of the City of Weimar.
 
Urvashi Butalia, born in 1952, studied literature in New Delhi and South Asian Studies in London. She has taught at university for over twenty years, currently at Ashoka University near New Delhi. In 1984, she founded the first feminist publishing house in India, Kali for Women. This led to the founding in 2003 of Zubaan (which translates as tongue, voice, language), a publishing house specialised in women’s rights, gender and sociological subject matter. In its Young Zubaan series she publishes books for young people on subjects that are often off-limits in India, such as alternative lives and families, disability, death and fanaticism. Although not directly involved in politics, Urvashi Butalia is well known throughout the country for strongly advocating for the rights of minorities and for dealing with the traumas of recent Indian history. Since 1997, she has written regular articles for Lettre Internationale on women’s situations and socio-political developments in India as well as on the culture of remembrance after the partitioning of India in 1947. Her book The Other Side of Silence: Voices from the Partition of India (2000) is one of the most important works on this subject. Based on interviews with witnesses, it documents how they lived through the political division of India, during which about one million people lost their lives.
 
Emily Nasrallah is one of the most well known writers in the Arab world. Born in 1931, she grew up in a Christian family in a village in southern Lebanon. After studying education in Beirut, she worked as a teacher, then as a journalist and freelance writer. In 1962, her debut novel, Touyour Ayloul (Birds of September), was published and went on to receive three Arabic literary awards. In addition to novels, essays and short stories for adults, Nasrallah has also published seven children’s books. Her writings focus on village life in Lebanon, women’s emancipation efforts, identity issues in the Lebanese civil war and migration. As the civil war raged in Lebanon from 1975 to 1990, her novels and short stories became pleas for help from a disintegrating society. In her best-known children’s book Yawmiyyat Hirr (What Happened to Zeeko, 1997, English edition 2001), she describes everyday life during wartime in embattled Beirut from the detached perspective of a tomcat. Although her possessions were destroyed a number of times in bomb attacks, Nasrallah refused to go into exile. Her novel Birds of September is considered a classic of Arabic literature and is read regularly in Lebanon’s schools.
 
The historian Irina Shcherbakova, who was born in Moscow in 1949, is also a journalist and translator. In the late 1970s, she began compiling taped interviews of victims of Stalinism and since 1991 has been researching the archives of the KGB. Irina Shcherbakova was a founding member of Memorial in 1988, the first independent, civil society organisation in the Soviet Union. Memorial is committed to shedding light on Soviet repression and the protection of human rights in Russia today. In October 2016, Memorial was placed on the list of “foreign agents” by the Russian Ministry of Justice. Irina Shcherbakova is the director of youth and education programmes, coordinates oral history projects as well as the yearly, nationwide student competition “People in History: Twentieth Century Russia.” As an author and editor, Irina Shcherbakova has published numerous books on Stalinism and remembrance culture, many of which have been published in German. Most recently, her book Der Russland-Reflex. Einsichten in eine Beziehungskrise (2015), written in collaboration with the German historian of Eastern Europe, Karl Schlögel, received great attention. 
 
About the Goethe Medal
The Goethe Medal was established by the executive committee of the Goethe-Institut in 1954 and acknowledged as an official decoration by the Federal Republic of Germany in 1975. The award ceremony is held on 28 August, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s birthday. Since it was first awarded in 1955, a total of 344 figures from 65 countries have been honoured. The awardees have included Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Bourdieu, David Cornwell AKA John le Carré, Sir Ernst Gombrich, Lars Gustafsson, Ágnes Heller, Petros Markaris, Sir Karl Raimund Popper, Jorge Semprún, Robert Wilson, Neil MacGregor, Helen Wolff and Yurii Andrukhovych.
 
The awarding of the 2017 Goethe Medals is organised in close partnership with the Klassik Stiftung Weimar and the City of Weimar. The conversation with the three awardees is being held in cooperation with Kunstfest Weimar. The evening discussion with Irina Shcherbakova and Karl Schlögel is also being held in cooperation with the Kunstfest Weimar and funded by the Federal Cultural Foundation.

GOETHE-MEDAILLE IN WEIMAR VERLIEHEN

Die indische Verlegerin Urvashi Butalia, die libanesische Schriftstellerin Emily Nasrallah und die russische Bürgerrechtlerin Irina Scherbakowa wurden am 28. August mit der Goethe-Medaille ausgezeichnet. Das Goethe-Institut verleiht das offizielle Ehrenzeichen der Bundesrepublik jedes Jahr an Persönlichkeiten, die sich um den internationalen Kulturaustausch verdient gemacht haben. Der Präsident des Goethe-Instituts Klaus-Dieter Lehmann würdigte das große Engagement der drei Preisträgerinnen, die sich mutig und entschlossen gegen Ungleichbehandlung einsetzen.

Preisträgerinnen der Goethe-Medaille 2017 v.l.n.r. Christina von Braun, Emily Dische-Becker, Christa Wichterich, Marianne Birthler, Urvashi Butalia, Irina Scherbakowa, Emily Nasrallah, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, Stefan Wolf © Maik Schuck | „Unsere drei diesjährigen Preisträgerinnen setzen auf das Wort und die Freiheit und nutzen dafür ihre schriftstellerische Kraft. Ihre Waffe ist die Sprache! Sie geben den stumm gemachten und vergessenen Menschen eine Stimme“, sagte Klaus-Dieter Lehmann anlässlich der Auszeichnung von Urvashi Butalia, Emily Nasrallah und Irina Scherbakowa. Ihre schriftstellerische Arbeit enthalte die Botschaft: „Erinnert Euch, vergesst uns nicht, unterstützt uns". Lehmann betonte weiter: „Alle drei Preisträgerinnen haben ihren ganz eigenen Lebensverlauf und ihre kulturelle Prägung, alle drei kommen aus ganz unterschiedlichen Weltregionen – und doch eint sie eine gemeinsame Grundüberzeugung: der Kampf gegen Ungleichbehandlung und für Menschenrechte, gegen Gewalt und für Gleichberechtigung und freie Entfaltung, gegen Repression und für Emanzipation. Es ist der Kern der Humanität, für den diese drei Frauen sich mutig und entschlossen einsetzen, dem sie ihr Leben widmen.“
 
Die Soziologin Christa Wichterich betonte in ihrer Laudatio auf Urvashi Butalia die verlegerische Pionierarbeit, die diese geleistet habe: „Sie spricht nicht für andere, sie will andere nicht repräsentieren, sondern vor allem denjenigen eine Stimme geben, die am Rande der Gesellschaft stehen, den Verletzten und Verletzlichen, die nicht zu Wort kommen, zum Schweigen gebracht wurden oder bewusst schweigen." Wichterich weiter: „Urvashi sieht sich im Westen häufig mit Bemerkungen konfrontiert, dass es sehr schwierig für eine Frau in Indien sein muss, Verlegerin zu sein. Sie antwortet, dass es nirgendwo ein Deckchensticken ist, einen kleinen feministischen Verlag zu betreiben. Mitleid braucht sie nicht. Sie ist unbeirrbar, mit Emphase und Neugier im positiven Sinne besessen davon, das Private mit gesprochener und geschriebener Sprache zum Politikum zu machen."
 
Die Journalistin Emily Dische-Becker hob die Aktualität von Emily Nasrallahs Texten hervor: „Die Entwurzelung, durch freiwillige und unfreiwillige Abschiede, begegnet uns in Nasrallahs Werk immer wieder. Es geht ihr um den Schmerz der Zurückgelassenen, und um die Entfremdung jener, die gegangen sind, jetzt an einem neuen Ort leben und nicht mehr zurückkehren können. Diese Vertreibung ist ein essentieller Bestandteil der libanesischen Kollektiverfahrung, die gerade in Anbetracht der Massenvertreibung im benachbarten Syrien an neuer Bedeutung gewinnt." Discher-Becker weiter: „Es erfordert viel Mut, über das eigene Zuhause, die eigene Heimat, so zu schreiben wie Emily Nasrallah: Ehrlich, aber auch mit Zuneigung verflechtet sie die intimsten Winkel von Gebräuchen mit den Enttäuschungen und Opfern, die Frauen ertragen müssen."
 
Marianne Birthler, frühere Bundesbeauftragte für die Stasi-Unterlagen, würdigte in ihrer Laudatio das Engagement von Irina Scherbakowa: „Sie hat die schwerste und wichtigste Aufgabe gewählt, die auf dem Weg einer Gesellschaft in die Freiheit zu erfüllen ist. Sie bringt zur Sprache, was verschwiegen wurde und bis heute verschwiegen wird. Sie hilft, Erfahrungen von Mythen zu unterscheiden, Wahrhaftigkeit von Lüge, Tatsachen von Legenden. Sie steht denjenigen bei, die nach Worten für ihre verschütteten Erinnerungen und ihr Leid suchen, ist ihnen nahe, wenn sie es noch einmal durchleben, und geht respektvoll und dankbar mit dem Gehörten um."
 
Die Verleihung der Goethe-Medaillen im Residenzschloss Weimar fand in Anwesenheit des Ministers für Kultur, Bundes- und Europaangelegenheiten und Chefs der Thüringer Staatskanzlei Benjamin-Immanuel Hoff und des Oberbürgermeisters der Stadt Weimar Stefan Wolf statt.
 
Urvashi Butalia, geboren 1952, studierte in Neu-Delhi Literatur und in London Südasienwissenschaften. Sie lehrt seit über zwanzig Jahren an der Universität, momentan an der Universität Ashoka in der Nähe von Neu-Delhi. 1984 gründete sie das erste feministische Verlagshaus Indiens, Kali for Women. Daraus entstand 2003 der Verlag Zubaan („Zunge, Sprache, Stimme“), der auf Frauenrechte, Gender und sozialwissenschaftliche Themen spezialisiert ist. In der Reihe Young Zubaan publiziert sie Kinder- und Jugendbücher, die sich mit Themen auseinandersetzen, die in Indien meist tabuisiert werden, wie beispielsweise alternative Lebens- und Familienmodelle, Behinderung, Tod oder Fanatismus. Ohne direkt politisch tätig zu sein, ist Urvashi Butalia doch landesweit dafür bekannt, die Rechte von Minderheiten mit starker Stimme einzufordern und die jüngere indische Vergangenheit aufzuarbeiten. Seit 1997 veröffentlicht sie regelmäßig Artikel in Lettre International zur Lage der Frauen und zu sozio-politischen Entwicklungen in Indien sowie zur Erinnerungskultur nach der Teilung Indiens im Jahr 1947. Ihr Buch „The Other Side of Silence: Voices from the Partition of India“ (2000) ist eine der wichtigsten Arbeiten zu diesem Thema. Es dokumentiert anhand von Interviews mit Zeitzeugen, wie diese die politische Teilung Indiens, bei der etwa eine Million Menschen starben, erlebt haben.
 
Emily Nasrallah gehört zu den bekanntesten Schriftstellerinnen der arabischen Welt. Sie wurde 1931 geboren und wuchs in einer christlichen Familie in einem Dorf im Südlibanon auf. Nach ihrem Studium der Erziehungswissenschaften in Beirut arbeitete sie zunächst als Lehrerin, dann als Journalistin und freie Schriftstellerin. 1962 debütierte sie mit dem Roman „Touyour Ayloul“ („Septembervögel“), der mit drei arabischen Literaturpreisen ausgezeichnet wurde. Neben Romanen, Essays und Erzählbänden für Erwachsene veröffentlichte Emily Nasrallah auch sieben Kinderbücher. Im Zentrum ihrer Texte stehen das Dorfleben im Libanon, Emanzipationsbestrebungen der Frauen, Identitätsfragen im libanesischen Bürgerkrieg und Migrationserfahrungen. Als im Libanon ab 1975 für mehr als fünfzehn Jahre Bürgerkrieg herrschte, wurden ihre Romane und Erzählungen zu Hilferufen aus einer zerfallenden Gesellschaft. In ihrem bekanntesten Kinderbuch „Yawmiyyat Hirr“(„Kater Ziku lebt gefährlich“, 1998) schildert sie den Kriegsalltag im umkämpften Beirut aus dem distanzierten Blickwinkel eines Katers. Obwohl ihre Besitztümer mehrmals vollständig Bombenangriffen zum Opfer fielen, weigerte sich Emily Nasrallah, selbst ins Exil zu gehen. Ihr Roman „Septembervögel“ gilt heute als Klassiker der arabischen Literatur und gehört im Libanon zur Schullektüre.
 
Die Historikerin Irina Scherbakowa, geboren 1949 in Moskau, ist Publizistin und Übersetzerin. Ende der 1970er Jahre begann sie, Tonbandinterviews mit Opfern des Stalinismus zu sammeln, seit 1991 forscht sie in den Archiven des KGB. Irina Scherbakowa ist Gründungsmitglied von „Memorial", die 1988 gegründete erste unabhängige, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisation der Sowjetunion. Mit „Memorial" setzt sie sich für die Aufklärung der sowjetischen Repression und den Schutz der Menschenrechte im heutigen Russland ein. Im Oktober 2016 wurde „Memorial" durch das russische Justizministerium auf die Liste der „ausländischen Agenten“ gesetzt. Irina Scherbakowa ist Leiterin der Jugend- und Bildungsprogramme, koordiniert Oral History-Projekte sowie den alljährlichen, landesweiten Schülerwettbewerb „Der Mensch in der Geschichte. Russland im 20. Jahrhundert“. Als Autorin und Herausgeberin hat Irina Scherbakowa zahlreiche Bücher zu den Themen Stalinismus und Erinnerungskultur veröffentlicht, viele davon sind in deutscher Sprache erschienen. Große Beachtung fand zuletzt das gemeinsam mit dem deutschen Osteuropa-Historiker Karl Schlögel verfasste Dialogbuch „Der Russland-Reflex. Einsichten in eine Beziehungskrise“ (2015). 
 
Über die Goethe-Medaille
Die Goethe-Medaille wurde 1954 vom Vorstand des Goethe-Instituts gestiftet und 1975 von der Bundesrepublik Deutschland als offizielles Ehrenzeichen anerkannt. Die Goethe-Medaille wird zum Geburtstag von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, am 28. August, verliehen. Seit der ersten Verleihung 1955 sind insgesamt 344 Persönlichkeiten aus 65 Ländern geehrt worden. Zu den Preisträgern gehören unter anderen Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Bourdieu, David Cornwell alias John le Carré, Sir Ernst Gombrich, Lars Gustafsson, Ágnes Heller, Petros Markaris, Sir Karl Raimund Popper, Jorge Semprún, Robert Wilson, Neil MacGregor, Helen Wolff oder Juri Andruchowytsch.
 
Die Verleihung der Goethe-Medaille 2017 wird in enger Partnerschaft mit der Klassik Stiftung Weimar und der Stadt Weimar veranstaltet. Das Gespräch mit den drei Preisträgerinnen ist eine Kooperation mit dem Kunstfest Weimar. Der Diskussionsabend mit Irina Scherbakowa und Karl Schlögel ist ebenfalls eine Kooperation mit dem Kunstfest Weimar und wird gefördert von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes.