Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

India
Urvashi Butalia

Urvashi Butalia
Urvashi Butalia | © Maik Schuck

Urvashi Butalia, born in 1952, studied literature in New Delhi and South Asian Studies in London. She has taught at university for over twenty years, currently at Ashoka University near New Delhi. In 1984, she founded the first feminist publishing house in India, Kali for Women. This led to the founding in 2003 of Zubaan (which translates as tongue, voice, language), a publishing house specialised in women’s rights, gender and sociological subject matter. In its Young Zubaan series she publishes books for young people on subjects that are often off-limits in India, such as alternative lives and families, disability, death and fanaticism. Although not directly involved in politics, Urvashi Butalia is well known throughout the country for strongly advocating for the rights of minorities and for dealing with the traumas of recent Indian history.

Since 1997, she has written regular articles for Lettre Internationale on women’s situations and socio-political developments in India as well as on the culture of remembrance after the partitioning of India in 1947. Her book The Other Side of Silence: Voices from the Partition of India (2000) is one of the most important works on this subject. Based on interviews with witnesses, it documents how they lived through the political division of India, during which about one million people lost their lives.

In her laudatory speech for Urvashi Butalia, sociologist Christa Wichterich emphasised Butalia’s pioneering work in publishing, saying, “She does not speak for others, she does not want to represent others, but above all to give a voice to those who stand on the margins of society, the injured and vulnerable who have no say, who have been silenced and who are consciously silent.” Wichterich continued, “Urvashi often hears comments from people in the West saying that it must very difficult for a woman to be a publisher in India. She replies that it’s no piece of cake to run a small feminist publishing house anywhere. She does not need pity. She is unflinching; she is obsessed, in the positive sense, emphatically and full of curiosity, with making the private a political issue using the spoken and written language.”

Downloads

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Indien
Urvashi Butalia

Urvashi Butalia
Urvashi Butalia | © Maik Schuck

Urvashi Butalia, geboren 1952, studierte in Neu-Delhi Literatur und in London Südasienwissenschaften. Sie lehrt seit über zwanzig Jahren an der Universität, momentan an der Universität Ashoka in der Nähe von Neu-Delhi. 1984 gründete sie das erste feministische Verlagshaus Indiens, Kali for Women. Daraus entstand 2003 der Verlag Zubaan („Zunge, Sprache, Stimme“), der auf Frauenrechte, Gender und sozialwissenschaftliche Themen spezialisiert ist. In der Reihe Young Zubaan publiziert sie Kinder- und Jugendbücher, die sich mit Themen auseinandersetzen, die in Indien meist tabuisiert werden, wie beispielsweise alternative Lebens- und Familienmodelle, Behinderung, Tod oder Fanatismus. Ohne direkt politisch tätig zu sein, ist Urvashi Butalia doch landesweit dafür bekannt, die Rechte von Minderheiten mit starker Stimme einzufordern und die jüngere indische Vergangenheit aufzuarbeiten.
 
Seit 1997 veröffentlicht sie regelmäßig Artikel in Lettre International zur Lage der Frauen und zu sozio-politischen Entwicklungen in Indien sowie zur Erinnerungskultur nach der Teilung Indiens im Jahr 1947. Ihr Buch „The Other Side of Silence: Voices from the Partition of India“ (2000) ist eine der wichtigsten Arbeiten zu diesem Thema. Es dokumentiert anhand von Interviews mit Zeitzeugen, wie diese die politische Teilung Indiens, bei der etwa eine Million Menschen starben, erlebt haben.
 
Die Soziologin Christa Wichterich betonte in ihrer Laudatio auf Urvashi Butalia die verlegerische Pionierarbeit, die diese geleistet habe: „Sie spricht nicht für andere, sie will andere nicht repräsentieren, sondern vor allem denjenigen eine Stimme geben, die am Rande der Gesellschaft stehen, den Verletzten und Verletzlichen, die nicht zu Wort kommen, zum Schweigen gebracht wurden oder bewusst schweigen." Wichterich weiter: „Urvashi sieht sich im Westen häufig mit Bemerkungen konfrontiert, dass es sehr schwierig für eine Frau in Indien sein muss, Verlegerin zu sein. Sie antwortet, dass es nirgendwo ein Deckchensticken ist, einen kleinen feministischen Verlag zu betreiben. Mitleid braucht sie nicht. Sie ist unbeirrbar, mit Emphase und Neugier im positiven Sinne besessen davon, das Private mit gesprochener und geschriebener Sprache zum Politikum zu machen.“

Downloads

Top