Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Hungary
Péter Eötvös

Péter Eötvös
© Szilvia Csibi

For the Hungarian composer, conductor and professor Peter Eötvös, music is intense communication between composer, performer and audience. Born in Transylvania in 1944 – a place of longing that would shape his compositions – he sought early contact with contemporary European music cultures. In the 1960s, he forged connections with the Cologne musical avant-garde and in 1978, at the invitation of Pierre Boulez, conducted the opening concert of the Institute de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique in Paris. 


Peter Eötvös is one of the most successful opera composers of our time – his extraordinary sound compositions incessantly pose existential questions for which the composer invents musically powerful, often overwhelming responses. With the International Peter Eötvös Institute for young conductors and composers, founded in 1991, he created a platform to pass on knowledge and lived experience to the next generation. From 1992, Peter Eötvös taught at the University of Music in Karlsruhe, took on a professorship at the Cologne Musikhochschule in 1998, to return to Karlsruhe in 2002 for another five years. Since the 1990s, Peter Eötvös has increasingly devoted himself to the composition of concert works and operas. He achieved his breakthrough in 1998 with the opera Trois soeurs, after Anton Chekhov’s Three Sisters, which premiered at the Opéra de Lyon as a sensational success. From then on, he has divided his time between conducting and composing, devoting himself to political topics such as in the musical Golden Dragon, commissioned by the Ensemble Modern, which deals with globalisation and migration policies and premiered in 2014 at the Oper Frankfurt.

In his laudatory speech for Péter Eötvös, the writer and playwright Albert Ostermaier spoke about the composer’s ability to make the invisible visible with his music, saying, “Atlantis, as one of his early opuses is called, this Atlantis: it could also be submerged below-stage, or his piece Levitation right here below the shuddering floorboards. Every place is a place of the ears. With him the eyes learn to hear, the ears to see. And much more: He reveals the mechanics of the invisible. He is a linguistic acrobat: His music speaks all languages and every piece speaks a new one. He is a voice acrobat: he learns the languages by listening to the voices, but his voices do not create a Babel, but multiply, overlay, contradict, somersault, merge into a single, universal language that everyone understands and makes everything that we think we do not understand comprehensible in the hearing. His music frees us.”

Downloads

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Ungarn
Péter Eötvös

Péter Eötvös
Péter Eötvös | © Szilvia Csibi

Für den ungarischen Komponisten und Dirigenten Péter Eötvös ist Musik eine intensive Kommunikation zwischen Komponist, Interpret und Publikum. 1944 in Transsilvanien geboren – für ihn ein Sehnsuchtsort, der seine Kompositionen geprägt hat – hat er früh den Kontakt zu zeitgenössischen europäischen Musikkulturen gesucht. In den 1960er Jahren fand er den Anschluss an die Kölner Musik-Avantgarde und leitete 1978 auf Einladung von Pierre Boulez das Eröffnungskonzert des Institute de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM) in Paris. 


Péter Eötvös zählt zu den erfolgreichsten Opernkomponisten unserer Zeit – seine außergewöhnlichen Klangkompositionen stellen unablässig existentielle Fragen, für die der Komponist musikalisch eindringliche, oft überwältigende Antworten erfindet. Mit dem 1991 gegründeten „Internationalen Péter Eötvös Institut für junge Dirigenten und Komponisten“ schafft er eine Plattform, um erworbenes Wissen und gelebte Erfahrung an die nächste Generation weiterzugeben. Von 1992 an lehrt Péter Eötvös an der Musikhochschule in Karlsruhe, übernimmt 1998 eine Professur an der Kölner Musikhochschule, um 2002 für fünf weitere Jahre nach Karlsruhe zurückzukehren. Seit den 1990er Jahren widmet Péter Eötvös sich verstärkt der Komposition von Konzertwerken und Opern. Seinen Durchbruch erzielt er 1998 mit der an der Opéra de Lyon uraufgeführten Oper „Trois soeurs“ nach Anton Tschechows Schauspiel „Drei Schwestern“, einem sensationellen Erfolg. Fortan teilt er seine Zeit zwischen dem Dasein als Dirigent und als Komponist auf und widmet sich dabei auch politischen Themen wie in dem Musiktheater „Der Goldene Drache“, welches sich mit Globalisierung und Migrationspolitik befasst und 2014 als Auftragskomposition für das Ensemble Modern an der Oper Frankfurt uraufgeführt wurde.

Der Schriftsteller und Dramatiker Albert Ostermaier sprach in seiner Laudatio an Péter Eötvös über die Fähigkeit des Komponisten, das Unsichtbare mit seiner Musik sichtbar zu machen: „Atlantis, so heißt eine seiner frühen Opus, dieses Atlantis, es könnte auch, versunken in der Unterbühne liegen, oder sein Stück Levitation genau hier unter den bebenden Brettern. Jeder Ort ist ein Ort der Ohren, bei ihm lernen die Augen zu hören, die Ohren zu sehen. Und noch viel mehr: Er legt sie frei, die Mechanik des Unsichtbaren. Er ist ein Sprachakrobat, denn seine Musik spricht alle Sprachen und jedes Stück eine neue, er ist ein Stimmakrobat, er lernt die Sprachen, indem er sie den Stimmen abhört, aber seine Stimmen ergeben kein Babylon, sondern vermehren, überlagern, widersprechen, überschlagen sich, verschmelzen zu einer einzigen, universellen Sprache, die jeder versteht und die alles unverständlich Geglaubte verstehen lässt im Hören. Seine Musik befreit uns.“

Downloads

Top