Kritikmaschine
Friedrich von Borries

Is Design Political?

We all have an image of what design is: the shaping of the objects that surround us. What is political about that? Nothing at first. Design becomes political when we see more in it than the shaping of our environment’s surfaces. Friedrich von Borries, architect and professor of design theory at the HFBK Hamburg, Germany, offers two approaches to this: 
 
The first approach is empirical: Design is political because designers intervene in the world with their actions. They are constantly changing the world in which we live. If we observe all that is “designed” today, we will see that design not only affects things, but also relationships. In addition to actual objects, design is also a matter of production conditions and economic networks as well as humankind. Hence, good examples of how design becomes political are politicians themselves, whose alleged authenticity is often the result of targeted design processes.
 
The second approach is a philosophical one, because empirical observation does not disclose the intentions of designers’ interventions in the world. To create a normative setting, Friedrich von Borries carries forward reflections by philosophers Martin Heidegger and Vilém Flusser. In doing so, he contrasts “projection” – the chief activity of all designers – with “subjection.” Seen this way, design is political because it is an emancipatory praxis. It intervenes in the world in order to improve conditions of life. 
 
Each lecture by Friedrich von Borries will receive a response by a local expert followed by a discussion with the audience. Each evening discussion is part of a “world tour” during which the question of how design becomes political will be discussed in different local contexts from diverse political perspectives. The project will close with a publication of Friedrich von Borries’s lecture, the reactions to it by his various discussion partners as well as portraits of the tour destinations.

 

Friedrich von Borries: Impressions from Boston, Riga and St. Petersburg

  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Photo: Toms Taukulis
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Photo: Toms Taukulis
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Photo: Toms Taukulis
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Photo: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Photo: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Photo: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Photo: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Photo: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in St. Petersburg Photo: Ksenia Disterhof

Kritikmaschine
Friedrich von Borries

Ist Design politisch?

Warum Designer mehr als die Oberfläche unserer Umwelt gestalten wollen

Wir alle haben ein Bild davon, was Design ist: Die Gestaltung der Dinge, die uns umgeben. Was daran politisch sein soll? Erstmal nichts. Politisch wird Design, wenn man mehr darin sieht als die Gestaltung der Oberflächen unserer Umwelt. Dazu bietet Friedrich von Borries, Architekt und Professor für Designtheorie an der Hochschule für Bildende Kunst in Hamburg, zwei unterschiedliche Zugänge an: 
 
Der erste Zugang ist ein empirischer: Design ist politisch, weil Designer mit ihrem Handeln in die Welt eingreifen. Sie verändern fortlaufend die Welt, in der wir leben. Beobachtet man, was heute alles »designed« wird, sieht man, dass Design nicht nur die Gestaltung von Dingen betrifft, sondern auch die von Beziehungen. Zum Gegenstand von Design gehören neben den Gegenständen auch die Produktionsbedingungen und die ökonomischen Geflechte, aber auch der Mensch selbst. Ein gutes Beispiel, wie Design politisch wird, sind deshalb Politiker selbst, deren vermeintliche Authentizität oft Ergebnis gezielter Designprozesse ist.
 
Der zweite Zugang in ein philosophischer, denn in der empirischen Beobachtung bleibt offen, mit welcher Absicht Designer in die Welt eingreifen. Um hier eine normative Setzung vorzunehmen, führt Friedrich von Borries Überlegungen der Philosophen Martin Heidegger und Vilém Flusser fort. Dazu stellt er den »Entwurf« – die Kerntätigkeit aller Designer – der »Unterwerfung« gegenüber. Ein so verstandenes Design ist politisch, weil es eine emanzipatorische Praxis. Sie greift in die Welt ein, um Lebensbedingungen zu verbessern.

 

Friedrich von Borries: Impressionen aus Boston, Riga und St. Petersburg

  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Boston Goethe-Institut Boston |
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Foto: Toms Taukulis
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Foto: Toms Taukulis
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Foto: Toms Taukulis
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Foto: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Foto: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Foto: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Foto: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in Riga Foto: Arne Schneider
  • Friedrich von Borries in St. Petersburg Foto: Ksenia Disterhof