How do you compose a Roma song? Roma and Sinti in literature
Leipzig Book Fair 2018

Friday, 16th March, 2.00 – 3.00 pm

Panel discussion

Roma and Sinti are amongst the most disadvantaged and discriminated groups in Europe. This affects all areas of life, from accessing education, accommodation and work to healthcare, and involves massive marginalisation and racism.
Nevertheless, the Roma and Sinti are tackling the challenges of the still-young 21st century with self-confidence. As a result we are now seeing literature that is more descriptive and investigative, as opposed to merely reproducing clichés.
Musician and activist Dotschy Reinhardt, poet and journalist Kujtim Paçaku, and author Murat Baltić speak on this subject.

These artists will be on a panel in Leipzig with the President of the Goethe-Institut, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, to discuss the challenges facing European societies as far as recognition of the Roma people is concerned, and how culture and cultural policy can influence societies.

Panellists:
Murat Baltić
(Yugoslavia/Germany), author
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (Germany), President of the Goethe-Institut
Kujtim Paçaku (Kosovo), poet and journalist
Dotschy Reinhardt (Germany)

Introduction and presentation:
Iulia Patrut
(Germany), literary scholar  

Event organised by: Goethe-Institut, Romanian Ministry of Culture and National Identity / Romania. Zoom in, Traduki

Location: Traduki Stage, Hall 4 / D507

Wie macht man ein Roma-Lied? Roma und Sinti in der Literatur
Leipziger Buchmesse 2018

FREITAG, 16. MÄRZ, 14.00 - 15.00 UHR

PODIUMSGESPRÄCH

Roma und Sinti gehören zu den am stärksten benachteiligten und diskriminierten Gruppen in Europa. Dies betrifft alle Lebensbereiche, von Zugang zu Bildung, Wohnung und Arbeit bis zur Gesundheitsversorgung und geht einher mit massiven Ausgrenzungen und Rassismus.
Trotzdem begegnen Roma und Sinti mit einem Selbstbewusstsein den Herausforderungen des noch jungen 21. Jahrhunderts. Und so findet sich mittlerweile auch Literatur, die mehr beschreibt und eruiert als lediglich die Reproduktion von Klischees.
Dafür sprechen die Musikerin und Aktivistin Dotschy Reinhardt, der Lyriker und Journalist Kujtim Paçaku und der Autor Murat Baltić.

Welchen Herausforderungen sich die europäischen Gesellschaften bei der Anerkennung der Roma stellen müssen, und wie Kultur und Kulturpolitik Gesellschaften beeinflussen können, werden die Künstler zusammen mit dem Präsidenten des Goethe-Instituts, Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, in Leipzig erörtern. 

Teilnehmer und Teilnehmerinnen:
Murat Baltić
 (Jugoslawien/Deutschland), Schriftsteller
Klaus-Dieter Lehmann (Deutschland), Präsident des Goethe-Instituts
Kujtim Paçaku (Kosovo), Lyriker und Journalist
Dotschy Reinhardt (Deutschland) 

Einführung und Moderation:
Iulia Patrut (Deutschland), Literaturwissenschaftlerin

Veranstalter: Goethe-Institut, Rumänisches Ministerium für Kultur und nationale Identität/Romania, Zoom in, Traduki

Veranstaltungsort: Traduki-Bühne, Halle 4 / D507