Exhibition ACTOPOLIS – The Art of Action

Actopolis Goethe-Institut Athens/Photo: Michael Pappas

Thu, 16.03.2017 -
Sun, 09.04.2017

Alte Post

Poststr. 1-33 / Pauls-Reusch-Str. 2
46045 Oberhausen

Actopolis/Athens

How can we expand and preserve urban spaces as communal spaces?

Cities around the world are faced by challenges. How can we expand and preserve urban spaces as communal spaces even in times of their economic utilization and privatization? What roles are played in these processes by the arts, culture, architecture, self-organized action and activism?

These questions were the focus of artists, architects, philosophers, urbanists and activists in seven different European cities in recent years as part of the transnational cooperation project Actopolis - The Art of Action. The exhibition presents examples of projects from Ankara/Mardin, Athens, Bucharest, Belgrade, Oberhausen, Sarajevo and Zagreb. Materials from the more than 45 individual projects reveal an abundant repertoire of action alternatives for shaping and transforming the cities in which we live.

Actopolis is a call to action that aims to inspire emulation. The materials presented on 50 panels are supplemented by media stations dedicated to the project’s film and video productions. The “public space” of the exhibition – areas for action between the semi-circular spaces – offers opportunities for local additions, fringe events and workshops.

An exhibition by the Goethe-Institut und Urbane Künste Ruhr. Artistic directors: Katja Aßmann, Angelika Fitz, Martin Fritz. Design: NODE Berlin Oslo. Architecture: Stadelmann Schmutz Wössner Architekten, Berlin
 

Back

Ausstellung ACTOPOLIS – Die Kunst zu handeln

Actopolis Goethe-Institut Athen/Foto: Michael Pappas

Do, 16.03.2017 -
So, 09.04.2017

Alte Post

Poststr. 1-33 / Pauls-Reusch-Str. 2
46045 Oberhausen

Actopolis/Athen

Wie kann es gelingen, den urbanen Raum als gemeinsamen Raum der Gesellschaft auszubauen und zu erhalten?

Weltweit stehen Städte vor Herausforderungen. Wie kann es gelingen, den urbanen Raum auch in Zeiten seiner ökonomischen Verwertung und Privatisierung als gemeinsamen Raum der Gesellschaft auszubauen und zu erhalten? Welche Rolle spielen Kunst, Kultur, Architektur, selbstorganisiertes Handeln und Aktivismus in diesen Prozessen?

Im transnationalen Kooperationsprojekt Actopolis - Die Kunst zu Handeln wurden diese Fragestellungen in den letzten Jahren von KünstlerInnen, ArchitektInnen, PhilosophInnen, UrbanistInnen und AktivistInnen in sieben verschiedenen europäischen Städten bearbeitet. Die Ausstellung zeigt Projektbeispiele aus Ankara/Mardin, Athen, Bukarest, Belgrad, Oberhausen, Sarajevo und Zagreb. Materialien aus den mehr als 45 Einzelprojekten zeigen ein reichhaltiges Repertoire an Handlungsoptionen zu Gestaltung und Veränderung der Städte, in denen wir leben.

Actopolis fordert dazu auf, zu handeln und will zur Nachahmung inspirieren.
Das auf insgesamt 50 Tafeln präsentierte Material wird durch Medienstationen ergänzt, die der Film- und Videoproduktion des Projekts gewidmet sind. Der „öffentliche Raum“ der Ausstellung –  Aktionsflächen zwischen den halbkreisförmigen Räumen – bietet die Möglichkeit für lokale Ergänzungen, Rahmenveranstaltungen und Workshops.

Eine Ausstellung des Goethe-Instituts und Urbane Künste Ruhr. Künstlerische Leitung: Katja Aßmann, Angelika Fitz, Martin Fritz. Gestaltung: NODE Berlin Oslo, Architektur: Stadelmann Schmutz Wössner Architekten, Berlin
 

Zurück