Whispering Bodies

Audio walks through the Münchner Stadtmuseum as part of the SPIELART festival

For WHISPERING BODIES, the first part of AUDIOREFLEX MÜNCHEN – SÃO PAULO, which will continue in Brazil in 2018, three artists from the two cities use audio guides to establish personal and political references to the exhibition pieces at the Münchner Stadtmuseum.

Alejandro Ahmed’s audio walk involves small choreographic exercises to help observe one’s own body, pulse and breathing in the context with the museum’s architecture. In her audio thriller, Suli Kurban links the display cases about the NSU murders to the Puppet Theatre/Fairground Attraction collection. The puppets demonstrate how “foreigners” are staged as exotic horrors. Similar strategies can be found in the reporting on the NSU with its criminalising presentation of the murder victims. José Fernando de Azevedo deals with flight and fear by guiding visitors through the National Socialism in Munich exhibition.
 
Using the unusual format of audio performances for a museum, new possibilities are explored to experience the exhibitions in a playful and yet critical manner.
 
Idea and dramaturgy: Sigrid Gareis; Artistic design: Alejandro Ahmed, José Fernando de Azevedo and Suli Kurban.

Production: SPIELART Festival Munich in cooperation with Münchner Stadtmuseum, Museu da Imigração do Estado de São Paulo, Goethe-Institut São Paulo and MITsp – Mostra Internacional de Teatro de São Paulo Festival. Funded by the Cultural Office of the State Capital of Munich, the Artist-in-Residence Programme at Ebenböckhaus and the Goethe-Institut.
 
Whispering Bodies is Munich’s part of the project Audioreflex München-Sao Paulo, which will be continued in spring of 2018 at the Museu da Imigração do Estado de São Paulo with the artists Ariel Ephraim Ashbel, Claudia Bosse and Rita Natalio.  
 

Back

Hör-Performances Whispering Bodies

Hörspaziergänge durch das Münchner Stadtmuseum im Rahmen des Festivals SPIELART

Für WHISPERING BODIES, erster Teil von AUDIOREFLEX MÜNCHEN – SÃO PAULO, dessen zweite Hälfte 2018 in Brasilien stattfinden wird, stellen drei Künstler*innen aus beiden Städten in Audio-Guides persönliche und politische Bezüge zu den Ausstellungsstücken des Münchner Stadtmuseums her.

Alejandro Ahmeds Hörspaziergang enthält kleine choreografische Aufgaben
zur Beobachtung des eigenen Körpers, Pulses, Atemrhythmus im Kontext der Museumsarchitektur. In ihrem Audio-Thriller bringt Suli Kurban die Vitrinen zu den NSU-Morden mit der Sammlung Puppentheater/Schaustellerei zusammen. Die Puppen dort zeigen, wie »Fremde« als exotischer Gruselfaktor inszeniert werden – ähnliche Strategien finden sich in der Berichterstattung zum NSU mit ihrer kriminalisierenden Zurschaustellung der Opfer. José Fernando de Azevedo beschäftigt sich mit Flucht und Angst und führt hierzu durch die Ausstellung »Nationalsozialismus in München«.

Durch das fürs Museum unübliche Format der Hör-Performances werden neue Möglichkeiten eröffnet, die Ausstellungen auf spielerische und doch kritische Art zu erfahren.

Idee und Dramaturgie: Sigrid Gareis, Künstlerische Gestaltung: Alejandro Ahmed, José Fernando de Azevedo und Suli Kurban.

Produktion SPIELART Festival München in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Münchner Stadtmuseum, Museu da Imigração do Estado de São Paulo, Goethe-Institut São Paulo und MITsp – Mostra Internacional de Teatro de São Paulo Festival. Gefördert vom Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München und dem Artist-in-Residence-Programm im Ebenböckhaus, sowie dem Goethe-Institut.

„Whispering Bodies“ ist der Münchner Teil des Projektes „Audioreflex München-Sao Paulo“, das im Frühjahr 2018 am Museu da Imigração do Estado de São Paulo mit den Künstler*innen Ariel Ephraim Ashbel, Claudia Bosse und Rita Natalio fortgesetzt wird.
 

Zurück