Berlin – Zagreb – Moscow

Hannes Grandits

Prof. Hannes Grandits © Prof. Hannes Grandits Hannes Grandits, born in 1966, has been professor of South-Eastern European History at the Humboldt University of Berlin since 2010. He was lecturer of South-Eastern European History at the Historical Institute of the University of Graz (2003-2008) – teaching and leading the following research programmes: “Kinship and Social Security in Europe” (6th Framework Programme of the EU); “Tourism and Leisure Cultures in Socialist Yugoslavia” (Austrian Research Fund – FWF); “Ambiguous Nation-Building in South-Eastern Europe” (VW Foundation/FWF). In 2008/09 he served as interim professor of South-Eastern European history at the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich.

Statement
Phantom Grenzen © Wallstein During the fundamental social upheavals of the 1990’s, discursively enacted nostalgias for an historical or cultural situation in the past took on a surprisingly great significance in the political rivalries for a new direction following the end of the socialist system of rule and knowledge. This evinced a different specificity and situative potency from one case to another. This potency was closely connected with what situations people in the respective societies were compelled to master simultaneously. However, the ways in which the current situation in the present could be explained by means of recourse to historical experiences existing in the society were always of relevance.
 

Johannes Grotzky

Prof. Johannes Grotzky © Prof. Johannes Grotzky Johannes Grotzky is a journalist and honorary professor of Eastern European studies, culture and media at the University of Bamberg. From 2002 until 2014 he served as radio director of the Bayerischer Rundfunk and previously held a number of positions, among them director of the division of politics, chief radio correspondent and chief editor for Central and Eastern Europe in Munich. From 1989 until 2002 he directed the ARD radio studio for South-Eastern Europe in Vienna. As an ARD correspondent he lived for over six years, from August 1983 – July 1989, in Moscow. He studied Slavic and Balkan area studies and the history of Eastern and South-Eastern Europe at the Universities of Munich and Zagreb.
 In addition to his journalistic activities Grotzky has published numerous essays and books about the nations of South-Eastern Europe. He also wrote for the weekly newspaper DIE ZEIT and the Neue Zürcher Zeitung for many years.
 

Anatoly Golubowsky

Anatoly Golubovskiy is a historian, sociologist, museum planner, curator and documentary and radio producer. He is co-founder of the Independent Historical Society (2014). Co-founder and first editor-in-chief of the State Kultura Radio (91.6 FM in Moscow, 2003-2007), editor-in-chief of Kino FM Radio (2007-2008) and STREAM Television Company (9 cable channels, 2008-2014). Curator of museum projects and art exhibitions. Producer, scriptwriter and host of television programmes and documentaries on arts and culture, such as “The Island and the Treasure. The Berlin Museum Island” (supported by the Goethe-Institute, Moscow, 2012 – broadcast by the State Kultura Channel).
 

Gasan Gusejnov

 Prof. Gasan Gusejnov © Prof. Gasan Gusejnov Gasan Guseynov is professor at the Faculty of Philology of the National Research University, “Higher School of Economics”, (Moscow) and visiting professor at the University of Basel. Author of books, dictionaries, articles and university courses on the Russian Political Rhetoric and Discourse in the 20th and 21st centuries. As a columnist at the Novaya Gazeta and Radio France International (Russian Service) he is mainly devoted to critical analysis of the speech practices of the Russian media and political actors.
 

Ivo Banac

Prof. Ivo Banac © Prof. Ivo Banac Ivo Banac is Bradford Durfee Emeritus Professor of History at Yale University and Professor of History at the University of Zagreb. From 1995 to 1999 he was the University Professor of History at the Central European University at Budapest, where he also directed the OSI/CEU Institute on Southeastern Europe. Two of his books were especially honoured, The National Question in Yugoslavia: Origins, History, Politics (1984, Wayne S. Vucinich Prize) and With Stalin against Tito: Cominformist Splits in Yugoslav Communism (1988, Strossmayer Prize). He served as the co-chair of the Open Society Institute (Croatia) and as the Director General of the Inter-University Centre, Dubrovnik. He was also minister of environmental protection and urban planning in the government of Croatia, a member of the Croatian parliament (Sabor), president of the Croatian Helsinki Committee for Human Rights, and editor of East European Politics and Societies. He is a corresponding member of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and Arts (HAZU).
 

Bojan Munjin

Bojan Munjin © Bojan Munjin A reporter working as an editor at the Croatian Radio Channel Three in Zagreb. The topics he deals with and his fields of interest are culture and social issues in a broader sense, and the theatre in a narrow sense, the latter often being the subject of his radio reports and texts in various periodicals in Croatia and the region. One of the professional media he engages into and is intensively involved with are public discussions he leads as a radio editor. They include the Cultural and Information Centre Zagreb (Cro. Kulturno-informativni centar, KIC), where he once worked, as well as other institutions and gatherings where he has moderated discussions on various topical issues.

Berlin – Zagreb – Moskau

Hannes Grandits

Prof. Hannes Grandits © Prof. Hannes Grandits Hannes Grandits (1966) ist seit 2010 Professor für Südosteuropäische Geschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Er war u.a Dozent für Südosteuropäische Geschichte am Institut für Geschichte der Universität Graz (2003-2008) – dort lehrte und leitete er  folgende Forschungsprojekte: „Kinship and Social Security in Europe“ (6. Rahmenprogramm der EU); „Tourism and Leisure Cultures in Socialist Yugoslavia“ (Österr. Wissenschaftsfond – FWF); „Ambiguous Nationbuilding in Southeastern Europe (VW-Stiftung/FWF). 2008/09 vertrat er die Professur für Südosteuropäische Geschichte an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München.

Statement
Phantom Grenzen © Wallstein Während des fundamentalen gesellschaftlichen Umbruchs der 1990er Jahre erhielten diskursiv inszenierte Nostalgien an eine historische oder kulturelle Situation in der Vergangenheit eine überraschend große Bedeutung im politischen Wettkampf für eine Neuausrichtung nach dem Ende der sozialistischen Herrschafts- und Wissensordnung. Das hatte von Fall zu Fall eine andere Spezifik und situative Wirkungsmacht. Diese Wirkungsmacht hing eng damit zusammen, welche Situationen  Menschen in den jeweiligen Gesellschaften auf einmal zu bewältigen hatten.  Dabei war es jedoch immer relevant, wie sich die aktuellen Situationen der Gegenwart durch Rückgriffe auf in der Gesellschaft existente historische Erfahrungen erklären ließen.

 

Johannes Grotzky

Prof. Johannes Grotzky © Prof. Johannes Grotzky Johannes Grotzky ist Journalist und Honorarprofessor für Osteuropawissenschaften, Kultur und Medien an der Universität Bamberg. Von 2002 bis 2014 wirkte er als Hörfunkdirektor des Bayerischen Rundfunks und war zuvor in verschiedenen Positionen, u.a. als Leiter der Abteilung Politik, Chefkorrespondent Hörfunk, sowie als Redaktionsleiter Mittel- und Osteuropa in München tätig. Von 1989 bis 2002 leitete er das ARD-Hörfunkstudio Südosteuropa in Wien. Als ARD – Korrespondent lebte er von August 1983 – Juli 1989 über 6 Jahre Moskau Studium an den Universitäten München und Zagreb Slavistik, Balkanologie, Geschichte Ost- und Südosteuropas.  Neben seiner journalistischen Tätigkeit publizierte Grotzky zahlreiche Aufsätze und Bücher, in denen er sich mit den Staaten Osteuropas beschäftigt. Überdies war er langjähriger Autor der Hamburger Wochenzeitung DIE ZEIT und der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung.


Anatoly Golubowsky

Anatoly Golubovskiy ist Historiker, Soziologe, Museumsplaner, Kurator und Dokumentarfilm- und Radioproduzent. Er ist Mitbegründer der Unabhängigen Historischen Gesellschaft (2014),.mitbegründer und erster Chefredakteur des staatlichen Radiosenders „Kultura“ (91.6 FM in Moscow, 2003– 2007), Chefredakteur des Kino FM Radio (2007– 2008) und der STREAM Television Company (9 cable channels, 2008– 2014). Zudem ist er Kurator von Museumsprojekten und Kunstausstellungen, Produzent, Drehbuchautor und Moderator von Fernsehprogrammen und Dokumentarfilmen zu Kunst und Kultur, wie etwa „Insel und Schatz. Museumsinsel Berlin“ (unterstützt durch das Goethe-Institut Moskau, 2012 – gesendet auf dem staatlichen Fernsehsender „Kultura“)
 

Gasan Gusejnov

 Prof. Gasan Gusejnov © Prof. Gasan Gusejnov Gasan Guseynov ist Professor an der philologischen Fakultät der Nationalen Forschungsuniversität „Higher School of Economics“ und Gastprofessor an der Universität Basel. Autor zahlreicher Bücher, Wörterbücher, Artikel und Seminare zur politischen Rhetorik und Diskurse in Russland im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert. Als Kolumnist bei der Novaya Gazeta und dem Radio France International (Russland) beschäftigt er sich hauptsächlich mit der kritischen Analyse  von Sprechpraktiken in den russischen Medien und von politischen Akteuren. 
 

Ivo Banac

Prof. Ivo Banac © Prof. Ivo Banac Ivo Banac ist Bradford Durfee Professor Emeritus der Geschichtswissenschaften an der Yale University und Professor für Geschichtswissenschaften an der Universität von Zagreb. Von 1995 bis 1999 war er Geschichtsprofessor an der Central European University in Budapest, wo er außerdem Leiter des OSI/CEU Instituts für Südosteuropa war. Zwei seiner Bücher wurden ausgezeichnet - The National Question in Yugoslavia: Origins, History, Politics erhielt 1984 den Wayne S. Vucinich Preis und With Stalin against Tito: Cominformist Splits in Yugoslav Communism wurde 1988 mit dem Strossmayer Preis ausgezeichnet. Er war Co-Vorsitzender des Open Society Insituts (Kroatien) und Generaldirektor des Inter-University Centers, Dubrovnik. Zudem war er Minister für Umweltschutz und Stadtplanung in Kroatien, Mitglied des Parlaments (Sabor), Präsident der Internationalen Helsinki-Föderation für Menschenrechte und Herausgeber von East European Politics and Societies. Er ist korrespondierendes Mitglied der Kroatischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste (HAZU).
 

Bojan Munjin

Bojan Munjin © Bojan Munjin Bojan Munjin ist Journalist und arbeitet als Redakteur für das 3. Programm des öffentlichen kroatischen Radiosenders in Zagreb. Seine Themen- und Interessensschwerpunkte liegen bei Fragen zu Gesellschaft und Kultur, insbesondere Theater, worüber er in Radio und Print in Kroatien und der Region berichtet. Darüber hinaus leitet er als Radioredakteur und Moderator regelmäßig Diskussionen zu aktuellen Themen, sei es im Kultur- und Informationszentrum in  Zagreb, wo er einige Jahre arbeitete, als auch im Rahmen weiterer Institutionen und Tagungen.