Competing Narratives
On the Global Crisis of Liberal Narratives

Banner © mischen, Harri Kuhn

Programme PresentersDocumentation

 

Friday, 24 March and Saturday, 25 March 2017, Berlin

At the two-day public conference ‘Competing Narratives: On the Global Crisis of Liberal Narratives’, approximately 200 participants, including numerous international activists, artists and academics, will discuss the ‘contest of narratives’ (Frank Gadinger) with respect to liberal and illiberal narratives in the context of overarching themes such as human rights, freedom of speech and expression, sexual orientation, flight and migration.
Programme download

Over the past 300 years, liberal narratives have established themselves world-wide that seek to protect the individual from the power of the state and of other actors and to promote his free development. These include consensus on the meaning and validity of human rights, the independence of justice and the media as a necessary element of a functioning democracy, but also the specific significance - and responsibility - of private-property rights in a market economy. Currently, illiberal narratives are gaining ground internationally and are putting liberal narratives and thereby the open society under pressure. One example are competing narratives on the role of non-governmental organisations: for some they are actors of a dynamic civil society, for others agents of hostile powers..
 
The two-day conference ‘Competing Narratives: On the Global Crisis of Liberal Narratives,’ to be held on 24 and 25 March 2017 in Berlin, will spotlight central questions on these phenomena: do illiberal narratives exist in countries such as China, Germany, France, India, Poland, Russia, Turkey and the USA and what strategies are they pursuing?  What meaning do the concepts of ‘liberal’ and ‘illiberal’ have today, if any? What new advocates of liberal narratives are active, and how can the open society be defended? Approximately 200 participants, including numerous international activists, artists and academics will discuss the ‘Wettkampf von Erzählungen’ / ‘contest of narratives’ (Frank Gadinger) in the context of overarching themes such as democracy, human rights, freedom of speech and expression, state interventions and encroachments, sexual orientation and gender, and flight and migration. The public will be able to participate in the discussions following the speakers’ respective talks. Performative elements will complement the contributions. Participants include Nigerian slam poet Efe Paul Azino, Russian political scientist Ekaterina Schulmann, Hong Kong economist Chandran Nair, American jurist Michele Goodwin and Indian cultural journalist Ranjit Hoskoté.

The conference ‘Competing Narratives: On the Global Crisis of Liberal Narratives’ is a joint event of the Goethe-Institut, the Heinrich Böll Foundation, the Federation of German Industries and the  Käte Hamburger Kolleg/Centre for Global Cooperation Research.  
 

Documentation

Narrative

Begrüßung (1/8)

all Videos from the Conference (YouTube)

Press

Hashtag

Wettbewerb der Narrative
Zur globalen Krise liberaler Erzählungen

Banner © mischen, Harri Kuhn

Freitag, 24. und Samstag, 25.03.2017, Berlin

Bei der zweitägigen, öffentlichen Tagung „Wettbewerb der Narrative: Zur globalen Krise liberaler Erzählungen“ am 24. und 25. März 2017 in Berlin debattieren rund 200 Teilnehmende, darunter zahlreiche internationale Aktivistinnen, Künstler und Wissenschaftlerinnen, den „Wettkampf von Erzählungen“ (Frank Gadinger) im Hinblick auf liberale und illiberale Erzählungen anhand von übergreifenden Themen wie Menschenrechte, Meinungsfreiheit, sexuelle Orientierung oder Flucht und Migration.

In den vergangenen 300 Jahren haben sich weltweit liberale Erzählungen etabliert, die den Einzelnen vor der Gewalt des Staates sowie anderer Akteure schützen wollen und auf die freie Entfaltung seiner Persönlichkeit zielen. Dazu gehören der Konsens über die Bedeutung und Gültigkeit der Menschenrechte oder die Unabhängigkeit von Justiz und Medien als notwendiger Bestandteil einer funktionierenden Demokratie, aber auch die besondere Bedeutung – und Verantwortung – privater Eigentumsrechte in einer Marktwirtschaft. Derzeit gewinnen weltweit illiberale Erzählungen an Raum und setzen liberale Erzählungen und damit die offene Gesellschaft unter Druck. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist der Wettstreit der Erzählungen über die Rolle von Nichtregierungsorganisationen: Für die einen sind sie Akteure einer lebendigen Zivilgesellschaft, für die anderen Agenten feindlicher Mächte.
 
Die zweitägige Tagung „Wettbewerb der Narrative: Zur globalen Krise liberaler Erzählungen“, die am 24. und 25. März 2017 in Berlin stattfindet, stellt zu diesen Phänomenen zentrale Fragen: Welche illiberalen Narrative gibt es in Ländern wie China, Deutschland, Frankreich, Indien, Polen, Russland, der Türkei oder in den USA und welche Strategien verfolgen sie? Was bedeuten die Begriffe „liberal“ und „illiberal“ heute überhaupt? Welche neuen Verfechter liberaler Narrative sind aktiv und wie kann die offene Gesellschaft verteidigt werden? Rund 200 Teilnehmende, darunter zahlreiche internationale Aktivistinnen, Künstler und Wissenschaftlerinnen, debattieren über den „Wettkampf von Erzählungen“ (Frank Gadinger) anhand von übergreifenden Themen wie Demokratie, Menschenrechte, Meinungsfreiheit, staatliche Ein- und Übergriffe, sexuelle Orientierung und Geschlecht oder Flucht und Migration. Die Öffentlichkeit kann nach den jeweiligen Impulsvorträgen der Redner mitdiskutieren. Performative Elemente ergänzen die Beiträge zusätzlich. Unter den Teilnehmenden sind der nigerianische Poetry Slammer Efe Paul Azino, die russische Politikwissenschaftlerin Ekaterina Schulmann, der Hongkonger Ökonom Chandran Nair, die amerikanische Juristin Michele Goodwin, der indische Kulturjournalist Ranjit Hoskoté und der deutsche Soziologe Armin Nassehi.
 
Die Tagung „Wettbewerb der Narrative: Zur globalen Krise liberaler Erzählungen“ ist eine gemeinsame Veranstaltung des Goethe-Instituts, der Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung, des Bundesverbands der Deutschen Industrie und des Käte Hamburger Kollegs/Centre for Global Cooperation Research.  

Programm

17:00–17:45 Anmeldung
   
18:00 Eröffnung und Begrüßung
   
18:30 Albrecht Koschorke: Populisten und Liberale
  Vortrag und Diskussion
   
20:00 Empfang
09:00–09:45 Anmeldung
   
10:00
 
Außenperspektive: Liberale Narrative in der internationalen Kritik
  Podiumsdiskussion mit Tongdong Bai, Chandran Nair, Ekaterina Schulmann und Kader Konuk, Moderation: Matthias Krupa
   
12:00 Gemeinsames Mittagessen
   
13:00 Poetry Slam-Performance mit Efe Paul Azino, Mona Harry und Tanasgol Sabbagh
   
14:00
 
Binnenperspektive: Illiberale Narrative in liberalen Gesellschaften
  Podiumsdiskussion mit Ariel Colonomos, Michele Goodwin, Ranjit Hoskote, Armin Nassehi und Karolina Wigura; Moderation: Liane von Billerbeck
   
16:30 Kaffee
   
17:00 Ausblick: Narrative für eine offene Gesellschaft
  Podiumsdiskussion mit Eva Horn und Alister Miskimmon; Moderation: Friederike Herrmann
   
19:00 Resümee der Veranstalter und Verabschiedung
   
19:30 Drinks & Snacks