Kritikmaschine
Kursbuch takes a trip around the world

Cover der Zeitschrift Kursbuch © Murmann Publishers

Are critics of capitalism only seemingly radical and downplaying the real problems? Can a salt shaker be political? What are we talking about when we speak of “refugee integration”? What in fact makes a woman a woman? Is it bad if we find our job good?

Kursbuch is one of Germany’s leading intellectual magazines and seeks to reflect in completely new ways on politics, economics and business, and society. The Goethe-Institut also conceives itself as a site of reflection on society and of political discussion and debate. On the occasion of the magazine’s 50th anniversary, the Goethe-Institut and the Kursbuch editorial board are organising the event series “Kritikmaschine.”

Speakers include journalist Meredith Haaf on the new feminism, author and journalist Wolfgang Bauer reporting on how he accompanied Syrians on their escape to Europe, architect Friedrich von Borries discussing political design, historian Sabine Donauer discussing the theme of digital society and sociologist and Kursbuch editor Armin Nassehi tackling the question of how one might intelligently criticise our society above and beyond the usual trite speechifying. An intellectual from the respective guest country will respond to each lecture.

The event series will not only show how people in Germany are thinking and arguing in these times. It above all seeks to initiate an international exchange, confront mutually “otherised” perspectives with each other; it aims to search for new answers – and for new questions. In 2017, at the conclusion of the tour, German and foreign intellectuals will meet in Munich for a dialogical conference.

Video: "Kursbuch - Widersprüche zulassen! Verbindungen schaffen!" (only in German)

Videos

Entnetzung COLOMBO

Colombo
Entnetzung

Feminismus_heute_MOSKAU

Moskau
Feminismus heute

Flucht nach Europa PARIS

Paris
Flucht nach Europa

Digitale Einzelkämpfer Lissabon

Lissabon
Digitale Einzelkämpfer

Speakers

Events

Date  City Topic
Wed. 15.03.2017 Strasbourg Heinz Bude: Populist moods
Tue. 14.03.2017 Nancy Heinz Bude: Populist moods
Thu. 19.01.2017 Helsinki Armin Nassehi: More Criticism, Please!
Moderation: Karo Hämäläinen (Author, Journalist and Critic) 
Wed. 30.11.2016 Lille Friedrich von Borries. Is Design Political?
Discussant: Philippe Louguet
Fri. 25.11.2016 St. Petersburg Armin Nassehi: More Criticism, Please!/ 16+
Thu. 24.11.2016 Moscow Armin Nassehi: More Criticism, Please! / 18+
Thu. 17.11.2016 Prague Jens-Christian Rabe: Kritik der Kritik
Thu. 27.10.2016  Lisbon Sabine Donauer: Managed by Emotions: Arbeiten in der digitalen Gesellschaft
Discussant: José Luís Garcia
Wed. 26.10.2016 Jakarta Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Discussant: Hafiz Rancajale
Thu. 20.10.2016 Seoul Heinz Bude: Society of Fear
Discussant: Jin-Wook Shin, Chung Ang University Seoul
Tue. 18.10.2016 Colombo Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Wed. 12.10.2016 New York Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Thu. 06.10.2016 Boston Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Fri. 30.09.2016 Chicago Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Discussant: Bess Williamson, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Thu. 29.09.2016 Los Angeles Armin Nassehi: More Criticism, Please!
Discussant: John Summers, historian and former editor-in-chief of The Baffler
Wed. 28.09.2016 Moskau Wolfgang Bauer: Across the Sea
Discussant: Prof.Dr.Vladimir Malakhov der Moscow School of Social and Economic Sciences
Tue. 27.09.2016 Los Angeles Friedrich von Borries: Is Design
Political?

Discussant: Kimberli Meyer, director of the University Art Museum at Cal State Long Beach
Tue. 27.09.2016 Boston Armin Nassehi: More Criticism, Please!
Discussant: John Summers, historian and former editor-in-chief of The Baffler
Mon. 26.09.2016 Montreal Wolfgang Bauer: Across the Sea
Discussant: Agnès Gruda, Journalist
Thu. 22.09.2016 Boston Wolfgang Bauer: Across the Sea
Discussant: Prof. Florence George Graves, Director of The Schuster Institute for Investigative Journalism at Brandeis University
Tue. 20.09.2016 Berkeley Wolfgang Bauer: Across the Sea
Sat. 27.08.2016 Colombo Urs Stäheli: Disconnecting – New Forms of Privacy in the Network Society
Tue. 23.08.2016 London Wolfgang Bauer: Across the Sea
Mon. 22.08.2016 Glasgow Wolfgang Bauer: Across the Sea
Fri. 19.08.2016 Edinburgh Wolfgang Bauer: Across the Sea
Mon. 27.06.2016 Montevideo Urs Stäheli: Disconnecting – New Forms of Privacy in the Network Society 18:00 - 19:30
Urs Stäheli: Disconnecting – New Forms of Privacy in the Network Society 20:00 - 21:30
Sat. 25.06.2016
 
Maastricht Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Discussant: Erik Kluitenberg
Fri. 10.06.2016
 
St. Petersburg Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Wed. 08.06.2016 Moscow Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Mon. 23.05.2016 Prague Heinz Bude: Populist Moods
Wed. 11.05.2016 Paris Wolfgang Bauer: Across the Sea
Wed. 20.04.2016 St. Petersburg Meredith Haaf: Women and the Other –
How Feminism Is Being Put to the Test
Mon. 18.04.2016 Moscow Meredith Haaf: Women and the Other –
How Feminism Is Being Put to the Test

Discussant: Tatjana Wolkowa, Fem Plattform
Fri. 11.03.2016 Riga Friedrich von Borries: Is Design Political?
Discussant: Holger Elers, Prof. for Design, Latvian Academy of Fine Arts