Books — Made in UAE
Reading is Fun! - Workshops for School Librarians

Reading is Fun! © colourbox.com
How can children be encouraged to discover the joy of books, develop their creativity and their thirst for reading? The Goethe-Institut Gulf Region invited school librarians in Abu Dhabi, Al Ain and Sharjah to explore these questions in three interactive workshops.
 

The workshops were conducted by experienced reading promotion expert Gaby Hohm. The workshops were designed to encourage and support librarians from schools and public libraries in the UAE to try out new and interactive methods of reading promotion in their libraries. The methods were designed to actively involve the children in order to make reading and books an important part of every child’s life.The one-day workshops were be based on a „building block concept”. Each building block consists of a creative activity, a stimulating idea or an exciting method how to promote reading to children. From this wide range of building blocks, librarians can then choose those activities which are most suited to their needs and „build” their own reading promotion campaign for their library.

The participants’ experiences, problems and questions from their daily library work were constantly integrated into the workshop and methods and ideas adapted to their needs. Together, librarians and workshop instructor developed new reading promotion strategies that are practicable, easily implemented and that can be adjusted to different library profiles and requirements.

INSPIRING THE JOY OF READING

„Every school librarian wants children to discover the joy of reading”, explains Susanne Sporrer, director of the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region. „This is done most effectively by offering creative and exciting activities that playfully involve the children. If the library is a place where children feel comfortable, where they experience inspiring and exciting events together with other children, books and reading become a natural part of their lives. We want to support school librarians in Abu Dhabi, Al Ain and Sharjah, so that their libraries turn into such places of reading fun.”

The workshop in Abu Dhabi were organised by the Goethe-Institut with the friendly support of the Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority/The National Library. In Sharjah, the workshop was organised by the UAE Board on Books for Young People (UAEBBY), the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region and Knowledge without Borders. In Al Ain, the workshop took place in cooperation with the Sheikh Mohammed Bin Khalid Al Nahyan Future Generation Society. The book material for all three workshops was generously donated by KALIMA.

ABOUT GABY HOHM

Gaby Hohm has worked from 1980 till 2010 for the Stiftung Lesen (German, literal translation: Reading Foundation) – Europe’s largest and most influential reading promotion initiative – which she largely helped to establish as head of programming and strategies. She was mainly responsible for the planning of nationwide reading promotion initiatives. In recent years she has given lectures and conducted workshops about reading promotion and reading research in Beirut, Tripoli, Ramallah, Cairo, Gent, Bologna and London among others.

Books — Made in UAE
LESEN MACHT SPASS! – Workshops für Schulbibliothekare

Lesen macht Spaß! © colourbox.com
Wie vermittelt man Kindern Freude an Büchern, weckt ihre Kreativität und ihre Leselust? Das Goethe-Institut Golf-Region lud Schulbibliothekare in Abu Dhabi, Al Ain und Sharjah ein, diese Fragen in drei interaktiven Workshops zu erkunden.
 

Die Workshops wurden von der erfahrenen Leseförderungsexpertin Gaby Hohm gehalten und sollen jeweils zwanzig Bibliothekare aus öffentlichen Schulen und Kinderbibliotheken in den V.A.E. dazu ermutigen, neue und interaktive Methoden der Leseförderung in ihren Bibliotheken anzuwenden. Diese neuen Methoden sollen die Kinder spielerisch und kreativ an das Lesen heranführen und Bücher zu einem wichtigen Teil ihres Lebens werden lassen.Die eintägigen Workshops basierten auf einem flexiblen „Baustein-Konzept“. Unter verschiedenen Aspekten wurden Ideen und Techniken vorgestellt – die „Bausteine“ – die im Workshop gemeinsam erprobt und erlebt werden. Die Teilnehmerinnen schlüpften in die Rolle der Kinder und erlebten selbst, wie vergnüglich und anregend verschiedene Aktivitäten rund um das Lesen sein können. Gleichzeitig konnten sie ihre Anregungen, Erfahrungen, Probleme und Fragen aus ihrer täglichen Arbeit in diesen gemeinsamen Prozess einbringen und die Bausteine je nach den Bedürfnissen ihrer Bibliothek einsetzen.

KREATIV DIE LESELUST WECKEN

„Jede Schulbibliothekarin, jeder Schulbibliothekar möchte bei seinen Schülern den Spaß am Lesen wecken,“ so Susanne Sporrer, Leiterin des Goethe-Institut Golf-Region. „Das gelingt am besten durch kreative, spielerische und spannende Angebote, bei denen die Kinder selbst aktiv werden. Wird die Bibliothek zu einem Ort, wo sie sich wohl fühlen und mit anderen zusammen anregende und spannende Aktivitäten erleben, werden Bücher und Lesen zu einem selbstverständlichen Teil ihres Lebens. Wir möchten die Schulbibliothekare in Abu Dhabi, Al Ain und Sharjah unterstützen, damit ihre Bibliotheken zu solchen Orten der Leselust werden.“

Der Workshop in Abu Dhabi wurde vom Goethe-Institut mit der freundlichen Unterstützung der Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority/The National Library organisiert. In Sharjah wurde der Workshop gemeinsam mit dem UAE Board on Books for Young People (UAEBBY) und Knowledge Without Borders durchgeführt. In Al Ain fand der Workshop in Zusammenarbeit mit der Sheikh Mohammed Bin Khalid Al Nahyan Future Generation Society  statt. Das Buchmaterial für alle drei Workshops wurde von KALIMA zur Verfügung gestellt.

ÜBER GABY HOHM

Gaby Hohm arbeitete von 1980 bis 2010 für die Stiftung Lesen – Europas größte und einflussreichste Leseförderungsinitiative –, an deren Aufbau sie maßgeblich als Leiterin der Programm- und Strategieabteilung beteiligt war. Sie zeichnete vor allem für die Planung landesweiter Leseförderungsinitiativen verantwortlich. In den letzten Jahren hat sie Seminare und Vorträge zum Thema Leseförderung und -forschung unter anderem in Beirut, Tripoli, Ramallah, Kairo, Gent, Bologna und London gehalten.