Books — Made in UAE
Our participants

Our writers

Aisha Hamad Almehairi was born in Al Ain, she is married and mother of a child. She studied Arabic Literature and received a diploma of Education from UAE University. She used to read and write in young age and she participated in many activities and social programs such as writing workshops. Recently, she wrote a story called I’m free and contributed in the Encyclopedia of Reading. Currently, she is working in the Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority.
A daydreamer with a traveller soul, Alyazia Khalifa develops her observing-self through photography and writings. She was the first intern from the UAE to participate in the IFA cross-cultural internship in 2007. In 2013, she was awarded the Doctorate degree on Intercultural Broadcasting from Kingston University, United Kingdom. Her travel experiences not only inspire her to look into foreign literature, but also expand her own imagination. Alyazia always believed that a person should never kill the child within them to keep their imagination and creativity at their peaks. Currently, she is working on two children’s books and her first young adult fantasy novel in Arabic.

alsuwaidi.alyazia@gmail.com
Asma AlKetbi is a writer-in-the-making. She has been expressing herself through writing since the age of seven and has been doing so ever since.  She holds a B.A. in International Studies from Zayed University, and two minors in English Literature and Applied Psychology.  After her graduation she started pursuing writing as a career. Recently, she started blogging her thoughts and a few short stories while working on her novel, a fantasy for young adults. She is passionate about most things in life but if you must know; she loves books, psychology, philosophy, nail polish and coffee.

asma.ketbi@gmail.com

 

Mouza Al Shamsi is an aspiring writer and a Mangaka who was born and raised in Abu Dhabi and in the imaginary world in her head. She enjoys creativity in things around her, whether it’s art or ideas, trying new things and reading for fun.
Noura Abbas Al-Khoori was born in 1982 in the United Arab Emirates. She graduated as an environmentalist and pursued a four-year career in the field until she became a mother and a home-maker. Her three little children are the main source of inspiration and her bedtime stories spurred the idea of writing books for children that reflect the culture of this region. She is now coupling volunteer work with writing for children.

noura.khoori@gmail.com

 

Shaikha Al Muhairi is an educator and librarian. She holds a Master’s Degree in educational leadership. Currently she works at the Cultural Resources Center of the Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority. She trains librarians, teachers and parents on matters of reading, early literacy, children literature and Information Literacy. Shaikha is a UAEBBY board member.

Our Experts

Noura Al Noman, Portrait © Noura Al Noman With a Bachelor in English Literature (1986) and a Masters in Translation Studies (2004), Noura Al Noman had studied language for many years; but never expected to become a writer, let alone an author of books for Arab children. In 2010, she published her first two picture books for toddlers. Noting the huge deficit in books for young Arabs (aged 15+), she wrote her first novel, Ajwan, one of a handful of science fiction novels in the Arab world, published by Nahdet Misr (Egypt). Noura believes that Arab youth are hungry for fiction, which can excite them enough to read in Arabic. In 2013, Ajwan won the Etisalat Children Literature Award, as Best Young Adult Novel. Noura also won the Arab Woman Award in the Literature category, presented by the ITP Group. Although she has a complete English translation of her first novel, Noura has delayed publishing it to give a chance for the Arabic version to take a foothold. Book two of Ajwan (titled: Mandan) was launched at the Cairo Book Fair in January 2014.
 
Rainer Wekwerth, Portrait © Rainer Wekwerth Rainer Wekwerth, born 1959 in Esslingen am Neckar, writes with passion. He is the author of award-winning children’s and Young Adult books that he published in part under a pseudonym. Mainly native to fantasy novels, he tells stories that go beyond the boundaries of the genre. His latest novels The Labyrinth awakens and The Labyrinth chases you are part of a trilogy that will be finished in 2014. Besides writing, Rainer Wekwerth coaches young authors and students with their book projects.

www.wekwerth.com
Dr. Sattar Izwaini, Portrait © Dr. Sattar Izwaini Dr. Sattar Izwaini graduated with a PhD in Translation Studies from the University of Manchester, United Kingdom in 2004. He has taught languages, linguistics and translation for undergraduate and postgraduate students in Britain and the Middle East. He has a long experience in translating literature and teaching literary translation. He translated Herman Hesse (Klingsor’s Last Summer), Virginia Woolf and Velhelm Moberg into Arabic and Mahmood Jindary into English.

Books — Made in UAE
Unsere Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

Unsere Autorinnen

Aisha Hamad Almehairi wurde in Al Ain geboren, sie ist verheiratet und Mutter eines Kindes. Aisha studierte Arabische Literatur und hat einen Diplomabschuss in Erziehungswissenschaften von der UAE University in Al Ain. Sie las und schrieb schon in sehr jungen Jahren und nahm an verschiedenen Aktivitäten und Programmen wie zum Beispiel Schreibworkshops teil. Vor kurzem schrieb sie eine Geschichte, Ich bin frei, und schrieb einen Beitrag für die Encyclopedia of Reading. Zurzeit arbeitet Aisha bei der Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority.
Alyazia Khalifa ist eine Tagträumerin mit der Seele einer Reisenden, die sich durch Fotografie und Schreiben entfaltet. Als erste Praktikantin aus den VAE nahm sie 2007 an dem Kulturaustausch-Programm des Instituts für Auslandsbeziehungen (IFA) teil. 2013 promovierte sie über „Internationales Broadcasting“ an der Kingston Universität, Großbritannien. Ihre Reiseerfahrung inspirieren sie nicht nur, sich mit fremdsprachiger Literatur zu beschäftigen, sondern bereichern auch ihre Vorstellungswelt. Alyazia glaubt, dass niemand das Kind in sich zerstören und die Phantasie und Kreativität beibehalten sollte. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an zwei Kinderbüchern und an ihrem ersten Fantasy-Roman für Jugendliche.

alsuwaidi.alyazia@gmail.com
Asma AlKetbi ist eine angehende Schriftstellerin, die sich bereits im Alter von sieben Jahren durch Schreiben mitgeteilt hat. Sie hat einen Bachelor of Arts in International Studies von der Zayed University, im Nebenfach studierte sie Englische Literatur und Angewandte Psychologie. Nach ihrem Abschluss begann sie ihre Karriere als Schriftstellerin ernsthaft zu verfolgen. Seit Kurzem schreibt sie einen Blog und Kurzgeschichten, während sie an ihrem Fantasy-Roman arbeitet. Asma hat eine Leidenschaft für viele Dinge im Leben, aber wenn Sie es genau wissen wollen: Sie liebt Bücher, Psychologie, Philosophie, Nagellack und Kaffee.

asma.ketbi@gmail.com
Mouza Al Shamsi, geboren und aufgewachsen in Abu Dhabi,  ist eine junge Schriftstellerin und großer Manga-Fan, die in ihrer eigenen Fantasie-Welt lebt. Sie liebt die Kreativität in den Dingen, die sie umgeben, sei es Kunst oder Ideen, probiert gerne neue Dinge aus und genießt es einfach aus Spaß zu lesen.
Noura Abbas Al-Khoori, geboren 1982 in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, studierte Umweltwissenschaften und arbeitete vier Jahre lang in diesem Gebiet, bis sie Mutter wurde. Ihre drei kleinen Kinder sind die Quelle ihrer Inspiration und ihre Gute Nacht Geschichten brachten sie auf die Idee, Kinderbücher zu schreiben, die die Kultur ihres Landes widerspiegeln. Wenn sie nicht Kinderbücher schreibt, engagiert sich Noura ehrenamtlich.

noura.khoori@gmail.com
Shaikha Al Muhairi ist Pädagogin und Bibliothekarin und hat einen Masterabschluss in Schulmanagement. Zurzeit arbeitet sie beim Cultural Resources Center der Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority. Sie leitet Fortbildungen für Bibliothekare, Lehrer und Eltern in Leseförderung, frühkindliche Literacy, Kinderliteratur und Informationskompetenz. Shaikha ist Mitglied des Beirats von UAEBBY.

Unsere Expertinnen und Experten

Noura Al Noman, Portrait © Noura Al Noman Mit einem Bachelorabschluss in Englischer Literatur (1986) und einem Master in Übersetzung (2004) hat sich Noura Al Noman über viele Jahre hinweg mit Sprache beschäftigt. Dennoch hat sie nie damit gerechnet, Schriftstellerin zu werden, und schon gar nicht Autorin von Kinderbüchern. 2010 veröffentlichte sie ihre ersten beiden Bilderbücher. Der große Mangel an arabischer Literatur für Jugendliche inspirierte sie dazu, ihren ersten Roman, Ajwan, zu schreiben, der zu den wenigen Science Fiction-Romanen in der arabischen Welt zählt und bei Nahdet Misr (Ägypten) erschienen ist. Noura glaubt, dass sich die arabische Jugend sehr für Romane in ihrer Muttersprache interessiert, wenn sie nur spannend genug sind. 2013 erhielt Ajwan den Etisalat Children Literature Award für das beste Jugendbuch. Noura wurde außerdem mit dem Arab Women Award in der Kategorie Literatur ausgezeichnet, der von der ITP Group vergeben wird. Obwohl sie eine komplette englische Übersetzung von Ajwan in der Schublade hat, schiebt sie die Veröffentlichung noch hinaus, um die Verbreitung der arabischen Fassung nachhaltig zu fördern. Mandan, die Fortsetzung von Ajwan, wurde im Januar 2014 auf der Kairoer Buchmesse vorgestellt.
Rainer Wekwerth, Portrait © Rainer Wekwerth Rainer Wekwerth, 1959 in Esslingen am Neckar geboren, ist Autor aus Leidenschaft. Er ist Autor erfolgreicher und preisgekrönter Kinder- und Jugendbücher, die er teilweise unter Pseudonymen, veröffentlicht. Bisher war er hauptsächlich in der Fantasy heimisch, nun erzählt er Geschichten, die die Grenzen der Genres sprengen. Seine jüngsten Romane Das Labyrinth erwacht und Das Labyrinth jagt dich sind Teile einer Trilogie, die Ende 2014 abgeschlossen wird. Neben dem Schreiben coacht er junge Autoren und Schreibschüler.

Zur Webseite von Rainer Wekwerth
Dr. Sattar Izwaini, Portrait © Dr. Sattar Izwaini Dr. Sattar Izwaini promovierte 2004 in Übersetzung an der Universität von Manchester und hat Sprache, Linguistik und Übersetzung in Großbritannien und im Mittleren Osten unterrichtet. Er verfügt ferner über eine reiche Erfahrung in der Übersetzung von Literatur, sowohl in der Lehre als auch in der Praxis. Er übersetzte u.a. Herman Hesses Klingsors letzter Sommer, Virginia Woolf und Velhelm Moberg in die arabische Sprache sowie Mahmood Jindary in die englische Sprache.