Books — Made in UAE
Our participants

Our writers

A daydreamer with a traveller soul, Alyazia Khalifa develops her observing-self through photography and writings. She was the first intern from the UAE to participate in the IFA cross-cultural internship in 2007. In 2013, she was awarded the Doctorate degree on Intercultural Broadcasting from Kingston University, United Kingdom. Her travel experiences not only inspire her to look into foreign literature, but also expand her own imagination. Alyazia always believed that a person should never kill the child within them to keep their imagination and creativity at their peaks. Currently, she is working on two children’s books and her first young adult fantasy novel in Arabic.

alsuwaidi.alyazia@gmail.com
Ayesha Al Hashemi was born and raised in Abu Dhabi. After studying Education and Literature, she started exploring the world of children’s books and writing for them in Arabic. Reading books from her father’s bookcase awakened her love of reading and writing in early life. Coming from a culturally diverse family, Ayesha grew up with an appreciation for languages. She currently works with college students learning Arabic as a second language.

ayesha.hashem@gmail.com
Asma AlKetbi is a writer-in-the-making. She has been expressing herself through writing since the age of seven and has been doing so ever since.  She holds a B.A. in International Studies from Zayed University, and two minors in English Literature and Applied Psychology.  After her graduation she started pursuing writing as a career. Recently, she started blogging her thoughts and a few short stories while working on her novel, a fantasy for young adults. She is passionate about most things in life but if you must know; she loves books, psychology, philosophy, nail polish and coffee.

asma.ketbi@gmail.com
Eman AlRaesi was born on 27th April 1984 and is based in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates. She is a painter, but occasionally also writes. She has published a few texts with the Emirati Female Writers website Untitled Chapters and was once the writer of the month. Eman had her paintings exhibited in many local and regional exhibitions and her first solo show in September 2012. She won a number of awards, the latest was that her design was selected for the Abu Dhabi Art Wing Design Project 2013. Eman is a member of Emirates Fine Arts Society as well as of the Baith AlShamsi artists community and a member of Untitled Chapters.

eman@alraeesi.org
Shaima Mohamed Al-Marzooqi is a young ambitious writer, born in 1988. She is specialized in Early Childhood Education (Pre K-Grade 3) from Zayed University, Dubai. Shaima started writing from a young age and became addicted to reading books and learning about children. She believes that reading had a significant impact on her language, thoughts, and personality. In University, she got great support from her teachers and they encouraged her to write for children and adults. At the moment, Shaima is a weekly author at Alroeya newspaper. She is a member of UAEBBY as well as of the Women Writers Association.

Because she loves the Arabic language, she released a book titled Challenges facing Arabic Language in Today's World. In addition, she is author of a sci-fiction novel titled Rayaana. Many of her children stories are published, such as Hamad's trip in Dubai, My stepmother (Arabic and English), Asma and the Bear Fofo, Ahmed and IPad, My first day in Kindergarten, No one plays with me, What can I do, My lovely grandma, The journey of a paper, Where I put my things, How much I love my father and Who is she?. All of her children stories are written in Arabic language and she participated in many book fairs in United Arab Emirates and other countries.

children.writer@hotmail.com

Khadija Ibrahim Al Khayat, a mother of two, was born and raised in Dubai. She had a love for reading from a very young age and when seeing her kids growing, noticed the scarcity of Arabic children’s stories in the libraries. So she decided to start writing stories for kids herself which was beyond her expectation so that from this point on she keeps on writing. Besides, Khadija continues her studies of Applied Sociology.

uae7585@hotmail.com
A working mother a dream catcher through being an independent curator of – especially young – artists, and a memory capturer by her Cama Ra'a machine while thinking on doodling her thoughts in figures that take her away to the LaLa land and make her paint words over her clothes and walls of possibility ...

reem.qahtan@gmail.com
 

 

Born in Ras Al Khaimah, Sumaiya moved to Abu Dhabi after her marriage and lives in the capital with her husband and two boys. She graduated from Zayed University, Abu Dhabi, in January 2014 with a specialization in Early Childhood Education and likes teaching and interacting with children from age three years old. Sumaiya also loves reading books and started loving pictures books after attending Children’s Literature course with Prof. Patience Sowa.

sumaiya.almansoori@gmail.com

Our illustrators

A daydreamer with a traveller soul, Alyazia Khalifa develops her observing-self through photography and writings. She was the first intern from the UAE to participate in the IFA cross-cultural internship in 2007. In 2013, she was awarded the Doctorate degree on Intercultural Broadcasting from Kingston University, United Kingdom. Her travel experiences not only inspire her to look into foreign literature, but also expand her own imagination. Alyazia always believed that a person should never kill the child within them to keep their imagination and creativity at their peaks. Currently, she is working on two children’s books and her first young adult fantasy novel in Arabic.

alsuwaidi.alyazia@gmail.com
Eman AlRaesi was born on 27th April 1984 and is based in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates. She is a painter, but occasionally also writes. She has published a few texts with the Emirati Female Writers website Untitled Chapters and was once the writer of the month. Eman had her paintings exhibited in many local and regional exhibitions and her first solo show in September 2012. She won a number of awards, the latest was that her design was selected for the Abu Dhabi Art Wing Design Project 2013. Eman is a member of Emirates Fine Arts Society as well as of the Baith AlShamsi artists community and a member of Untitled Chapters.

eman@alraeesi.org
A working mother a dream catcher through being an independent curator of – especially young – artists, and a memory capturer by her Cama Ra'a machine while thinking on doodling her thoughts in figures that take her away to the LaLa land and make her paint words over her clothes and walls of possibility ...

reem.qahtan@gmail.com

Instagram page of Reem Qahtan
Maha Al Ali, born in 1985 in Abu Dhabi, graduated in 2007 from Zayed University in Graphic Design (Bachelor of Arts). Whilst growing an interest in barrier free design, she started to conduct her own research on what was available in Dubai and benchmarking it to other countries, such as Japan and some states in the US. Passion in hand, Maha left the comforts of United Arab Emirates to study barrier free design in Kyushu University, where the most advanced underground station practical for people with disabilities was established. Three years later, Maha not only managed to get her masters in Design, but also came up with her own guidelines for a holistic design, implementing the understanding of emotional design into barrier free design.

m.alsuroor@gmail.com

 

Maitha Al Khayat is a children’s book author and illustrator who is passionate about reading and writing since childhood. A graduate in business administration from Higher Colleges of Technology in Ras Al Khaimah, Maitha worked in the college library before becoming a full time mother.  The need for funny Emirati books inspired her to write and illustrate for children. Among her published works are I love my Daddy’s Long Beard and the award-winning My own special way – the first Emirati children’s book to see its rights sold to the UK. Her book When a Camel Craves Loqaimat was published during Sharjah International Book Fair 2012.

Instagram page of Maitha Al Khayat

maitha.alkhayat@hotmail.com

Our Experts

Jutta Bauer, Portrait © Karen Seggelke Jutta Bauer was born in Volksdorf, a suburb of Hamburg, in 1955. She studied illustration at the Hamburg University for Applied Sciences from 1975 until 1981. In 1980 she became a member of a group of illustrators in Hamburg, the Hamburger Illustratorengruppe. She published her first picture books in 1981, worked for various publishing houses and magazines, and began drawing for animated films in 1991.Among her best-known works are her illustrations for the Juli series by Kirsten Boie. She has illustrated some 40 books and received many awards. In 2009 she was awarded the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis for her complete works, and in 2010 she was honored with the Hans Christian Andersen prize. Today Jutta Bauer lives and works as an artist in Hamburg.

 

Anja Tuckermann, Portrait © Bernd Sahling Anja Tuckermann grew up in Berlin where she lives today. Her first novel Mooskopf was published in 1988. From 1988 to 1997 she was a radio editor for children’s programs. Since then, she has been a free-lance writer and journalist publishing children’s books, novels, short fiction and theatre plays. Her books have been translated into ten languages. Since 1993, she leads creative writing workshops and seminars for prose and theatre with children, young adults and adults. She has won several awards for her novels and plays, including the Hans im Glück-Prize, the Friedrich Gerstäcker-Prize and the German Youth Literature Prize.

Books — Made in UAE
UNSERE TEILNEHMERINNEN

Unsere Autorinnen

Alyazia Khalifa ist eine Tagträumerin mit der Seele einer Reisenden, die sich durch Fotografie und Schreiben entfaltet. Als erste Praktikantin aus den VAE nahm sie 2007 an dem Kulturaustausch-Programm des Instituts für Auslandsbeziehungen (IFA) teil. 2013 promovierte sie über „Internationales Broadcasting“ an der Kingston Universität, Großbritannien. Ihre Reiseerfahrung inspirieren sie nicht nur, sich mit fremdsprachiger Literatur zu beschäftigen, sondern bereichern auch ihre Vorstellungswelt. Alyazia glaubt, dass niemand das Kind in sich zerstören und die Phantasie und Kreativität beibehalten sollte. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an zwei Kinderbüchern und an ihrem ersten Fantasy-Roman für Jugendliche.

alsuwaidi.alyazia@gmail.com
Ayesha Al Hashemi, geboren und aufgewachsen in Abu Dhabi. Nach ihrem Literatur- und Erziehungswissenschaftsstudium begann sie die Kinderbuchwelt zu erkunden und schrieb selber für Kinder. Sie las die Bücher aus den Bücherregalen ihres Vaters und begann schon früh Lesen und Schreiben zu lieben. Durch ihren eigenen multikulturellen familiären Hintergrund lernte sie Sprachen wertzuschätzen. Zurzeit arbeitet sie mit ausländischen Studenten, die in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten Arabisch lernen.

ayesha.hashem@gmail.com
Asma AlKetbi ist eine angehende Schriftstellerin, die sich bereits im Alter von sieben Jahren durch Schreiben mitgeteilt hat. Sie hat einen Bachelor of Arts in International Studies von der Zayed University, im Nebenfach studierte sie Englische Literatur und Angewandte Psychologie. Nach ihrem Abschluss begann sie ihre Karriere als Schriftstellerin ernsthaft zu verfolgen. Seit Kurzem schreibt sie einen Blog und Kurzgeschichten, während sie an ihrem Fantasy-Roman arbeitet. Asma hat eine Leidenschaft für viele Dinge im Leben, aber wenn Sie es genau wissen wollen: Sie liebt Bücher, Psychologie, Philosophie, Nagellack und Kaffee.

asma.ketbi@gmail.com
Eman AlRaesi wurde am 27. April 1984 geboren und lebt in Sharjah. Sie ist Malerin und schreibt auch gelegentlich. Sie hat einige Texte auf der Webseite der Emirati Female Writers Untitled Chapters veröffentlicht und war dort Schriftstellerin des Monats. Eman hat ihre Werke in verschiedenen lokalen und regionalen Ausstellungen gezeigt, ihre erste Einzelausstellung war im September 2012. Sie hat mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten, zuletzt wurden Arbeiten von ihr für das Abu Dhabi Art Wing-Projekt 2013 ausgewählt. Eman ist Mitglied der Emirates Fine Arts Society sowie von der Baith AlShamsi Künstlergemeinde und Mitglied von  Untitled Chapters.

eman@alraeesi.org
Shaima Mohamed Al-Marzooqi, 1988 geboren,  ist eine junge Schriftstellerin, mit einem Abschluss in Frühkindlicher Erziehung von der Zayed University, Dubai. Shaima began schon in jungen Jahren zu schreiben und war eine begeisterte Leserin von Büchern, die mit Kindern zu tun hatten. Sie glaubt, dass Lesen einen großen Einfluss auf ihre Sprache, ihre Gedankenwelt und ihre Persönlichkeit hatte. In der Universität erhielt sie große Unterstützung von ihren Lehrern, die sie dazu ermunterten, für Kinder und Erwachsene zu schreiben. Zurzeit schriebt Shaima wöchentlich für die Zeitung Al Roeya. Sie ist Mitglied von UAEBBY und der Women Writers Association.

Aufgrund ihrer Liebe zur arabischen Sprache schrieb sie das Buch Die Herausforderungen der arabischen Sprache in der Welt von heute. Ferner ist sie Autorin des Science Fiction-Romans Rayaana. Viele  ihrer Geschichten für Kinder wurden veröffentlicht, so zum Beispiel Hamad's trip in Dubai, My stepmother (Arabisch und Englisch), Asma and the Bear Fofo, Ahmed and IPad, My first day in Kindergarten, No one plays with me, What can I do, My lovely grandma, The journey of a paper, Where I put my things, How much I love my father und Who is she?. All ihre Kinderbücher sind in Arabisch geschrieben und sie hat an zahlreichen Buchmessen in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und anderen Ländern teilgenommen.

children.writer@hotmail.com

Khadija Ibrahim Al Khayat, Mutter von zwei Kindern, wurde in Dubai geboren und wuchs dort auf. Von klein auf liebte sie das Lesen und als sie ihre Kinder heranwachsen sah, fiel ihr auf, wie wenig arabische Kinderbücher in den Bibliotheken zu finden waren. So entschied sie sich,  selber Geschichten für Kinder zu schreiben, was ihr so viel Spaß machte, dass sie bis heute schreibt. Daneben studiert sie Angewandte Soziologie.

uae7585@hotmail.com
Eine berufstätige Mutter und eine Traumfängerin durch ihre Kuratorenschaft insbesondere junger Künstler. Eine Bewahrerin von Erinnerungen durch ihre Cama Ra’a-Maschine, während sie darüber nachdenkt, ihre Gedanken in Figuren umzusetzen, die sie ins Lala-Land bringen und die sie Worte zeichnen lassen auf den Mauern der Möglichkeiten.

reem.qahtan@gmail.com
In Ras Al Khaimah geboren, zog Sumaiya nach ihrer Heirat nach Abu Dhabi und lebt dort seitdem mit ihrem Mann und ihren beiden Söhnen. Im Januar 2014 schloss sie ihr Studium mit dem Schwerpunkt Frühkindliche Erziehung an der Zayed University, Abu Dhabi, ab. Sie liebt es, kleinen Kindern etwas beizubringen und mit ihnen zu tun zu haben. Sumaiya liest sehr gerne und begann sich besonders für Bilderbücher zu interessieren, nachdem sie ein Seminar von Professor Patience Sowa and der ZU University besucht hatte.

sumaiya.almansoori@gmail.com

Unsere Illustratorinnen

Alyazia Khalifa ist eine Tagträumerin mit der Seele einer Reisenden, die sich durch Fotografie und Schreiben entfaltet. Als erste Praktikantin aus den VAE nahm sie 2007 an dem Kulturaustausch-Programm des Instituts für Auslandsbeziehungen (IFA) teil. 2013 promovierte sie über „Internationales Broadcasting“ an der Kingston Universität, Großbritannien. Ihre Reiseerfahrung inspirieren sie nicht nur, sich mit fremdsprachiger Literatur zu beschäftigen, sondern bereichern auch ihre Vorstellungswelt. Alyazia glaubt, dass niemand das Kind in sich zerstören und die Phantasie und Kreativität beibehalten sollte. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an zwei Kinderbüchern und an ihrem ersten Fantasy-Roman für Jugendliche.

alsuwaidi.alyazia@gmail.com
Eman AlRaesi wurde am 27. April 1984 geboren und lebt in Sharjah. Sie ist Malerin und schreibt auch gelegentlich. Sie hat einige Texte auf der Webseite der Emirati Female Writers Untitled Chapters veröffentlicht und war dort Schriftstellerin des Monats. Eman hat ihre Werke in verschiedenen lokalen und regionalen Ausstellungen gezeigt, ihre erste Einzelausstellung war im September 2012. Sie hat mehrere Auszeichnungen erhalten, zuletzt wurden Arbeiten von ihr für das Abu Dhabi Art Wing-Projekt 2013 ausgewählt. Eman ist Mitglied der Emirates Fine Arts Society sowie von der Baith AlShamsi Künstlergemeinde und Mitglied von Untitled Chapters.

eman@alraeesi.org
Reem Qahtan ist eine berufstätige Mutter und eine Traumfängerin durch ihre Kuratorenschaft insbesondere junger Künstler. Eine Bewahrerin von Erinnerungen durch ihre Cama Ra’a-Maschine, während sie darüber nachdenkt, ihre Gedanken in Figuren umzusetzen, die sie ins Lala-Land bringen und die sie Worte zeichnen lassen auf den Mauern der Möglichkeiten.

reem.qahtan@gmail.com

Zur Instagram-Seite von Reem Qahtan
Maha Al Ali, 1985 in Abu Dhabi geboren, schloss ihr Grafikdesign-Studium (Bachelor of Arts) an der Zayed University 2007 ab. Sie begann sich für barrierefreies Design zu interessieren und stellte Nachforschungen zum Stand der Erkenntnisse zu diesem Thema in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und anderen Ländern, wie zum Beispiel Japan und USA, an. Von großer Leidenschaft geleitet, verabschiedete sich Maha von ihrem bequemen Leben in den VAE und studierte Barrierefreies Design an der Kyushu University in Japan, wo unter anderem die fortschrittlichste U-Bahn-Station für Menschen mit Behinderungen entwickelt wurde. Drei Jahre später verfügte Maha nicht nur über einen MA in Design, sondern entwickelte auch ihre eigenen Leitlinien für ein ganzheitliches Design, das die Erkenntnisse des Emotionalen Designs für barrierefreies Design umsetzt.

m.alsuroor@gmail.com
Maitha Al Khayat ist Kinderbuchautorin und –illustratorin. Sie interessiert sich seit ihrer Kindheit leidenschaftlich für das Lesen und Schreiben. Nach einem Studium in Business Administration an den Higher Colleges of Technology in Ras Al Khaimah, arbeitete Maitha in der College-Bibliothek bevor sie Vollzeit-Mutter wurde. Der Mangel an lustigen emiratischen Kinderbüchern inspirierte sie, selber für Kinder zu schreiben und zu zeichnen. Sie veröffentlichte I love my Daddy's Long Beard und das prämierte Kinderbuch My Own Special Way, das erste emiratische Kinderbuch, dessen Rechte nach Großbritannien verkauft wurden. Ihr Buch When a Camel Craves Loqaimat erschien 2012 während der Sharjah International Book Fair.

Zur Instagram-Seite von Maitha Al Khayat

maitha.alkhayat@hotmail.com

Unsere Expertinnen

Jutta Bauer, Portrait © Karen Seggelke Jutta Bauer wurde 1955 in Volksdorf, einem Vorort von Hamburg geboren. Von 1975 bis 1981 studierte sie Illustration an der Fachhochschule für Gestaltung in Hamburg. 1980 wurde sie Mitglied in der Hamburger Illustratorengruppe. Ihre ersten Bilderbücher veröffentlichte sie 1981. Sie arbeitet für verschiedene Verlage und Zeitschriften und begann 1991 mit dem Zeichnen von Trickfilmen. Besonders bekannt sind ihre Illustrationen zur Reihe Juli von Kirsten Boie. Ihr bisheriges Werk umfasst rund 40 Bücher, für welche die Künstlerin bereits zahlreiche Preise erhielt. 2009 erhielt sie den Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis für das Gesamtwerk und im Jahr 2010 wurde sie mit dem Hans-Christian-Andersen-Preis geehrt.
Jutta Bauer lebt als freischaffende Künstlerin in Hamburg.
Anja Tuckermann, Portrait © Bernd Sahling Anja Tuckermann wuchs in Berlin-Kreuzberg auf wo sie heute auch lebt.  Ihr erstes Buch Mooskopf erschien 1988. Von 1988 – 1997 war  sie Redakteurin beim Kinderfunk. Seitdem arbeitet sie als freie Redakteurin und Journalistin und schreibt Belletristik für Erwachsene, für Kinder, Theaterstücke, Text für Musik, für Film und Kurzprosa. Ihre Werke sind in zehn Sprachen übersetzt. Seit 1993 leitet Anja Tuckermann Schreibwerkstätten und Seminare für Prosa und Theater mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen. Für ihre Romane und Theaterstücke hat sie zahlreiche Auszeichnungen erhalten, darunter den Hans im Glück-Preis, den Friedrich Gerstäcker-Preis und den Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis.