Silent Book Workshop with German Illustrator Katrin Stangl

  • Silent Book Workshop © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 2 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 3 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 4 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 5 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 6 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 7 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 8 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 9 © Bettina Quabius

As part of the 7th edition of their annual cultural collaboration of the “Books – Made in UAE” initiative, UAE Board on Books for Young People (UAEBBY) and Goethe-Institut Gulf Region have organised a workshop with the focus on silent books. The genre has proven to become more popular and powerful than ever in helping to stimulate children’s imaginations.
 
The workshop for 13 UAE-based illustrators took place from 5 – 8 May 2018 at the 1971 Design Space at Sharjah’s Flag Island and was conducted by multi-award winning German illustrator Katrin Stangl who has won some of the world’s most respected awards including the “Hans-Meid-Preis für Buchillustration” and received the bronze medal in the “Schönste Bücher aus aller Welt” (World’s Most Beautiful Books).
 
Katrin Stangl first gave an overview about the numerous types of books without texts, e.g. discovery books (Wimmelbücher), collections, picture stories, and concept and artist books. The participants then had the opportunity to develop their own silent book ideas and discuss them among each other and with the workshop instructor. In the group and in one-to-one sessions Katrin Stangl gave tips on what to consider when working on a silent book and how to structure it. She also shared new drawing techniques, such as black-and-white scratching and linocut. In the end, every participant had completed a storyboard and two double pages of her story.

“The workshop was a wonderful experience for me and showed once again how the narrative power of images can bridge cultural and linguistic barriers. Through initial warm-up drawings and one-on-one meetings with the participants, we tried brought their books to life. We discussed together what kind of visual language and what technique they would like to use to shape their story. It was nice to see how open and communicative the group was, both to me and to each other."
Fatma Fairooz, a graphic designer from Dubai, said: “I had the best time in this workshop, it was really great to get my creative juices flowing with an amazing group of women. All the exercises were fun and I am quite happy with where my first silent book is headed. This workshop gave me the tools that I desperately needed to create something I know I’m going to be proud of.”
 
For Khadija Al Mulla, an interior design graduate from Zayed University in Dubai, the workshop was very inspiring and she added: “Katrin was great and inspiring. She has left the workshop making us feeling empowered to do what we love. The workshop was super supportive in all its aspects to explore and create.
 
And Sara Hassan, an Abu Dhabi-based freelance graphic designer, was sure: “This workshop gave me the tools and confidence to take active steps towards my dream to illustrate children’s books. I am very thankful for everyone that made this workshop possible.”
 
“Books - Made in UAE” is organised by the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region and UAE Board on Books for Young People (UAEBBY) and sponsored by Knowledge without Borders.
 
More information on the “Books - Made in UAE” project

Workshop für Silent Books mit der deutschen Illustratorin Katrin Stangl
2018

  • Silent Book Workshop © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 2 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 3 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 4 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 5 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 6 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 7 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 8 © Bettina Quabius
  • Silent Book Workshop 9 © Bettina Quabius

Als Teil der „Books – Made in UAE“-Initiative haben das UAE Board on Books for Young People (UAEBBY) und das Goethe-Institut Golf-Region einen Workshop zum Thema Silent Books organisiert. Das Genre erfreut sich großer Beliebtheit und eignet sich besonders gut dazu, die Fantasie von Kindern anzuregen.

Der Workshop für 13 in den VAE ansässige Illustratoren fand vom 5. – 8. Mai 2018 im 1971 Design Space auf Flag Island in Sharjah unter der Leitung der mehrfach ausgezeichneten deutschen Illustratorin Katrin Stangl statt, die unter anderem mit dem "Hans-Meid-Preis für Buchillustration" einige der renommiertesten Auszeichnungen der Welt gewonnen sowie die Bronzemedaille bei den "Schönsten Büchern aus aller Welt" erhalten hat.

Katrin Stangl gab zunächst einen Überblick über die zahlreichen Arten von Büchern ohne Text, z.B. Entdeckungsbücher (Wimmelbücher), Sammlungen, Bildergeschichten, Konzept- und Künstlerbücher. Die Teilnehmer hatten daraufhin die Möglichkeit, eigene Ideen für Silent Books zu entwickeln und untereinander und mit der Workshopleiterin zu diskutieren. In der Gruppe und in Einzelgesprächen gab Stangl Tipps, was bei der Arbeit an einem Silent Book zu beachten ist und wie man dieses strukturiert. Sie vermittelte auch neue Zeichentechniken wie Schwarz-Weiß-Scratching und Linolschnitt. Am Ende hatte jede Teilnehmerin ein Storyboard und zwei Doppelseiten ihrer Geschichte erstellt.
„Der Workshop war eine wunderbare Erfahrung für mich und hat wieder einmal gezeigt, wie die erzählerische Kraft von Bildern kulturelle und sprachliche Barrieren überwinden kann“, sagte Katrin Stangl. „Durch anfängliche Warm-up-Zeichenübungen und in Einzelgesprächen mit den Teilnehmerinnen haben wir ihre Bücher zum Leben erweckt. Wir haben miteinander besprochen, was für eine Bildsprache und welche Technik sie gerne verwenden würden, um ihre Geschichte zu gestalten. Es war schön zu erleben, wie offen und kommunikativ die Gruppe war, sowohl mir gegenüber als auch im Austausch untereinander.“

Fatma Fairooz, Grafikdesignerin aus Dubai, sagte: „Ich hatte eine tolle Zeit in diesem Workshop, es war wirklich großartig, meiner Kreativität in einer fantastischen Gruppe von Frauen freien Lauf zu lassen. Alle Übungen haben Spaß gemacht und ich bin ziemlich glücklich damit, wie sich mein erstes Silent Book entwickelt. Dieser Workshop hat mir die Werkzeuge gegeben, die ich dringend brauchte, um etwas zu schaffen, worauf ich stolz darauf sein werde.“
 
Für Khadija Al Mulla, Interior Design-Absolventin der Zayed Universität in Dubai, war der Workshop sehr inspirierend. Sie fügte hinzu: „Katrin war großartig. Sie hat uns in dem Workshop dazu befähigt, das zu tun, was wir lieben. Der Workshop war rundum super unterstützend zu erforschen und zu kreieren.“
 
Und Sara Hassan, eine in Abu Dhabi ansässige freiberufliche Grafikdesignerin, war sich sicher: „Dieser Workshop gab mir die Werkzeuge und das Selbstvertrauen, um aktiv meinen Weg zur Illustration von Kinderbüchern zu gehen. Ich bin allen, die diesen Workshop möglich gemacht haben, sehr dankbar.“
 
“Books - Made in UAE” wird vom Goethe-Institut Golf-Region und dem UAE Board on Books for Young People (UAEBBY) organisiert und von Knowledge without Borders unterstützt.
 
Mehr Information über das Books Made in UAE-Projekt