Qatar Germany 2017
Documentation

Exploring Germany through movies

Following the opening night, the Doha Film Institute marks the celebration of the Qatar Germany 2017 Year of Culture with a compelling showcase of German movies by master filmmakers. In cooperation with the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region eight movies were shown at the Museum of Islamic Art Auditorium from 2 to 10 February 2017. 

  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
  • Exploring Germany through movies © Goethe-Institut Gulf Region

Fatma Al Remaihi, Chief Executive Officer of the Doha Film Institute, said: “The modern masters in German cinema have set innovative trends and approaches in filmmaking, which are showcased through our programme that includes classics from Wim Wenders and Werner Herzog along with contemporary titles and with two films focused on the youth. These films are not only entertaining but also of great educational value for our emerging film talents, who can benefit from experiencing the diverse genres included in the showcase.

Dr Elke Kaschl Mohni, Regional Director MENA of the Goethe-Institut welcomed the program: “The Goethe-Institut is pleased to cooperate intensively with Doha Film Institute in its film initiatives during Qatar Germany Year of Culture 2017. We feel that we can reach out to the Qatari and international audience in Doha especially through the medium of film which is accessible to almost everyone and gives an interesting insight into the German culture and history throughout the last 90 years.

The German Film Week started on 2 February with Run Lola Run by Tom Tykwer which after its release in 1998 played internationally to enthusiastic audiences and created a stir in the film business. The movie My Friend Raffi by Arendt Agthe was aimed at families in particular. It was followed by a master class Brief History of German Cinema by German film expert Dr Claus Löser, who explored the beginning of film history in Germany and built a bridge to the present. “German cinema has always been shaped by German social and political history since its beginnings. That is why it is always an immense task to introduce the history of German cinema. The audience in Doha was extremely interested in the topic and kept on asking questions on the various aspects,” Dr Claus Löser explained.

A special highlight of the program was the screening of the earliest surviving animated feature-length film still in existence – Lotte Reiniger’s The Adventures of Prince Achmed from 1926.

A special screening for schools was the debut film of the aspiring director Ekrem Ergün’s, Hördur. It reached the young multinational generation of Doha in particular. As a special treat for the audience was the presence of lead actress Almila Bagriacik who answered questions from the young audience in a fully booked cinema. Students of the German International School Doha, the Tunisian School Doha and various Qatari public schools asked questions in German, English and Arabic. “The interest of the young generation and the Qatari boys in particular was very inspiring. The film is rather a girl’s movie as young women can more easily identify with the main character. But the guys were very interested in the film, asked questions and wanted to take pictures with me afterwards,” Almila Bagriacik explained. One of the students of the Tunisian School Doha event took the opportunity to practice his German and ask the young actress if she identifies with her role.

Deutsche Saison Katar 2017
Dokumentionen

Filmland Deutschland

Nach dem Eröffnungskonzert am 1. Februar fand mit der Deutschen Filmwoche ein erster Höhepunkt des vielseitigen Programms der Deutschen Saison Katar 2017 statt. Das Doha Film Institute wählte in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Golf-Region acht Filme bekannter  deutscher Regisseure , die vom 2. bis zum 10. Februar 2017 im Auditorium des Museum of Islamic Arts gezeigt wurden. 

  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf-Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region
  • Filmland Deutschland © Goethe-Institut Golf Region

Fatma Al Remaihi, Leiterin des Doha Film Institutes, sagte: „Das deutsche Kino hat innovative Maßstäbe gesetzt und neue Ansätze des Filmemachens ausprobiert. Dies möchten wir mit unsere Filmreihe zeigen, die Filme aufnimmt von klassischen Titeln von Wim Wenders und Werner Herzog bis zu neueren Filmen für die junge Generation. Wir möchten mit den Filmen nicht nur unterhalten, sondern auch jungen Filmtalenten die einmalige Möglichkeit geben, sie zu sehen und von den verschiedenen Genres zu lernen.

Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni, Leiterin der Region Naher Osten und Nordafrika des Goethe-Instituts begrüßte die Deutsche Filmwoche: „Das Goethe-Institut freut sich, mit dem Doha Film Institute während der Deutschen Saison Katar 2017 intensiv im Bereich Film zu kooperieren. Wir sind überzeugt, dass wir insbesondere durch das Medium Film sowohl das katarische als auch das internationale Publikum in Doha erreichen können. Die Filme sind für fast jeden zugänglich und vermitteln einen interessanten Einblick in die deutsche Kultur und Geschichte der letzten 90 Jahre.

Die Filmreihe begann am 2. Februar mit Tom Tykwers Filmhit Lola rennt, der bei seiner Veröffentlichung 1998 international große Erfolge verbuchte. Arendt Agthes Film Rettet Raffi! richtete richtete sich speziell an Familien. Ihm folgte die Meisterklasse zur Geschichte des Deutschen Kinos des Filmexperten Dr. Claus Löser. Er zeigte die Anfänge des Deutschen Kinos auf und spannte den Bogen bis zur Gegenwart. „Die deutsche Filmgeschichte ist seit ihren Anfängen insbesondere durch historische Einschnitte geprägt. Die deutsche Filmgeschichte zu erläutern, ist deshalb immer eine spannende Aufgabe und das Publikum in Doha war sehr interessiert und stellte viele weiterführende Fragen,“ erklärte Dr. Claus Löser.

Ein ganz besonderes Highlight des Programms war die Aufführung des ältesten, noch erhaltenen Trickfilms in Spielfilmlänge - Lotte Reinigers Die Abenteuer des Prinzen Achmed von 1926.

Speziell für Schulen wurde eine Aufführung des Debütfilms Hördur von Ekrem Ergün organisiert, der die junge, multinationale Generation in Katar angesprach. Als spezieller Gast kam die Hauptdarstellerin Almila Bagriacik, die vor einem ausgebuchten Saal Fragen des jungen Publikums beantwortete. Schüler der Deutschen Internationalen Schule Doha, der Tunesischen Schule Doha und verschiedener staatlicher Schulen stellten ihre Fragen auf Deutsch, Englisch und Arabisch. „Das Interesse der jungen Generation und besonderes der katarischen Jungs zu sehen, hat mich wirklich begeistert. Der Film richtet sich eher an Mädchen oder junge Frauen, die sich mit dem Hauptcharakter identifizieren können, aber die Jungs waren sehr interessiert, stellten viele Fragen und wollten alle nach dem Screening Fotos mit mir machen,“ so Almila Bagriacik. Einer der arabischen Schüler der tunesischen Schule nutze die Gelegenheit, sein Deutsch auszuprobieren und fragte die Schauspielerin sogar auf Deutsch, ob sie sich mit ihrer Rolle identifiziere.