Qatar Germany 2017
Documentation

Media Dialogue Program by Deutsche Welle Academy

Two journalists from Doha participated in the program for journalists from the Gulf Region: Nagham Mouneer Nasser, a Syrian journalist working as a producer for Al Jazeera, and El Mokhtar El Aballaouifrom Morocco and senior producer of the online department of Al Jazeera.

  • Media Dialogue Program by Deutsche Welle Academy © Nicolas Martin
  • Media Dialogue Program by Deutsche Welle Academy © Nicolas Martin
  • Media Dialogue Program by Deutsche Welle Academy © Nikolas Martin
  • Media Dialogue Program by Deutsche Welle Academy © Nikolas Martin
  • Media Dialogue Program by Deutsche Welle Academy © Nikolas Martin

From 15 to 19 May 2017 they met other journalists from the Gulf Region as well as German journalists for an exchanging ideas and discussing the security of journalists in the region. The program consisted of various lectures and activities as well as a visit to the German parliament and the studio of the Deutsche Welle.

El Mokhtar El Aballaoui on the exchange program, “I did not know about this kind of program before I got a chance to join. I think such programs are very important as people in Europe have often wrong ideas about the Gulf Region and so have we about Europe. To bring journalists from the Gulf and Germany together for one program can help to work against the stereotypes we all have.” He continues, “And our online blog on which we worked during the week in Germany together in teams of German and Gulf journalists reflects this clearly.”

And Nagham Mouneer Nasser adds, “What was interesting is that this dialogue was not only fruitful between Germany and the Gulf Region, but also among us journalists from the Gulf. We did not come together before this program and only the program of the Deutsche Welle made it possible. The workshop brought together journalists from different backgrounds and perspectives. - It is, however, only a first step. The challenge now is to keep the dialogue going. We exchange opinions and information regularly through our whatsapp group and we are discussing what the next steps for us as a group could be.”

Deutsche Saison Katar 2017
Dokumentionen

Mediendialog Programm der Deutsche Welle Akademie

Zwei Journalisten aus Katar nahmen am Journalistenprogramm der Deutschen Welle in Deutschland teil: Nagham Mouneer Nasser, eine syrische Journalistin, Produzentin bei Al Jazeera, und El Mokhtar El Aballaoui aus Marokko, Produzent im Online Department bei Al Jazeera.

  • Mediendialog Programm der Deutsche Welle Akademie  © Nicolas Martin
  • Mediendialog Programm der Deutsche Welle Akademie  © Nicolas Martin
  • Mediendialog Programm der Deutsche Welle Akademie  © Nikolas Martin
  • Mediendialog Programm der Deutsche Welle Akademie  © Nikolas Martin
  • Mediendialog Programm der Deutsche Welle Akademie  © Nikolas Martin

Vom 15. bis zum 19. Mai 2017 trafen sie in Berlin Journalisten aus der Golfregion sowie Journalisten aus Deutschland, um Ideen auszutauschen und über die Sicherheit von Journalisten in der Region zu sprechen. Das Programm bestand aus Vorträgen und Begegnungen, darunter auch Besuche im Deutschen Bundestag sowie im Studio der Deutschen Welle.

El Mokhtar El Aballaoui erzählt über den Austausch, „Ich wusste vor meiner Einladung nicht, dass es solche Programme gibt. Ich finde sie sehr wichtig, weil die Leute in Europa oft falsche Vorstellungen von den Ländern in der Golfregion haben, so wie wir von Europa. Wenn man Journalisten aus der Golfregion und Deutschland zusammen bringt, macht man einen ersten Schritt, um diesen Stereotypen entgegen zu wirken.” Er fährt fort, „Der Onlineblog, den wir in dieser Woche gemeinsam in deutsch-golfarabischen Teams erstellt haben, reflektiert genau dies.”

Und Nagham Mouneer Nasser ergänzt, „Wirklich interessant war, dass dieser Dialog nicht nur mit den deutschen Journalisten sehr fruchtbar war, sondern auch zwischen uns Journalisten aus der Golfregion. Wir kannten uns vor dem Programm nicht, und erst das Programm der Deutschen Welle hat Journalisten mit unterschiedlichem Werdegang und Perspektiven zusammen gebracht. Das war auf jeden Fall ein erster Schritt. Nun tauschen wir über unsere Whatsappgruppe regelmäßig Ideen und Informationen aus und wir diskutieren auch, was wir als Gruppe als Nächstes machen könnten.”