Qatar Germany 2017
Documentation

Media Dialogue II: Journalists Building the Future

This program by Deutsche Welle Academy which is tailor made for journalists from the Gulf Region went into its second round in Kuwait. 

  • Media Dialogue II: Journalists Building the Future © Nicolas Martin
  • Media Dialogue II: Journalists Building the Future © Nicolas Martin
  • Media Dialogue II: Journalists Building the Future © Nicolas Martin
  • Media Dialogue II: Journalists Building the Future © Fernando Gutiérrez
  • Media Dialogue II: Journalists Building the Future © Camilla Hildebrandt
  • Media Dialogue II: Journalists Building the Future © Nicolas Martin
  • Media Dialogue II: Journalists Building the Future © Nicolas Martin


Journalists, photographers and bloggers from Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, Oman, Kuwait, United Arab Emirates and Germany met from 6 to 8 December 2017 in Kuwait to join the program. They exchanged variegated new ideas and discussed the safety of journalists in the region.

The program started in May 2017 with a weeklong visit to the German capital Berlin during which various lectures and activities were offered to the participants as well as a visit to the German parliament and the studio of the German broadcaster “Deutsche Welle”.

With the second round of its Media Dialogue program the Deutsche Welle Academy continued their work in this field and focussed especially on the current situation of the media against the backdrop of the conflict between Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Qatar. Other topics covered were the working practices of the respective colleagues in Germany and the Gulf Region, the projects and challenges they have and on further work on the media dialogue’s blog and Facebook activity. Furthermore the participants worked on a strategy for their future cooperation.

In December 2017 we continued in Kuwait City what we started on May 2017 in Berlin: A Media Dialogue with 16 Journalists from Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, UAE, discussing the approach of journalism in these countries and future cooperation. A project of the DW Akademie with the Federal Foreign Office. The main focus during the Follow Up Dialogue in Kuwait was the Qatar-Crisis that for the last six month has been a source of conflict in the Middle East,” explains Deutsche Welle anchor and journalist Christopher Springate who moderated the Media Dialogue.

The Media Dialogue was funded by Germany’s Federal Foreign Office as part of the “Qatar Germany 2017” program. 

Blog of the Media Dialogue Gulf Region

Deutsche Saison Katar 2017
Dokumentionen

Mediendialog Golfregion II: Journalisten gestalten die Zukunft

Das auf Journalisten aus der Golfregion zugeschnittene Programm der Deutschen Welle Akademie ging im Dezember 2017 in Kuwait in seine zweite Runde. 

  • Mediendialog Golfregion II: Journalisten gestalten die Zukunft © Nicolas Martin
  • Mediendialog Golfregion II: Journalisten gestalten die Zukunft © Nicolas Martin
  • Mediendialog Golfregion II: Journalisten gestalten die Zukunft © Nicolas Martin
  • Mediendialog Golfregion II: Journalisten gestalten die Zukunft © Fernando Gutiérrez
  • Mediendialog Golfregion II: Journalisten gestalten die Zukunft © Camilla Hildebrandt
  • Mediendialog Golfregion II: Journalisten gestalten die Zukunft © Nicolas Martin
  • Mediendialog Golfregion II: Journalisten gestalten die Zukunft © Nicolas Martin


Journalisten, Fotografen und Blogger aus Saudi-Arabien, Bahrain, Katar, Oman, Kuwait, den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und Deutschland trafen sich vom 6. bis 8. Dezember 2017 in Kuwait City, um am Austausch teilzunehmen. Sie tauschten sich zusammen mit ihren deutschen Kollegen über verschiedene Themen wie die Sicherheit von Journalisten in der Region aus.

Das Mediendialogprogramm startete im Mai 2017 mit einem einwöchigen Besuch in der deutschen Hauptstadt Berlin, bei dem den Teilnehmern verschiedene Vorträge und Aktivitäten angeboten wurden, darunter auch ein Besuch im Deutschen Bundestag und im Studio der Deutschen Welle.

Mit der zweiten Runde ihres Mediendialogprogramms setzte die Deutsche Welle Akademie ihre Arbeit in diesem Bereich fort und konzentrierte sich insbesondere auf die aktuelle Situation der Medien vor dem Hintergrund des Konflikts zwischen Saudi-Arabien, den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, Bahrain und Katar. Weitere Themen waren die Arbeitsweise der jeweiligen Kollegen in Deutschland und der Golfregion und die Projekte und Herausforderungen, denen sie gegenüberstehen. Die Teilnehmer arbeiteten am Blog des Mediendialogs weiter sowie an der Facebookseite. Darüber hinaus erarbeiteten sie eine Strategie für ihre zukünftige Zusammenarbeit.

Im Dezember 2017 haben wir in Kuwait-Stadt fortgesetzt, was wir im Mai 2017 in Berlin begonnen haben: Einen Mediendialog mit 16 Journalisten aus Saudi-Arabien, Bahrain, Oman, Katar, Kuwait, VAE, über den Ansatz des Journalismus in diesen Ländern und die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit. Der Schwerpunkt des Follow-up-Dialogs in Kuwait war die Katar-Krise, die in den letzten sechs Monaten zu Konflikten im Nahen Osten geführt hat,“ erklärte Journalisten und Moderator der Deutschen Welle Christopher Springate, der das Projekt leitete.

Der Mediendialog wurde vom Auswärtigen Amt im Rahmen der Deutschen Saison Katar 2017 gefördert. 

Blog des Mediendialogs Golfregion