Qatar Germany 2017
Documentation

Playing with words and rhymes

In March 2017 poetry fans embarked on a journey to explore poetry and poetry slam with the German poetry slammers Julian Heun and Dominique Macri.

  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T. Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Playing with words and rhymes © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision

Poetry slams have become a way for young people to express themselves, often addressing themes that are relevant for them.

“Oral tradition and performance are both key elements of Qatari heritage. With this workshop, Qatar National Library and the Goethe-Institut supported local talent from Doha’s active poetry scene,” explains Sebastian Wilke, Senior Information Services Librarian of Qatar National Library on the project. He continues, “We were happy to bring together poetry enthusiasts from many different cultures and backgrounds to learn from each other and to develop their performance skills with professional advice by our workshop facilitators.”

Maya Röder, project manager of Qatar Germany 2017, says, “Poetry Slam has been a big thing in Germany since the late 1990s. Poetry slams happen in every major city, and without being organized centrally the scene is vibrant and awards its best poets every year. We were happy that we could bring two renowned poetry slammers who perform successfully all over Germany and have a lot of workshop experience.”

In a three-day workshop German poetry slammers Julian Heun and Dominique Macri coached Doha-based poets and poetry slammers to present their texts to the public. “Experiencing the different voices, the power of words and expression – embracing the differences in language and biographical backgrounds – was a highly impressing process and an unforgettable experience for all participants,” so workshop instructor Dominique Macri on her work in Doha.

And Mariam Al-Dhubhani who participated in the workshop and performance concludes, “The poetry slam workshop led by Dominique and Julian was one of the highlights for me this year. It was my very first poetry slam and I loved and enjoyed every part of it. I got to meet new people, write new pieces, and even perform in front of a crowd. I would without a doubt join such performances again and recommend everyone to take part too.”

Deutsche Saison Katar 2017
Dokumentionen

Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen

Im März 2017 begaben sich Poesieliebhaber auf eine poetische Entdeckungsreise mit den deutschen Poetry Slammern Julian Heun und Dominique Macri.

  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T. Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision
  • Das Spiel mit Wörtern und Reimen © Oscar T.Rialubin by Qvision

Poetry slams sind eine beliebte Ausdrucksform der jungen Generation. Jugendliche können für sie wichtige Themen auf treffende und lockere Art aufgreifen.

„Orale Traditionen und Performances sind beides wichtige Elemente der katarischen Kultur. Daran knüpften die Qatar National Library und das Goethe-Institut mit diesem Workshop an und unterstützten lokale Talente aus Dohas aktiver Poetenszene,” erklärt Sebastian Wilke, Senior Information Services Librarian der Qatar National Library den Hintergrund des Projekts. Er führt fort, „Wir freuen uns, dass wir Poeten aus verschiedenen Kulturen zusammen bringen konnten, um voneinander zu lernen und mit den Workshopleitern an ihrem Auftritt zu arbeiten.”

Maya Röder, Projektmanagerin der Deutschen Saison Katar 2017, ergänzt, „Poetry Slam ist seit den 1990er Jahren in Deutschland sehr beliebt. Es gibt Poetry Slams in allen größeren Städten. Ohne zentral koordiniert zu sein wählt die Szene jedes Jahr die besten Poeten. Wir sind froh, dass wir zwei sehr erfolgreiche Poetry Slammer mit viel Workshoperfahrung für unser Projekt nach Katar bringen konnten.”

In einem dreitägigen Workshop bereiteten die deutschen Poetry Slammer Julian Heun und Dominique Macri in Katar lebende Poeten und Poetry Slammer darauf vor, ihre Texte der Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen. „Die verschiedenen Stimmen, die Kraft der Worte und Ausdrücke und der Einfluss der verschiedenen Sprachen und biografische Hintergründe – dies alles war ein unglaublich beeindruckender Prozess und ein unvergessliches Erlebnis für alle Teilnehmer,” sagt Workshopleiterin Dominique Macri über ihre Arbeit in Doha.

Und Mariam Al-Dhubhani, die am Workshop und an der Performance teilnahm, schließt, „Der Poetry Slam Workshop mit Dominique und Julian war eines der Highlights meines Jahres. Es war mein erster Poetry Slam und ich habe jede Minute des Workshops genossen. Ich habe neue Menschen getroffen, eigene Gedichte geschrieben und bin dann sogar vor Publikum aufgetreten. Ich würde auf jeden Fall wieder an einer solchen Performance teilnehmen und kann nur jedem empfehlen, es auch zu tun.”