Film screening At Eye Level

At Eye Level © At Eye Level

Sat, 02.12.2017

Katara Building 12, Theatre A (K12-A)

German Feature Film at Ajyal Youth Film Festival

The German Embassy Doha and the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region are happy to contribute to Ajyal Youth Film Festival 2017 as part of Qatar Germany 2017. Five German film professionals will visit the festival and present their films. Ina Werner presents the film “At Eye Level” by Joachim Dollhoff and Evi Goldbrunner .

At Eye Level
Joachim Dollhopf, Evi Goldbrunner / Feature Narrative / Germany / 2016 / 98 min / Colour / DCP
In German / Arabic, English subtitles
Qatar Premiere

 
Ten-year-old Michi never knew his father, and for five years since the tragic death of his mother, he has lived in a rough-and-tumble group home for orphaned children. Like many of the other kids in the home, Michi wonders what life would be like with his father – whom he imagines to be a jet pilot, or something exciting along those lines. When he chances upon an old, unsent letter from his mother announcing her pregnancy to a man named Tom, Michi thinks his dream has come true. When he finally meets Tom, however, the man is not quite what Michi expected.

Embarrassed by his father, and bullied by the other kids, Michi goes to live with Tom, but he is resentful of his dad and invents a life without him. Eventually Michi comes to learn that accepting people for who they are is a better plan than pretending otherwise.

”At Eye Level” is a wonderful, at times humorous coming-of-age tale about acceptance and compassion. As Michi and Tom negotiate their relationship, the film also addresses very contemporary questions about what makes up a family, what love means, and the role of the state in determining the lives of its citizens.

Tickets are available on the website of Doha Film Institute. 

Back

Filmvorführung Auf Augenhöhe

Auf Augenhöhe © Auf Augenhöhe

Sa, 02.12.2017

Katara Building 12, Theatre A (K12-A)

Deutscher Spielfilm beim Ajyal Youth Film Festival

Die Deutsche Botschaft Doha und das Goethe-Institut Golf-Region tragen im Rahmen der Deutschen Saison Katar 2017 zum Ajyal Youth Film Festival bei. Fünf deutsche Filmschaffende präsentieren ihre Filme auf dem Festival. Ina Werner präsentiert den Film „Auf Augenhöhe“ von Joachim Dollhoff und Evi Goldbrunner.

Auf Augenhöhe
Joachim Dollhopf, Evi Goldbrunner / Spielfilm / Deutschland / 2016 / 98 Min. / Farbe / DCP
Deutsch / Arabisch und englische Untertitel
Katar-Premiere

 
Der zehnjährige Michi hat seinen Vater nie kennengelernt und lebt seit fünf Jahren seit dem tragischen Tod seiner Mutter in einer rauen Wohngruppe für Waisenkinder. Wie viele andere Kinder im Haus fragt sich Michi, wie sein Leben mit seinem Vater aussehen würde. Er stellt ihn sich als Jet-Pilot vor oder etwas Aufregendes in dieser Richtung. Dann findet er einen alten, nicht abgesendeten Brief seiner Mutter, in dem sie einem Mann namens Tom ankündigt, dass sie schwanger ist. Nun glaubt Michi, dass sein Traum in Erfüllung geht. Aber als er Tom endlich trifft, ist der Mann nicht ganz das, was Michi erwartet hat.

Peinlich berührt von seinem Vater und gemobbt von den anderen Kindern, zieht Michi dennoch zu Tom. Aber er ist ihm gegenüber verärgert und erfindet ein Leben ohne ihn. Aber schließlich versteht Michi, dass es besser ist, Menschen so zu akzeptieren, wie sie sind.

„Auf Augenhöhe“ ist eine wunderbare, manchmal humorvolle Coming-of-Age-Geschichte über Akzeptanz und Mitgefühl. Während Michi und Tom ihre Beziehung aushandeln, geht der Film auch auf sehr aktuelle Fragen ein: Was macht eine Familie aus? Was bedeutet Liebe? Welche Rolle spielt der Staat bei der Bestimmung des Lebens seiner Bürger?

Tickets können über die Webseite des Doha Film Institutes gekauft werden. 

Zurück