Film Hördur

Hördur © sebastian-wunderlich

Friday, 10 February, 5:00 PM

MIA Auditorium, Museum of Islamic Arts

Germany / German / 2015 / 80 mins /
Colour / DCP
Rating: PG-13
 
A Turk in a Germany that often tolerates immigrants less than kindly and a misfit in high school, where the mockery of one’s peers is always a weighty burden, at 17 Aylin is having it tough. There’s trouble at home too – her mother has died, her father has trouble finding work and she has to care for her little brother, adorable though he may be. One day, when a particularly mean girl’s taunting goes one step too far, Aylin snaps and is required to carry out community service as penance for her transgressions.
 
Assigned to help out at a horse farm, she immediately finds herself at odds with the gruff manager – but eventually, she develops a friendship with a beautiful Icelandic pony named Hördur, through which she gains the discipline and confidence to overcome some of her everyday troubles.
 
When a riding competition appears on the horizon, Aylin’s newfound enthusiasm drives her to try to participate, but new obstacles appear in her path. ‘Hördur’ is a wonderfully gentle story, its pleasures gradually building as Aylin’s outlook on life becomes increasingly joyful – and occasionally a little comical. It’s a reminder that, with the right support and the right attitude, we can accomplish anything we set our minds to.
 
Director: Ekrem Ergün was born in Heide, Germany, in 1979, and grew up in Turkey and in Berlin. He studied Media Science at the University of Potsdam, which he followed up with acting classes in Berlin. After numerous acting engagements on stage and screen, he launched Storming Donkey Productions with his partner, Stefanie Plattner. ‘Hördur’ marks Ergün’s debut feature-length film as a director.
 
Producer: Stefanie Plattner
Screenwriter: Dorothea Nölle
Cinematographer: Eric Ferranti
Editor: Sabine Brose
Music: Eike Hosenfeld, Moritz Denis, Tim Stanzel
Cast: Almila Bagriacik, Hilmi Sözer, Felicitas Woll, Noë Chalkidis

With special guest Almila Bagriacik.

Back

Film Hördur

Hördur © sebastian-wunderlich

Freitag, 10. Februar, 17.00 Uhr

MIA Auditorium, Museum of Islamic Arts, Doha, Katar

Deutschland / Deutsch / 2015 /
80 min / in Farbe / DCP
FSK 13
 
Als Türkin in einem Deutschland, wo Einwanderer manchmal wenig freundlich  behandelt werden, und als Außenseiterin, die den Spott ihrer Mitschüler ertragen muss, hat es die 17-jährige Aylin nicht leicht. Auch zu Hause gibt es Schwierigkeiten: ihre Mutter ist gestorben, ihr Vater hat Mühe Arbeit zu finden, und sie muss sich um ihren kleinen Bruder kümmern. Als eine Mitschülerin sie immer wieder verspottet und einen Schritt zu weit geht, rastet Aylin aus.
 
Als Strafe bekommt sie Sozialstunden auf einem Pferdehof. Sie gerät dort anfangs mit der schroffen Leiterin in Konflikt. Aber durch die Freundschaft mit dem schönen, isländischen Pony „Hördur“ lernt Aylin Disziplin und bekommt genug Selbstvertrauen, um ihre Alltagsprobleme zu bewältigen.

Als ein Reitwettbewerb angekündigt wird, möchte Aylin gerne teilnehmen und muss dafür neue Hindernisse überwinden. Der Film „Hördur" erzählt Schritt für Schritt eine wunderbar sanfte Geschichte. Aylin verliert langsam ihre Schwermut und wird immer fröhlicher und gelegentlich sogar lustig. Der Film zeigt beispielhaft, wie wir mit der richtigen Unterstützung und der Einstellung alles erreichen können, was wir uns vorgenommen haben.

Regisseur: Ekrem Ergün wurde 1979 in Heide geboren und wuchs in der Türkei und Berlin auf. Er studierte Medienwissenschaften an der Universität Potsdam und nahm in Berlin Schauspielkurse. Nach zahlreichen Bühnenengagements gründete er mit seiner Partnerin Stefanie Plattner Storming Donkey Productions. "Hördur" ist sein Debüt als Regisseur.

Produzent: Stefanie Plattner
Drehbuch: Dorothea Nölle
Kamera: Eric Ferranti
Schnitt: Sabine Brose
Musik: Eike Hosenfeld, Moritz Denis, Tim Stanzel
Darsteller: Almila Bagriacik, Hilmi Sözer, Felicitas Woll, Noë Chalkidis

Ehrengast des Screenings ist Schauspielerin Almila Bagriacik.

Zurück