Film My Friend Raffi

My Friend Raffi Photo (detail): My Friend Raffi

Friday, 3 February, 3:00 PM

MIA Auditorium, Museum of Islamic Arts

Germany / German / 2015 / 93 mins /
Colour / DCP
Rating: PG
 
Eight-year-old Sammy lives with his frazzled but well-meaning mother and his mean girl wannabe elder sister. He misses his father, who is away in Afghanistan, and so he spends a lot of time with his best friend in the whole world: Raffi, his pet golden hamster. Now, it just so happens that Raffi isn’t your ordinary rodent – the wee creature is an ace when it comes to scoring goals in football, and has an extraordinary knack for finding things that have gone missing.
 
When Raffi is inadvertently stolen by a bumbling ex-convict named Rocky and his devoted and kindly girlfriend, a comic adventure begins as Sammy tries to track down his beloved pet before Rocky can use Raffi to help him recover thousands of euros worth of contraband.
 
Featuring great performances from its young cast, brilliantly orchestrated slapstick humour (there’s even a classic pie-in-the-face moment!), a plot full of crazy twists, and the squeal-inducing cuteness that is the specialty of hamsters everywhere, ‘My Friend Raffi’ is a tale sure to thrill anyone who has ever had (or wanted) a pet – not to mention anyone who has wanted to be a master detective!
 
Director: Arend Agthe was born in Germany in 1949 and took Theatre and Germanic Studies in Marburg, Germany, and later in Frankfurt am Main. Early in his career, he was a member of the avant-garde filmmaking Arnold Hau Group, and made a name for himself directing work for the German version of ‘Sesame Street’. He has directed numerous films, including ‘My Friend Raffi’, which is based upon the book written by Agthe and his wife, Bettina Kupfer.
 
Producer / Screenwriter: Arend Agthe, Bettina Kupfer
Cinematographer: Thomas Benesch
Editor: Andrea Wenzler
Music: Matthias Raue
Cast: Nicholas von den Recke, Sophie Lindenberg, Henriette Heinze, Claes Bang, Albert Kitzl, Bettina Kupfer

Back

Film Rettet Raffi!

Rettet Raffi! Foto (Ausschnitt): Rettet Raffi!

Freitag, 3. Februar, 15.00 Uhr

MIA Auditorium, Museum of Islamic Arts, Doha, Katar

03.02.2017

Deutschland / Deutsch / 2015 / 93 min /
in Farbe / DCP
Der Film ist für Kinder geeignet.
 
Der achtjährige Sammy lebt mit seiner anstrengenden, aber wohlmeinenden Mutter und seiner zickigen, altklugen älteren Schwester zusammen. Er vermisst seinen Vater, der in Afghanistan ist. Deshalb verbringt er viel Zeit mit seinem allerbesten Freund Raffi, einem Goldhamster. Aber Raffi ist kein gewöhnlicher Hamster: Er ist ein Ass, wenn es um Torschießen beim Fußball geht, und er hat die außergewöhnliche Begabung verschwundene Dinge wiederzufinden.

Als Raffi versehentlich von einem schusseligen Ex-Sträfling namens Rocky und dessen Freundin gestohlen wird, beginnt ein aufregendes Abenteuer. Sammy versucht, sein geliebtes Haustier zu finden, bevor Rocky Raffi benutzen kann, um Tausende Euros aus einem Schmuggelgeschäft zurückzuholen.

Der Film brilliert mit einer großartigen schauspielerischen Leistung der jungen Besetzung, brillant orchestriertem Slapstick-Humor, verrückten Wendungen und der kaum zu toppenden Niedlichkeit eines Hamsters. „Mein Freund Raffi“ ist eine Geschichte, die jeden begeistern wird, der jemals ein Haustier gehabt hat (oder haben wollte), oder der mal Meisterdetektiv sein wollte!

Regisseur: Arend Agthe wurde 1949 geboren und studierte Theater- und Germanistik in Marburg und später in Frankfurt am Main. Zu Beginn seiner Karriere war er Mitglied der Avantgarde Gruppe Filmemacher - Arnold Hau. Er wurde bekannt durch seine Regiearbeit für die deutsche Sesamstraße. Arend Agthe drehte zahlreiche Filme wie „Mein Freund Raffi“, der auf dem Drehbuch von Agthe und seiner Frau Bettina Kupfer basiert.

Produzent / Drehbuchautor: Arend Agthe, Bettina Kupfer
Kamera: Thomas Benesch
Schnitt: Andrea Wenzler
Musik: Matthias Raue
Darsteller: Nicholas von den Recke, Sophie Lindenberg, Henriette Heinze, Claes Bang, Albert Kitzl, Bettina Kupfer

Zurück