Film and concert Metropolis

Metropolis © European Film Philharmonic Institute

Tue, 26.09.2017

Katara Opera House, Doha

As part of the Qatar-Germany Year of Culture 2017 and in partnership with Qatar Museums, the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany and the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region, Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra and the Doha Film Institute have organized a screening of the German timeless classic silent film “Metropolis”.
 
“Metropolis” was Fritz Lang’s science fiction masterpiece that was released in 1927, and will be screened in its restored version. This will be a part of the film series “A symphony of films” by Doha Film Institute.  The Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra will accompany the film with the original scores composed by Gottfried Huppertz. Stefanos Tsialis will be the guest conductor for the evening.

The film

“Metropolis” is a German expressionist epic science-fiction film directed by Fritz Lang in 1927. It is regarded as a pioneering work of the science-fiction genre in movies and belongs to the first feature length movies of this genre.

The story takes place in the future in the city of Metropolis. The city is divided into two parts, the rich and powerful in the Upper Town and the slave-like workers who run their machinery in the Lower Town. Johann Fredersen rules over the city, claiming himself as its brain and those in the Lower Town as nothing more than mere ‘hands’ of the machinery. When Johann’s son, Freder, follows Maria, a young woman from Lower Town preaching the values of love and reconciliation, he unsuccessfully pleads his father to improve the inhumane conditions he came to witness. Johann, fearing a revolt, commissions the scientist Rotwang to create a robot version of Maria, which would enable him to influence the workers as he pleased. Rotwang, a long-time rival of Johann’s, develops his own plan to use robot Maria to destroy the city.

The music

The original score has been neglected over a long period of time and parts of it were considered lost. The film was not able to recover its production costs of 5 million Reichsmark at its release and was subjected to several cuts. Only after a lucky find in 2008 in Buenos Aires it was possible to restore the entire film. After the restauration it is now shown it its original length being two hours and twenty-five minutes with the original score by Huppertz.

Back

Film und Konzert Metropolis

Metropolis © European Film Academic Institute

Di, 26.09.2017

Katara Opera House, Doha

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil des Programms der Deutschen Saison Katar 2017. Die Kooperationspartner Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra und Doha Film Institut organisieren zusammen mit Qatar Museums, der Deutschen Botschaft in Katar und dem Goethe-Institut Golf-Region ein Filmkonzert des Filmklassikers „Metropolis“.
 
Der Stummfilmklassiker von 1927 des deutschen Regisseurs Fritz Lange wird im Programm der Filmreihe „A symphony of films“ in seiner restaurierter Form gezeigt. Das Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra spielt dazu die Originalkomposition von Gottfried Huppertz unter Leitung des Dirigenten Stefanos Tsialis.

Über den Film

„Metropolis” ist ein deutscher expressionistischer Science-Fiction Film aus dem Jahr 1927. Er gilt als eine Pionierarbeit des Science-Fiction Genres und ist einer der ersten abendfüllenden Science-Fiction Filme der Filmgeschichte.
 
Die Geschichte spielt in der Stadt Metropolis in einer unbestimmten Zukunft. Die Stadt ist zwei geteilt zwischen den Reichen und Mächtigen in der Oberstadt und den sklavengleichen Arbeitern in der Unterstadt. Joh Fredersen herrscht über die Stadt und für ihn sind die Menschen in der Unterstadt nichts mehr als kleine Räder im Getriebe der Stadtmaschinerie. Als Johs Sohn Freder Maria, einer jungen Frau aus der Unterstadt, folgt, wird er mit Werten wie Liebe und Aussöhnung konfrontiert. Ohne Erfolg versucht er seinen Vater davon zu überzeugen, die unmenschlichen Bedingungen in der Unterstadt zu verbessern. Joh befürchtete eine Revolution und beauftragt den Wissenschaftler Rotwang, eine Roboterversion von Maria zu erschaffen. So möchte er die Arbeiter beeinflussen wie es ihm beliebt. Rotwang aber ist ein langjähriger Rivale Johs und er plant den Roboter Maria für die Zerstörung der Stadt einzusetzen.

Die Musik

Die Originalmusik galt über lange Zeit als vergessen. Da der Film bei seiner Premiere nicht die Produktionskosten von damals 5 Millionen Reichsmark einspielen konnte, wurde er mehrmals gekürzt und geschnitten. Nur nach einem überraschenden Fund verloren geglaubter Teile 2008 in Buenos Aires, konnte er in seiner gesamten Länge restauriert werden. Damit konnte er erstmals auch wieder in seiner Originallänge von zwei Stunden und 25 Minuten mit der Originalmusik von Huppertz aufgeführt werden.

Zurück