Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
© Goethe-Institut Golf Region

Gulf German Film Festival

Gulf German Film Festival

In the fall of 2020, film lovers will see the first edition of the GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL. Screening groundbreaking new German language movies, ranging from art-house films to box-office hits, and from children’s matinees to late-night movies, this star-studded event invites an audience of all stripes.

The GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL will kick off with UNDINE by Christian Petzold, one of Germany’s most beloved auteurs. The film premiered at this year’s Berlin Film Festival and is a 21st century makeover of the old folk tale of the water nymph who will kill her lover, should he ever betray her. The opening film is followed by GUNDERMANN by acclaimed director Andreas Dresen. Focusing on the extraordinary and contradictory life of East German singer-songwriter Gerhard Gundermann, Dresen’s film was an audience favorite and box office success in Germany.

Another festival highlight is A HIDDEN LIFE by Terrence Malick. The film tells the true story of an Austrian farmer who refused to fight for the Nazis. It is an allegorical resistance drama about courage in the fight against evil. SYSTEM CRASHER, Nora Fingscheidt’s intense social drama about nine-year-old Benni whose anger issues and past trauma hinder her from finding permanent care, won numerous awards, including best film, best director, best writing as well as best actor and best actress at the German Film Awards 2020. And there are many more exciting movies to enjoy.

Due to the pandemic, this year’s festival will be held in blended mode. We will show the films at Cinema Akil in Dubai and we will stream them throughout the UAE and Bahrain. Filmmakers and talents will take part via video-link. Circumstances permitting, we will have a small reception at the opening. The gala opening and red carpet event will have to wait until next year.

The GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL is a coproduction of the Goethe-Institut and the German Embassy in the United Arab Emirates. It is supported by German Films and brought to you in cooperation with the Embassies of Switzerland and Austria.
Please note that the virtual cinema screenings are accessible to viewers in the UAE, Bahrain, and Oman. They can be streamed on the mentioned dates and times. E.g., UNDINE can be accessed on 19 November 2020 at 7:00 pm UAE time.
No registration or ticket is needed.  All live streamings are free.


Please follow the instructions below to view one or more films:
Go on the website of the Gulf German Film Festival
- Scroll down and click on the link for the film you would like to see.
- Scroll down to Live Streaming and click on the link.
- You will be directed to Vimeo streaming platform.
-  Click on Play and start the movie.
For some films, you can choose between English and Arabic subtitles. 

We look forward to welcoming you to the first edition of the Gulf German Film Festival and hope you enjoy the films!
 

OPENING NIGHT FILM

Undine © Marco Krüger Schramm Film

Drama
Undine

Undine works as an art historian lecturing on Berlin’s urban development. But when the man she loves leaves her, the ancient myth catches up with her. Undine has to kill the man who betrays her and return to the water.


Movies

Gundermann © Pandora Film, Peter Hartwig

Drama
Gundermann

Gerhard Gundermann was a heavy equipment operator at a lignite strip mine and a Stasi informer, but above all he was a gifted singer-songwriter with a fanbase in both the former GDR as well as the subsequent, reunified Germany. Director Andreas Dresen takes a sensitive look at this contradictory personality. The result is a perceptive biographical narrative that unreels like a modern musical Heimatfilm [“homeland” film] for East (and all of) Germany.

Systemsprenger © Kineo Film, Yunus Roy Imer

Drama
System Crasher

Benni is considered aggressive and unpredictable. Wherever the nine-year-old is taken in, she gets kicked out again after a short time. Finally, when no solution is in sight and there is apparently no place left to send Benni, the anger-management trainer Micha tries to free her from her spiral of anger and aggression.

The Perfect Candidate © Neue Visionen Filmverleih

Drama
The Perfect Candidate

Maryam is an ambitious young doctor working in a small town clinic in Saudi Arabia. Despite her qualifications, she has to earn the respect of male colleagues and acceptance from her patients every day. After Maryam is prevented from travelling to Dubai in search of a better job, a bureaucratic mix-up leads her to stumble on the application for the local city elections and she decides to run. 
 

The Mover © 235 Film, Tobias von dem Borne

Drama
The Mover

The furniture packer Walter, a former weightlifter, and his team are supposed to evict an apartment. When the door of the old building opens, Walter thinks he can recognize the young family man as his son, whom he abandoned years ago.

Veins of the world © Tarek Tabet

Drama
Veins of the World

Amra’s father Erdene is the leader of the last nomads opposing global mining companies digging for gold in the Mongolian steppe. After his father dies in a tragic car accident, Amra sets out to continue the fight in his father's spirit – but with the tools of an 11-year-old boy.

A hidden life © 2019 Twentieth Century Fox Film

Drama
A Hidden Life

A HIDDEN LIFE tells the true story of Franz Jägerstätter, an Austrian farmer who was imprisoned and sentenced to death for refusing to fight for the Nazis after Hitler invaded Austria. 

One Way to Moskau © Langfilm

Comedy
One-way to Moscow

Zurich 1989. A police officer is supposed to collect information about left-wing theater people in the theater. But the more he looks behind the curtain, the less he believes in his mission.

Dust ©unafilm

Drama
Dust

A man sets out in search of his lost love: a journey that draws him into the turbulent heart of present day India and transforms inescapably into a confrontation with the past.

Born in Evin © Tondowski Films GbR

Documentary
Born in Evin

BORN IN EVIN follows filmmaker and actress, Maryam Zaree, on her quest to find out the violent circumstances surrounding her birth inside one of the most notorious political prisons in the world.

Cooperation between Abu Dhabi Music and Arts Foundation, ADMAF, and Film Academy Baden-Wurttemberg

The featured short films THE PLANT and THE LAST MEAL have been created as part of the Young Filmmakers’ Circle 2019 which has been established by the Abu Dhabi Music and Arts Foundation, ADMAF, in order to nurture the local creative community with the aim of having student Academy Award nominations in the Short Film category by 2020, as well as establishing industry connections and showcasing the best of the regional creative scene through dedicated film screenings.

ADMAF has collaborated with world-renowned Film Academy Baden-Wurttemberg to empower emerging Emirati and regional filmmakers to professionally develop their cinematic language and creative talents as part of the Young Filmmakers’ Circle 2019.

The Plant

19 – 21 November 2020
Original version

The Plant © ThePlant The Plant
Director: Hamda Almidfa
United Arab Emirates, 2020
4:52 min.
 
Director 
Hamda Almidfa
Screenplay Hamda Almidfa
Cinematography  Aly Kassem
Cast  Alahad, Mohammed Abdulla Jazem, Salem Alnezi, Vinodha Poojari
Producer  Raihana Alhashmi
Co-Producer Abdulaziz Almannaei

In a playful domestic tale, a small child tries desperately to give nature a small role in her life, finding that the modern world blocks her at every turn. When a gardener comes into the picture, she discovers that cultivating human kindness is not only natural, it is essential to happiness.  

The director
Hamda Al Midfa is a 31 years old Emirati woman who is currently working as a freelance filmmaker in the UAE with the hopes to build a good network and find the right people to work with. In order to learn all about film making, Hamda has worked on multiple positions such as First Assistant Director, Sound Mixer, First Assistant Camera, and Script. In the near future, her dream is to direct her own film scripts she is working on. Her late father introduced her to the movies, he would gather her siblings and she would play a film from his collection.
 
The Last Meal 

19 - 21 November 2020
Original version with English subtitles

The Last Meal © TheLastMeal The Last Meal
Director: Sachin Augustine
United Arab Emirates, 2020
8:20 min.
 
Director  Sachin Augustine
Screenplay Sachin Augustine
Cinematography  Amira Roshdy
Cast  Husam Al-Azza, Mansoor Alfeeli, Mohamed Al-Jneibi
Producer  Kamna Mohan
Co-Producer  Mohamed Al-Jneibi

In this somber short film, an inmate on death row asks his only friend, a prison guard, for a special last meal of baklava from his mother’s pastry shop. When the guard finds that the inmate’s mother has passed away, he is faced with a choice more difficult than he could have imagined.
 


The director
Sachin Augustine is a 27 years old Indian, who has grown up and lived in the UAE for the past 23 years. He is currently working in the travel and tourism industry.
 
Sachin first realized that he wanted to make films when he was doing his Bachelors in Singapore and had to work on a short film project for the first time. Since then, there was no turning back, he says. In 2017 he was part of the Arab Film Studio Narrative program. Here he was able to write and direct a short film ‐ which has been screened in multiple festivals worldwide. For the future he hopes to be able to hone his skills as a filmmaker and forge a career out of his passion and love for films.

Download the PDF pocket schedule for your mobile

PDF pocket schedule United Arab Emirates

PDF pocket schedule Bahrain

Download the PDF schedule for printing

Programme United Arab Emirates

Programme Bahrain


Brought to you by

Partner

Supported by

Botschaften
GGFF Logos
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
© Goethe-Institut Golf Region

Gulf German Film Festival

Gulf German Film Festival

Im Herbst 2020 laden wir alle Filmliebhaber zur ersten Ausgabe des GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL ein. Die mit Stars besetzte Veranstaltung zeigt bahnbrechende neue deutschsprachige Filme - von Arthouse-Filmen über Kassenschlager bis hin zu Kinderfilmen und Late Night-Movies. 

Das GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL beginnt mit UNDINE von Christian Petzold, einem der beliebtesten deutschen Autoren. Der Film hatte bei den diesjährigen Berliner Filmfestspielen Premiere und ist eine Überarbeitung der alten Volksgeschichte der Wassernymphe im 21. Jahrhundert, die ihren Geliebten töten wird, sollte er sie jemals verraten. Dem Eröffnungsfilm folgt GUNDERMANN des bekannten Regisseurs Andreas Dresen. Sein Film, der sich auf das außergewöhnliche und widersprüchliche Leben des ostdeutschen Singer-Songwriters Gerhard Gundermann konzentriert, war ein Publikumsliebling und ein Kassenerfolg in Deutschland.

Ein weiteres Festival-Highlight ist A HIDDEN LIFE von Terrence Malick. Der Film erzählt die wahre Geschichte eines österreichischen Bauern, der sich weigerte, für die Nazis zu kämpfen. Es ist ein allegorisches Widerstandsdrama über Mut im Kampf gegen das Böse. Der Film SYSTEMSPRENGER, Nora Fingscheidts intensives soziales Drama über die neunjährige Benni, deren Wutprobleme und vergangene Traumata sie daran hindern, dauerhafte Pflege zu finden, gewann zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den besten Film, den besten beim Deutschen Filmpreis 2020. Auf dem Programm stehen darüber hinaus noch viele weitere spannende Filme.

Aufgrund der Pandemie wird das diesjährige Festival im gemischten Modus stattfinden. Wir werden die Filme im Cinema Akil in Dubai zeigen und sie in den VAE und Bahrain streamen. Filmemacher und Schauspieler werden per Videolink teilnehmen. Wenn es die Umstände erlauben, werden wir bei der Eröffnung einen kleinen Empfang haben. Die Galaeröffnung und der Rote Teppich müssen bis zum nächsten Jahr warten.

Das GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL ist eine Koproduktion des Goethe-Instituts und der Deutschen Botschaft in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten. Es wird von German Films unterstützt und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Botschaften der Schweiz und Österreichs präsentiert.
Bitte beachten Sie, dass die virtuellen Kinovorführungen für Zuschauer in den VAE, Bahrain und Oman zugänglich sind. Sie können zu den genannten Daten und Zeiten gestreamt werden. Beispiel: UNDINE kann am 19. November 2020 um 19:00 Uhr (VAE-Zeit) abgerufen werden.
Keine Registrierung und kein Ticket erforderlich. Alle Live Streamings sind kostenlos.

Befolgen Sie die nachstehenden Anweisungen, um einen oder mehrere Filme anzusehen:
- Gehen Sie auf die Website des Gulf German Film Festivals
- Scrollen Sie nach unten und klicken Sie auf den Link für den Film, den Sie sehen möchten.
- Scrollen Sie nach unten zu Live Streaming und klicken Sie auf den Link.
- Sie werden zur Streaming-Plattform Vimeo weitergeleitet.
- Klicken Sie auf Wiedergabe und starten Sie den Film.
- Bei einigen Filmen können Sie zwischen englischen und arabischen Untertiteln wählen.

Wir freuen uns, Sie zur ersten Ausgabe des Gulf German Film Festivals begrüßen zu dürfen und hoffen, dass Ihnen die Filme gefallen!

Eröffnungsfilm

Spielfilm
Undine

Undine arbeitet als Kunsthistorikerin und hält Vorträge über Berlins Stadtentwicklung. Aber als der Mann, den sie liebt, sie verlässt, holt der alte Mythos sie ein. Undine muss den Mann töten, der sie betrügt, und ins Wasser zurückkehren.


Filme

Spielfim
Gundermann

Gerhard Gundermann war Baggerfahrer im Braunkohletagebau, Stasi-Spitzel, aber vor allem ein begnadeter Liedermacher mit einer Fangemeinde in der DDR wie auch im Nachwendedeutschland. Regisseur Andreas Dresen widmet sich dieser widersprüchlichen Persönlichkeit in einer sensiblen biografischen Erzählung, ein moderner musikalischer Heimatfilm für Ost- wie auch Gesamtdeutschland.
 

Spielfilm
Systemsprenger

Benni gilt als aggressiv und unberechenbar. Wo auch immer die Neunjährige aufgenommen wird, fliegt sie schon nach kurzer Zeit wieder raus. Als es keinen Platz mehr für Benni zu geben scheint und keine Lösung mehr in Sicht ist, versucht der Anti-Gewalttrainer Micha, sie aus der Spirale von Wut und Aggression zu befreien.

 

Spielfilm
Die perfekte Kandidatin

Maryam ist eine ehrgeizige junge Ärztin, die in einer Kleinstadtklinik in Saudi-Arabien arbeitet. Trotz ihrer exzellenten Qualifikationen muss sie sich jeden Tag den Respekt ihrer männlichen Kollegen und die Akzeptanz ihrer Patienten erkämpfen. Als Maryam sich auf eine Stelle in Dubai bewirbt und wegen einer Formalität nicht dorthin reisen darf, führt eine bürokratische Verwechslung dazu, dass sie über den Antrag für die Kommunalwahlen stolpert und sich für eine Kandidatur entscheidet.

Spielfilm
Atlas

Zusammen mit seinem Speditionstrupp soll der Möbelpacker Walter eine Wohnung zwangsräumen. Als sich die Tür des Altbaus öffnet, glaubt er in dem jungen Familienvater seinen Sohn zu erkennen, den er vor Jahren im Stich gelassen hat.

Spielfilm
Die Adern der Welt

Eigentlich träumt Amra von einem Auftritt bei „Mongolia’s Got Talent“. Doch ein Unfall ändert das Leben seiner Familie. Mit den Mitteln eines Zwölfjährigen tritt Amra das Erbe seines Vaters an: Den Widerstand gegen den Raubbau am Land der Nomaden.

Spielfilm
Ein verborgenes Leben

EIN VERBORGENES LEBEN erzählt die wahre Geschichte von Franz Jägerstätter, einem österreichischen Bauern, der inhaftiert und zum Tode verurteilt wurde, nachdem er sich nach dem Einmarsch Hitlers in Österreich geweigert hatte, für die Nazis zu kämpfen.

One Way to Moskau © Langfilm

Komödie
Moskau Einfach

Zürich 1989. Ein braver Polizeibeamter soll im Schauspielhaus Informationen über linke Theaterleute sammeln. Doch je mehr er hinter den Vorhang schaut, desto weniger glaubt er an seinen Auftrag.

Spielfilm
Dust

Ein Mann begibt sich auf die Suche nach seiner verlorenen Liebe: Eine Reise, die ihn in das turbulente Herz des heutigen Indien zieht und sich unausweichlich in eine Konfrontation mit der Vergangenheit verwandelt.

Born in Evin © Tondowski Films GbR

Dokumentarfilm
Born in Evin

Mit BORN IN EVIN versucht Regisseurin und Schauspielerin Maryam Zaree mehr über die Hintergründe der eigenen Geburt in Evin, einem der berüchtigtsten politischen Gefängnisse des Iran, zu erfahren.

Kooperation zwischen der Abu Dhabi Music and Arts Foundation (ADMAF) und der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg

Die vorgestellten Kurzfilme THE PLANT und THE LAST MEAL entstanden im Rahmen des Young Filmmakers' Circle 2019. Das Programm wurde von der Abu Dhabi Music and Arts Foundation (ADMAF) ins Leben gerufen, um die lokale Kreativgemeinschaft mit dem Ziel zu fördern, Kurzfilme für den studentischen Oscar zu nominieren sowie Branchenverbindungen aufzubauen und die besten Leistungen der regionalen Kreativszene durch spezielle Filmvorführungen zu präsentieren. ADMAF kooperiert mit der weltberühmten Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, um aufstrebenden Filmemachern aus den Emiraten und der Region die Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre Filmsprache und ihre kreativen Talente im Rahmen des Young Filmmakers' Circle 2019 professionell zu entwickeln.

Die Pflanze 

19 - 21 November 2020 
Originalfassung

The Plant © ThePlant Die Pflanze
Regie: Hamda Almidfa
Vereinigte Arabische Emirate, 2020
4:52 Min.
 
Regie Hamda Almidfa
Drehbuch Hamda Almidfa
Kamera  Aly Kassem
Darsteller  Alahad, Mohammed Abdulla Jazem, Salem Alnezi, Vinodha Poojari
Produzent  Raihana Alhashmi
Koproduzent  Abdulaziz Almannaei

In dieser spielerischen Geschichte versucht ein kleines Kind verzweifelt, der Natur eine kleine Rolle in ihrem Leben zu geben, nachdem sie feststellt, dass die Als eine Gärtner ins Bild kommt, entdeckt sie, dass die Pflege der Menschenliebe nicht nur natürlich, sondern für das Glück wesentlich ist.

Die Regisseurin
Hamda Al Midfa, 31, stammt aus den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und arbeitet derzeit als freiberufliche Filmemacherin in den VAE, um ein gutes Netzwerk aufzubauen und die richtigen Leute für die Arbeit zu finden. Um alles über das Filmemachen zu erfahren, hat Hamda in verschiedenen Positionen gearbeitet, darunter als Regieassistentin, Tonmischerin, Kameraassistentin und Drehbuch. In naher Zukunft ist es ihr Traum, ihre eigenen Drehbücher umzusetzen, an denen sie arbeitet. Ihr verstorbener Vater machte sie mit dem Film bekannt, er lud die Familie dazu ein, um gemeinsam einen Film aus seiner Sammlung zu schauen.
Die letzte Mahlzeit 

19 - 21 November 2020
Originalfassung mit englischen Untertiteln
 
The Last Meal ©TheLastMeal Die letzte Mahlzeit
Regie: Sachin Augustine
Vereinigte Arabische Emirate, 2020
8:10 Min.
 
Regie
Sachin Augustine
Drehbuch Sachin Augustine
Kamera  Amira Roshdy
Darsteller  Husam Al-Azza, Mansoor Alfeeli, Mohamed Al-Jneibi
Produzent  Kamna Mohan
Koproduzent  Mohamed Al-Jneibi
In diesem düsteren Kurzfilm bittet ein zum Tode verurteilter Gefängnisinsasse seinen einzigen Freund, einen Gefängniswärter, ihm als letzte Mahlzeit eine Schachtel Baklava aus der Konditorei seiner Mutter zu besorgen. Als der Wachmann feststellt, dass die Mutter kürzlich verstorben ist, steht er vor einer schwierigeren Wahl, als er sich hätte vorstellen können.
 


Der Regisseur
Sachin Augustine ist ein 27-jähriger Inder, der in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten aufgewachsen ist und in den letzten 23 Jahren dort gelebt hat. Derzeit arbeitet er in der Reise- und Tourismusbranche.
 
Sachin war sich darüber bewusst, dass er Filme machen wollte, als er seinen Bachelor in Singapur machte und zum ersten Mal an einem Kurzfilmprojekt teilnahm. Seitdem gab es kein Zurück mehr, sagt er. 2017 war er Teil des Erzählprogramms des Arab Film Studio Programms, in dessen Rahmen er einen Kurzfilm drehen konnte, der auf mehreren Festivals weltweit gezeigt wurde. Für die Zukunft hofft er, seine Fähigkeiten als Filmemacher verbessern und aus seiner Leidenschaft und Liebe zum Film eine Karriere machen zu können.
 

Programm als PDF für das Handy herunterladen

Programm als PDF Vereinigte Arabische Emirate

Programm als PDF Bahrain

Programm als PDF zum Ausdrucken herunterladen

Programm Vereinigte Arabische Emirate

Programm Bahrain


Partner

Partner

Unterstützt von

Botschaften
GGFF Logos
Top