Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
© Goethe-Institut Golf-Region

Gulf German Film Festival

The end of this year will bring film lovers in the region the second edition of the GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL. We are excited to return to in-person screenings in Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Manama and Muscat, presenting you the best of new German language movies and international co-productions. The selection ranges from thought-provoking art-house films to box-office hits, and from family matinees to late-night movies.

The GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL will kick off with an outdoor cine concert of Lotte Reiniger's famous silhouette animation THE ADVENTURES OF PRINCE ACHMED with live music by Jad Atoui, Pascal Semerdjian and Fadi Tabbal.

The opening will be followed by I'M YOUR MAN, directed by Emmy Award winner Maria Schrader (“Unorthodox”), starring Dan Stevens (“Downton Abbey”), Maren Eggert (“I Was at Home, But...”) and Sandra Hüller (“Toni Erdmann”). The comic-tragic tale about a scientist participating in a trial with a humanoid robot programmed to make her happy has been selected to enter the race for Germany at the Oscars® 2022.

Another festival highlight is MR BACHMANN AND HIS CLASS by Maria Speth, an award-winning documentary portraying the bond between an elementary school teacher and his students. His unconventional methods clash with the complex social and cultural realities of the provincial German industrial town they live in.

The festival continues with THE ROYAL GAME by Philipp Stölzl, based on Stefan Zweig's timeless literature classic “Schachnovelle”, the bitterly evil satire CURVEBALL – A TRUE STORY. UNFORTUNATELY by Johannes Naber and Ronny Trocker's family drama HUMAN FACTORS.

Important international co-productions include YALDA, A NIGHT FOR FORGIVENESS by Massoud Bakhshi who will also be present for a Q&A, the German-Mexican documentary LUCHADORAS by Paola Calvo and Patrick Jasim, European-African co-production LINGUI by Mahamat-Saleh Haroun that premiered at Cannes Film Festival and Sonia Liza Kenterman's debut film and coming-of-old-age story TAILOR. The festival concludes with THE RIVER by Lebanese director Ghassan Salhab.

The GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL is a coproduction of the German Embassy in the UAE, the German Embassy in Oman, the German Embassy in Bahrain, Goethe-Institut and Cinema Akil.


Filmvorstellungen in Oman

Undine © Marco Krüger Schramm Film

Undine

Undine works as an art historian lecturing on Berlin’s urban development. But when the man she loves leaves her, the ancient myth catches up with her. Undine has to kill the man who betrays her and return to the water.

Gundermann © Pandora Film, Peter Hartwig

Gundermann

Gerhard Gundermann was a heavy equipment operator at a lignite strip mine and a Stasi informer, but above all he was a gifted singer-songwriter with a fanbase in both the former GDR as well as the subsequent, reunified Germany. Director Andreas Dresen takes a sensitive look at this contradictory personality. The result is a perceptive biographical narrative that unreels like a modern musical Heimatfilm [“homeland” film] for East (and all of) Germany.

Too far away

Friendship that emerged from a man-made loss of home: The village in which the twelve-year-old Ben lives with his family has to give way to the open-cast brown coal mine. After relocating to the city, he meets Tariq, who is the same age and whose family has fled Syria. The experience of the new beginning soon welded the two initial competitors in school and in the football club together.

Based on the bestseller of the same name by Judith Kerr.
When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit

To escape the Nazis, Anna’s father has to flee to Zurich; his family follows him a short time later. Anna leaves everything behind, including her beloved pink rabbit, and must face a new life full of challenges and privations.

Programme

Programme Oman


Filmvorstellungen in den Emiraten


Opening Night

Prince Ahmed Primrose Productions

The Adventures of Prince Achmed

With “The Adventures of Prince Achmed” Lotte Reiniger created the first full-length feature animated film in the history of cinema. The technical and aesthetic aspects of this film genre had already been developed to cinematic perfection in the 20s. Her style continued the tradition of shadow plays performed in China, which she expanded through the technical possibilities offered by the cinema. 


Movies

I'm Your Man

A comic-tragic tale about a scientist participating in a trial with a humanoid robot programmed to make her happy. A film about the questions of love, longing and what makes a human being human. Directed by Emmy Award winner Maria Schrader (UNORTHODOX), starring Dan Stevens (DOWNTOWN ABBEY), Maren Eggert (I WAS AT HOME, BUT) and Sandra Hüller (TONI ERDMANN).

Human Factors

A mysterious home invasion triggers off a shake in the core of a cosmopolitan middle-class family and unveils the fragility of truth and the power of individual perspective.
 

Yalda © Somaye Jafari

Yalda – A Night for Forgiveness

Maryam is sentenced to death, accused of murdering her husband. During a popular live television show, she is given the opportunity to face the victim's only daughter and asking her for forgiveness. The deeply rooted patriarchal structures of Iranian society are frighteningly reflected in the individual fate of the young woman.

Tailor

Nikos lives in the attic of the family’s tailor shop. When the bank threatens to repossess the shop and his father falls ill, Nikos takes action: with a wondrously strange tailor shop on wheels, he reinvents himself while bringing style and confidence to the women of Athens.

Lingui, the Sacred Bonds

Amina, a practicing Muslim, lives with her daughter, 15-year-old Maria. When Amina learns Maria is pregnant, they face an impossible situation in a country where abortion is legally and morally condemned.

The Royal Game

The film adaptation of the novel of the same name by Stefan Zweig tells the story of a man who survived imprisonment and mental torture with the help of a chess book.

Luchadoras

LUCHADORAS portrays the courageous female wrestlers of Ciudad Juárez, a city known for its high murder rate against women - who in the ring and in their daily lives fight to redefine the image of what it means to be a woman in Mexico.

The River © Les Films Du Losange

The River

A man and a woman are about to leave a restaurant situated in the heart of the Lebanese mountains. They are surprised by fighter planes screaming past at low altitude. In the distance, war seems to be breaking out once more. Losing sight of the woman, the man starts looking for her.

Curveball – A True Story. Unfortunately

A bitterly evil satire that breathtakingly illuminates little-known backgrounds of the Iraq war and is based on a true story.

Mr Bachmann and his Class

MR BACHMANN AND HIS CLASS is an intimate documentary portraying the bond between an elementary school teacher and his students. His unconventional methods clash with the complex social and cultural realities of the provincial German industrial town they live in.


Brought to you by

Partner

Supported by

Botschaften
MAS© Manarat Al Saadiyat
Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
© Goethe-Institut Golf-Region

Gulf German Film Festival

Am Ende des Jahres erwartet Filmliebhaber in der Region die zweite Ausgabe des GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL. Wir freuen uns auf die Rückkehr zu Praesenzvorführungen in Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Manama und Muscat und präsentieren Ihnen das Beste aus neuen deutschsprachigen Filmen und internationalen Koproduktionen. Die Auswahl reicht von nachdenklich stimmenden Arthouse-Filmen bis zu Kassenschlagern, von der Familienmatinee bis zum Late-Night-Movie.

Eröffnet wird das GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL mit einer Open-Air-Aufführung von Lotte Reinigers berühmtem Scherenschnittfilm DIE ABENTEUER DES PRINZEN ACHMED mit Live-Musik von Jad Atoui, Pascal Semerdjian und Fadi Tabbal.

Im Anschluss an das Konzert folgt ICH BIN DEIN MENSCH, unter der Regie von Emmy-Award-Gewinnerin Maria Schrader ("Unorthodox"), mit Dan Stevens ("Downton Abbey"), Maren Eggert ("Ich war zu Hause, aber...") und Sandra Hüller ("Toni Erdmann") in den Hauptrollen. Die komisch-tragische Geschichte über eine Wissenschaftlerin, die an einem Versuch mit einem humanoiden Roboter teilnimmt, der darauf programmiert ist, sie glücklich zu machen, ist für Deutschland ins Rennen für die Oscars® 2022 geschickt worden.

Ein weiteres Festival-Highlight ist HERR BACHMANN UND SEINE KLASSE von Maria Speth, ein preisgekrönter Dokumentarfilm über die Beziehung zwischen einem Grundschullehrer und seinen Schülern. Seine unkonventionellen Methoden kollidieren mit den komplexen sozialen und kulturellen Gegebenheiten der deutschen Industriestadt, in der sie leben.

Weiter geht es mit SCHACHNOVELLE von Philipp Stölzl, basierend auf Stefan Zweigs zeitlosem gleichnamigen Literaturklassiker, der bitterbösen Satire CURVEBALL von Johannes Naber und Ronny Trockers Familiendrama DER MENSCHLICHE FAKTOR.

Zu den wichtigen internationalen Koproduktionen gehören YALDA von Massoud Bakhshi, der auch für eine Q&A persönlich anwesend sein wird, der deutsch-mexikanische Dokumentarfilm LUCHADORAS von Paola Calvo und Patrick Jasim, die europäisch-afrikanische Koproduktion LINGUI von Mahamat-Saleh Haroun, die bei den Filmfestspielen von Cannes Premiere hatte, und Sonia Liza Kentermans Debütfilm und Coming-of-Old-Age-Geschichte TAILOR. Den Abschluss des Festivals bildet THE RIVER des libanesischen Regisseurs Ghassan Salhab.

Das GULF GERMAN FILM FESTIVAL ist eine Koproduktion des Goethe-Instituts und der Deutschen Botschaft in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten sowie der Deutschen Botschaft in Bahrain. Es wird in Zusammenarbeit mit den Botschaften der Schweiz und Österreichs veranstaltet.


Opening Night

Die Abenteuer des Prinzen Achmed

Mit den „Abenteuern des Prinzen Achmed” schuf Lotte Reiniger den ersten abendfüllenden Trickfilm der Filmgeschichte. Technik und Ästhetik dieser Filmgattung entwickelte sie bereits in den 20er Jahren zur künstlerischen Perfektion. Ihr Stil knüpft an die chinesischen Schattenspiele an, die sie durch die technischen Möglichkeiten des Films erweiterte. 
 


Filme

Ich bin dein Mensch © Christine Fenzl

Ich bin dein Mensch

Eine tragisch-komische Geschichte über eine Wissenschaftlerin, die an einer Studie mit einem humanoiden Roboter teilnimmt, dessen künstliche Intelligenz darauf angelegt ist, sie glücklich zu machen.
Ein Film über die Fragen der Liebe, der Sehnsucht und was den Menschen zum Menschen macht. Von Regisseurin und Emmy-Preisträgerin Maria Schrader (UNORTHODOX) mit Dan Stevens (DOWNTOWN ABBEY), Maren Eggert (I WAS AT HOME, BUT) Und Sandra Hüller (TONI ERDMANN).

HUMAN FACTORS © Klemens Hufnagl

Der menschliche Faktor

Ein mysteriöser Hauseinbruch löst eine Erschütterung im Kern einer kosmopolitischen Mittelklasse-Familie aus und enthüllt die Zerbrechlichkeit der Wahrheit und die Macht der individuellen Perspektive.

Yalda

Die junge Maryam ist zum Tode verurteilt, sie wird beschuldigt ihren Ehemann ermordet zu haben. Im Laufe einer populären Live-TV-Show erhält sie die Gelegenheit, der einzigen Tochter des Opfers gegenüberzutreten und diese um Vergebung zu bitten. Im individuellen Schicksal der jungen Frau spiegeln sich die tief verwurzelten patriarchalischen Strukturen der iranischen
Gesellschaft auf erschreckende Weise wider.

Tailor © Goethe-Institut Jordanien

Der Hochzeitsschneider von Athen

Nikos wohnt auf dem Dachboden der Schneiderei seiner Familie. Als die Bank droht, den Laden wieder in Besitz zu nehmen und sein Vater erkrankt, wird Nikos aktiv: Mit einer Schneiderei auf Rädern erfindet er sich neu und gibt den Frauen von Athen Stil und Selbstvertrauen.

Lingui © Pili Films, Mathieu Giombini

Lingui

Die praktizierende Muslimin Amina lebt mit ihrer 15-jährigen Tochter Maria zusammen. Als Amina erfährt, dass Maria schwanger ist, geraten sie in eine schwierige Situation in einem Land, in dem Abtreibung rechtlich und moralisch verurteilt ist.

The Royal Game © Julia Terjung

Schachnovelle

Die Verfilmung des gleichnamigen Romans von Stefan Zweig erzählt die Geschichte eines Mannes, der mit Hilfe eines Schachbuchs Gefangenschaft und seelische Folter überlebt.

Luchadoras © Tumult Film

Luchadoras

LUCHADORAS  porträtiert die mutigen Wrestlerinnen von Ciudad Juárez, einer Stadt, die für ihre hohe Mordrate an Frauen bekannt ist - die im Ring und in ihrem täglichen Leben dafür kämpfen, das Bild der Frauen in Mexiko neu zu definieren.

The River

Ein Mann und eine Frau sind dabei, ein Restaurant im Herzen der libanesischen Berge zu verlassen. Sie werden von Kampfflugzeugen überrascht, die sie in geringer Höhe überfliegen. In der Ferne scheint wieder Krieg auszubrechen. Der Mann verliert die Frau aus den Augen und sucht nach ihr.

Curveball © Sten Mende

Curveball – Wir machen die Wahrheit

Eine bitterböse Satire, die in atemberaubender Weise kaum bekannte Hintergründe des Irak-Krieges beleuchtet und auf einer wahren Geschichte beruht.

Herr Bachmann und seine Klasse © Madonnen Film

Herr Bachmann und seine Klasse

MR BACHMANN UND SEINE KLASSE ist ein intimer Dokumentarfilm über die Verbundenheit eines Grundschullehrers mit seinen Schülern. Seine unkonventionellen Methoden kollidieren mit den komplexen sozialen und kulturellen Realitäten der provinziellen deutschen Industriestadt, in der sie leben.


Partner

Partner

Unterstützt von

Botschaften
MAS© Manarat Al Saadiyat
Top