Artist in Residence Program

  • Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman
  • Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman
  • Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman

  • Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman

About Artist in Residence

Goethe-Institut Gulf Region and Stal Gallery Muscat cooperate since 2014 in an Artist in Residence program in order to foster the contemporary visual arts in Muscat and to enhance the cultural ties between Oman and Germany. Stal Gallery invites German artists for a residency at Stal Gallery in the capital of Oman. The Artist in Residence program fosters the development of the Omani art scene, and its outreach activities provide the guest artists with excellent preconditions to getting acquainted with Omani artists, culture and society.

Among the facilities of the Stal Gallery in Muscat, Oman, is the Stal Studio. A pleasant flat with a private studio provides the artist with the opportunity of living in Muscat for a month and developing an artistic project or realizing a joint project together with an Omani artist.

The residency lasts up to 4 weeks in the period from beginning of February till end of April.
 
Flight and honorarium as well as an appropriate budget for materials will be paid by the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region.

Requirements:

  • Strong interest in and respect for other cultures
  • Previous experience abroad
  • Description of a project/work which should be produced in cooperation with Omani artists in Muscat
  • Willingness to work with Omani artists, and with community outreach activities
  • Very good language skills in English, knowledge of Arabic would be helpful. 
More Information:
Dr. Gabriele Landwehr
Director
Goethe-Institut Gulf Region
Landwehr@AbuDhabi.goethe.org
Stal Gallery is a “not for profit” purpose built Art gallery and Studio in the heart of Muscat. The mission of the gallery is to provide access, appreciation, awareness and enjoyment of the visual arts in all disciplines by providing a balanced focus on contemporary art from Oman and international sources. It is owned by the Alserkal Family, who have developed the flagship project Alserkal Avenue; a cultural hub in Dubai.
Goethe-Institut Gulf Region and Stal Gallery Muscat offer artists the chance of a residence program in the capital of Oman, in Muscat.

The residence program 2017 was awarded to the Berlin artist, Janin Walter. The call for the residence program 2018 will be out in December 2017.

Call for applications for Artist in Residence at Stal Gallery Muscat: Residency for Visual Artist

2017: Janin Walter | Berlin artist

Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman

Artist in Residence
Artistic exchange with Janin Walter

Berlin artist Janin Walter spends with a scholarship of the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region one month as the artist in residence at Stal Gallery in Oman´s capital Muscat. Janin Walter´s artistic research focusses on the relationship with beauty: 

Beauty and the City | Modernes Gebäude Bauhaus © Goethe-Institut | Foto: Janin Walter

Exhibition Janin Walter
Beauty and the City

What defines beauty? What lies in the eyes of the beholder? And what is considered beauty in the context of different cultures? With the eyes of a trained architect and room strategist, Janin Walter explores the cities that she is visiting, and she explores life in these cities.

Past Resident Artists

StalGallery in Maskat, Oman © Verena Kyselka

Artist in Residence 2016
Verena Kyselka

As the guest of Stal Gallery and with a stipend of Goethe-Institut Gulf Region,  artist Verena Kyselka spends March 2016 at Stal Gallery in Muscat. For the second time the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region and Stal Gallery Muscat with Omani Artist and gallery director Hassan Meer, cooperate to foster the contemporary visual arts in Muscat and to enhance the cultural ties between Oman and Germany.

 Yasemin Yilmaz | Globalization-Connections-Time © Yasemin Yilmaz

Artist in Residence 2014
Yasemin Yilmaz

The German artist Yasemin Yilmaz presented in April 2014 in Muscat her art project “Globalization-Connections-Time” and worked together with the Omani artist Hassan Meer in another project “Trade”. Afterwards works realized in both projects were shown at the Stal Gallery in an exhibition.

Künstlerresidenz

  • Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman
  • Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman
  • Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman
  • Künstlerresidenz © Stal Gallery, Muscat, Oman
  • Künstlerresidenz © L. Brent Photography

Über das Residenzprogramm

Das Goethe-Institut Golf-Region und die Stal Gallery Maskat arbeiten seit 2014 in einem Residenzprogramm zusammen, um die Bildenden Künste in Maskat und den kulturellen Austausch zwischen Oman und Deutschland zu fördern. Das Residenzprogramm bietet den besuchenden deutschen Künstlern Kontakt mit omanischen Kunstschaffenden, Einblick in die Kultur des Landes und Begegnungen mit der Gesellschaft  an und fördert durch gemeinsame Workshops und Künstlergespräche die omanische Kunstszene.

Die Stal Gallery verfügt über ein großzügiges Studio und eine Wohnung im Galleriegebäude. Künstler erhalten die Möglichkeit, bis zu einem Monat in Maskat zu leben und ein Kunstprojekt zu verwirklichen, das einen starken Bezug zur Omanischen Kultur hat und möglichst Omanische Künstler einbezieht.
 
Das Residenzprogramm ist bis zu 4 Wochen lang und wird wegen der etwas kühleren Zeit von Anfang Februar bis Ende April durchgeführt.
 
Das Goethe-Institut übernimmt Flug, Honorar, sowie ggf. nach Absprache die Kosten für Materialbeschaffung vor Ort

Voraussetzungen:

  • Interesse an und Respekt für fremde Kulturen und Menschen.
  • Frühere Auslandserfahrung.
  • Klare Vorstellungen für ein Projekt oder eine Arbeit, welche/s in Maskat durchgeführt/fertiggestellt wird.
  • Bereitschaft zur Zusammenarbeit mit Omanischen Künstlern, ggf zur Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Kunstinteressierten (Schüler, Studierende).
  • Sehr gute Sprachkenntnisse in Englisch; Arabischkenntnisse sind hilfreich. 
Mehr Informationen:
Dr. Gabriele Landwehr
Leiterin
Goethe-Institut Golf Region
Landwehr@AbuDhabi.goethe.org
Die Stal Gallery ist eine mit Mitteln der Unternehmerfamilie Alserkal gegründete Gallerie mit Studio und Künstlerwohnung im Stadtgebiet von Maskat, die omanische Künstler und Kreative unterstützt und den internationalen Austausch und Dialog fördert. In Dubai förderte die Alserkal die Kunstszene durch Bereitstellung von Werkstätten und Gallerien in der gleichnamige Alserkal Avenue und prägte damit das kulturelle Leben Dubais entscheidend geprägt. 
Goethe-Institut Golf Region und Stal Gallery Maskat bieten bildenden Künstlern die Möglichkeit eines Residenzprogramms in der Hauptstadt des Oman, Maskat.
 
Das Residenzprogramm 2017 erhielt die Berliner Künstlerin Janin Walter. Das Residenzprogramm 2018 wird im Dezember 2017 ausgeschrieben.

Ausschreibung Residenzstipendium für Bildende Künstler in Maskat, Oman

2017: Janin Walter | Berliner Künstlerin

Künstlerresidenz © L. Brent Photography

Residenzprogramm 2017
Künstlerischer Austausch mit Janin Walter

Als Residenzkünstlerin von Goethe-Institut Golf Region und Stal Gallery Maskat verbringt die Berliner Künstlerin Janin Walter einen Monat in der Hauptstadt des Omans. Janin Walters Projekt in Maskat beinhaltet eine künstlerische Recherche über das Verhältnis zur Schönheit:

Beauty and the City | Modernes Gebäude Bauhaus © Goethe-Institut | Foto: Janin Walter

Ausstellung Janin Walter
Beauty and the City

Was ist schön? Was liegt im Auge des Betrachters? Und was bedeutet Schönheit im Kontext unterschiedlicher Kulturen? ? Mit den Augen einer ausgebildeten Architektin und Räumlichkeiten-Strategin geht Janin Walter durch die Städte, die sie besucht, und durch das Leben. 

Residenzkünstler vor 2017

StalGallery in Maskat, Oman © Verena Kyselka

Residenzprogramm 2016
Verena Kyselka

Als Residenzkünstlerin von Goethe-Institut Golfregion und Stal Gallery Maskat verbringt Künstlerin Verena Kyselka einen Monat in der Hauptstadt des Oman. Als Gast der Stal Gallery Maskat und Stipendiatin des Goethe-Institut Golf-Region arbeitet die Künstlerin Verena Kyselka im März an einem Kunstprojekt mit omanischen Frauen.

Yasemin Yilmaz | Globalization-Connections-Time © Yasemin Yilmaz

Residenzprogramm 2014
Yasemin Yilmaz

Im April 2014 stellte die deutsche Künstlerin Yasemin Yilmaz in Maskat “Globalization-Connections-Time” vor, ein Kunstprojekt mit internationalen Künstlern. Sie arbeitete mit dem omanischen Künstler Hassan Meer gemeinsam an einem Kunstprojekt „Trade”, das anschließend in einer Ausstellung in der Stal Gallery gezeigt wurde.