Artist Verena Kyselka at Stal Gallery in Muscat, Oman

  • StalGallery in Maskat, Oman © Verena Kyselka
  • Verena Kyselkas Ankunft in Maskat © Verena Kyselka

German artist Verena Kyselka spends with a scholarship of the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region one month as the artist in residence at Stal Gallery in Oman´s capitol Muscat. 

As the guest of Stal Gallery and with a stipend of Goethe-Institut Gulf Region,  artist Verena Kyselka spends March 2016 at Stal Gallery in Muscat.

For the second time the Goethe-Institut Gulf Region and Stal Gallery Muscat with Omani Artist and gallery director Hassan Meer, cooperate to foster the contemporary visual arts in Muscat and to enhance the cultural ties between Oman and Germany.

Stal Gallery provides the invited artist Verena Kyselka with the opportunity of working in Muscat on an artistic project and realizing workshops for Omani artists and the Omani community.

Artistic exchange

Verena Kyselka´s  artistic research focusses on traditional tales and songs of Oman, working closely together with Omani artists. As a result she records the Omani songs, all sang by Omanis, she visualizes the recordings and creates collages, drawings and a video film with animation with local findings such as photos, fabrics, designs, ornaments and other objects.

Arriving in Muscat

On her first day Verena gathered with Hassan Meer and the artists of Stal Gallery in a traditional Arabic coffee seating inside the gallery, surrounded by contemporary paintings. Verena and the artists had a brisk exchange about their work and understanding of contemporary art discussing their views on performance art, sound art and film making from the 60’s to date.
 
The cultural and artistic exchange between Verena and the Omani artists lead to a workshop which takes place several times during the residency. For the workshop the artists chose different traditional Omani songs. Every artist sings the lyrics of the song while Verena records the vocal voice. They discuss together the appropriate technique of a manual animation that best visualizes and illustrates the selected song. The animation techniques vary from cut outs from collected material and drawings, photos, fabrics, ornaments or designs which are moved image by image in a prepared animation box to sketches and shadow animations. In the end of the workshop the artists and Verena will edit the animation in the recording speed of the chanted songs and present them in the gallery.

Intensive exchange with Omani community

The research for Verena’s own work and for the workshop led to a journey together with the artist Muzna Al Musafer to a Baluchistan family (Balutschistan once belonged to Oman) where a grandmother sang the traditional songs of their culture and the region. This unique journey was for Verena a chance to experience different cultures within Oman and to get closer in contact with the Omani community. 

Together the artist Rawan Al Mahrouqi Verena visited twice female kickboxing events. Verena commented ‘In Germany I would never get the idea to attend Kickboxing, but here it is absolutely  fascinating to see women take off their Abayas and start kickboxing.” 
 
With sound artist Raiya Al Rawahi Verena is sharing some work space in Stal Gallery. This allows both of them to experience an intensive artistic exchange which reflects also in the workshop in which Raiya is a participant.

Biography

Verena Kyselka lives and works in Berlin. Her artistic work developed in the underground scene of East Germany in the late 80’s. Together with the female artist group Exterra XX she founded the Kunsthaus Erfurt in 1990, where she curated and worked on intercultural projects. From 1997 to 2003 she studied art and video-design at the Bauhaus University in Weimar. Since then, she has been working space-related with video, installation and performance. Her numerous international projects were developed during intercultural exchanges in Eastern Europe as well as China, Taiwan, Bangladesh and Australia.

Verena Kyselka IN STALGALLERY IN MASKAT, OMAN

  • StalGallery in Maskat, Oman © Verena Kyselka
  • Verena Kyselkas Ankunft in Maskat © Verena Kyselka

Als Residenzkünstlerin von Goethe-Institut Golfregion und Stal Gallery Maskat verbringt Künstlerin Verena Kyselka einen Monat in der Hauptstadt des Oman. 

Als Gast der Stal Gallery Maskat und Stipendiatin des Goethe-Institut Golf-Region arbeitet die Künstlerin Verena Kyselka im März an einem Kunstprojekt mit omanischen Frauen.

Zum zweiten Mal kooperieren Goethe-Institut Golf-Region und Stal Gallery Maskat unter Leitung des omanischen Künstlers und Direktors Hassan Meer, um die Bildenden Künste in Maskat und den kulturellen Austausch zwischen Oman und Deutschland zu fördern.

Die Stal Gallery bietet Verena Kyselka die Möglichkeit ein eigenes künstlerisches Projekt umzusetzen und Workshops mit omanischen Künstlern und Teilnehmern aus der omanischen Bevölkerung durchzuführen.

Künstlerischer Austausch

Verena Kyselkas Projekt in Maskat beinhaltet eine künstlerische Recherche über traditionelle Geschichten und Lieder aus Oman. Dazu arbeitet sie eng mit omanischen Künstlern zusammen. Als Ergebnis der Recherche dokumentiert sie die von Omanis gesungenen Lieder, fertigt Collagen und Zeichnungen an und produziert einen Videofilm mit Animationen mit landesüblichen Motiven wie z.B. Fotos, Stoffen, Designs, Ornamenten und andere Objekten.

Ankunft in Maskat

Bei ihrem ersten Abend kam Verena mit Hassan Meer und den Künstlern bei einer landestypischen arabischen Kaffeerunde inmitten von zeitgenössischen Malereien in der Gallery zusammen. Verena und die Künstler hatten einen regen Austausch über ihre eigene Kunst und über ihre Ansichten über zeitgenössische Kunst wie Performance Kunst, Sound Art und Kunstfilme aus den 60ern bis heute.

Im Austausch Verenas mit den omanischen Künstlern wurde ein Workshop konzipiert, für den die omanischen Künstler Lieder auswählen und singen, die Verena Kyselka aufzeichnet. Zusammen entscheiden sie über die Animation, mit welcher die ausgesuchten Lieder illustriert werden.  Die verwendete Technik variiert mit Formen aus Materialien, Fotos, Ornamenten, Designs und Zeichnungen, die in einer Animationsbox Bild für Bild abfotografiert werden, bis hin zu Schatten und Skizzen Animation. Am Ende des Workshops unterlegen die Künstler und Verena die Lieder mit den Animationsfilmen und präsentieren diese in der Galerie.

Inseniver Austausch mit der omanischen Bevölkerung

Im Rahmen der Recherche besuchte Verena mit der Künstlerin Muzna Al Musafer eine balutschistanischen Familie. Balutschistan war in der früheren Geschichte Teil des omanischen Reichs. Die Großmutter der Familie sang traditionelle Lieder aus ihrer Kultur und Region. Diese einzigartige Reise war für Verena eine Möglichkeit verschiedene Kulturen innerhalb Omans zu erleben und näher mit der omanischen Gesellschaft zusammen zu kommen.

Mit der Künstlerin Rawan Al Mahrouqi hat Verena zweimal einen Frauen Kickbox- Kampf besucht. Verena hat dazu kommentiert „In Deutschland wäre ich nie auf die Idee gekommen, aber hier ist total faszinierend, wie die Frauen die Abaya abwerfen und boxen.“

Mit der Klangkünstlerin Raiya Al Rawahi teilt sich Verena zur Zeit  Arbeitsräume in der Stal Gallery. Dies ermöglicht beiden einen intensiveren künstlerischen Austausch der sich deutlich im Workshop widerspiegelt, an dem Raiya auch teilnimmt. 

Biografie

Verena Kyselka lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit entwickelte sich in der Untergrundkunstszene in Ostdeutschland gegen Ende der 80iger Jahre. Zusammen mit der Künstlerinnengruppe Exterra XX gründete sie 1990 das Kunsthaus Erfurt. Dort kuratierte und arbeitete sie an interkultureller Performance, Atelieraustausch- und Ausstellungsprojekten. Von 1997 bis 2003 studierte sie Freie Kunst und Videodesign an der Bauhaus Universität in Weimar. Seitdem arbeitet sie raumbezogen mit Video, Performance und Installation. Ihre zahlreiche Videoprojekte über soziale, nationale Identität und Zeitgeschichte entstanden im interkulturellen Austausch in Albanien, Armenien, Cina, Taiwan, Bangladesh und Australien.